x = independently organized TED event

Theme: The Journey

This event occurred on
February 9, 2019
Paonta Sahib, Himachal Pradesh

TEDxIIMSirmaur dives in to capture and illuminate different facets of one single word - 'Journey'. The theme aims to explore, share and celebrate many fascinating journeys dreamt of, ongoing and accomplished – enriching our very own personal journey called life.

IIM Sirmaur
IIM Sirmaur, Rampur Ghat - Engineering College Rd Kunja Matralion, Paonta Sahib, District Sirmaur
Paonta Sahib, Himachal Pradesh, 173025
Event type:
University (What is this?)
See more ­T­E­Dx­I­I­M­Sirmaur events


Speakers may not be confirmed. Check event website for more information.


Senior Manager, L&D,Flipkart
Alka Rai Sharma, a seasoned leadership & development professional with over 14 years of experience in building and driving org-critical initiatives with a focus on delivering outcomes that really matter. She has been a part of organizations like IBM, Genpact and now, Flipkart and has been instrumental in building a sustainable learning culture across organizations. An IIM Calcutta alum and a self-confessed lifelong learner herself, Alka is passionate about setting systems of learning ground up and is a firm believer in the right learning at the right time being a catalyst for employee and therefore, organization growth. In her quest to help individuals become a better version of themselves, Alka is now on her way to becoming an ICF-certified coach.


Member, World Economic Forum's Global Future Council
Arun Mohan Sukumar, a PhD candidate at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University. He is currently on leave from the Observer Research Foundation in New Delhi, where he headed its Cyber Initiative (2015–17). Arun was a member of the multi- stakeholder group set up by India’s National Security Advisor in 2017 on ‘cyber norms’, or rules of conduct for states and businesses in cyberspace. Arun is a member of the World Economic Forum’s Global Future Council on the Digital Economy and Society.

Hemant Gupta

Sr.Manager,Tata Steel Adventure Foundation
Hemant Gupta completed his B. Tech in Metallurgical Engineering & Material Science from IIT Bombay in 2011 and joined Tata Steel as Manager Operations. His first tryst with adventure sports came during his graduation through a basic course in mountaineering. After joining Tata Steel he went on expeditions and soon switched to Tata Steel Adventure Foundation in 2013 to follow his heart. As Senior Manager in TSAF, Hemant is responsible for extending TSAF reach, introducing new courses and designing courses and development of Sport climbing centre of excellence.

Kunal Prasad

COO, Cropin Technologies
Kunal Prasad is the Co-founder and COO at CropIn. He has over 11 years of experience in technical and management arena with substantial work in sales and business development, project management, product and customer experience. Kunal’s strengths lie in his strong team management skills and his tenacious attitude that has helped CropIn reach out to over 2.1 million farmers in 29 countries. He enjoys working on improving farm productivity, climate resilience, sustainability and food security. He has the extensive experience in working with Government bodies, Development Agencies, Co-operatives and farmer groups in India. He believes that farming should be data-driven and collaborative, and so he is on a mission to digitize 20 million farmers by 2022.


Editor of Balaknama
Shambhu Pandit, editor of Balaknama, a newspaper run by children for children bringing their stories from the streets. Coming from a humble background, he raised his voice against corruption and went on to become one of the editors of the newspaper. Associated with Chetna, the NGO backing this initiative, Shambhu has been an active member in helping Balaknama reach the stature of "the voice of children"

Organizing team


Chennai, India


  • Akash G A
  • Ankit Barthwal
    Team member
  • Anurupa Banerjee
  • Arjun Chithrabhanu
  • Ashish Gupta
  • Atreyee Roy
  • Divyansh Agrawal
    Team member
  • Jatin Aggarwal
    Team member
  • Karan Yadav
  • Nivedita Das
    Team member
  • Rahul Nagpal
    Team member
  • Siddharth Kumar Chauhan
  • Vikas Kumar