TED Prize

The TED Prize amplifies big ideas from visionary leaders, to spark global change. Each TED Prize winner receives $1 million — and the TED community’s wide range of expertise and resources — to make a bold wish become a reality.

The TED Prize begins with a big wish — one that inspires thinkers and doers across the world to get involved. From Bono’s ONE Campaign (the 2005 winner) to Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution (the 2010 winner) to Sugata Mitra’s School in the Cloud (the 2013 winner), the TED Prize has helped combat poverty, open dialogue on religious intolerance, improve global health, protect unknown archaeological sites, advance education, and inspire art in more than 140 countries.

The award

Each year, the TED Prize winner receives $1 million, to inspire them to think bigger than ever before. The award supports the building of an ambitious global project and its core infrastructure, so that people across the world can add their own collaborative action to the mission.

The wish

Imagine an inspiring, high-impact idea that needs the support of a global community. Our winner will have that kind of ambitious wish — and the vision, pragmatism and leadership to make it come true.

The process

All nominations for the TED Prize are researched by our team in detail. We actively consider about 100 nominees, and the 15 most promising wishes are presented to a panel of leading members of the TED community, who select the year's winning wish. Our team works with the winner on the execution plan for their wish, and on presenting the idea in a compelling TED Talk. The TED Prize winner speaks at the annual TED Conference, revealing their wish to the community — and to the world.

The history

The TED Prize was born out of the visions offered onstage at the TED Conference for how change can happen in the world, one idea at a time. The TED Prize was first awarded in 2005, to Robert Fischell (who wished for new cures to brain disorders), Edward Burtynsky (who wished for a global conversation about sustainability), and Bono (who wished for a social movement of activism for Africa). Since then, the TED Prize has been awarded to a diverse list of innovative leaders, ranging from author Dave Eggers to oceanographer Sylvia Earle to space archaeologist Sarah Parcak. At its inception, the TED Prize award was $100,000, along with full access to the TED community’s range of talent and expertise; in 2013, it was expanded to a $1 million award, to help the winner quickly build capacity for carrying out their ambitious wish.

TED Prize news

See all TED Prize news