x = independently organized TED event

This event occurred on
June 22, 2011
8:00am - 5:30pm CDT
(UTC -5hrs)
Tijuana, Baja California Norte

Our event gives voice to the citizens of Tijuana with a message that hasn’t typically been covered in mass communications channels. TEDxTijuana fuses together people with interesting ideas from different walks of life to collectively communicate a positive message to the world. A range of topics are covered focusing on how the citizenry can help to create a better future.

Universidad Iberoamericana
2501 Avenida Centro Universitario
Playas de Tijuana
Tijuana, Baja California Norte, 2200
See more ­T­E­Dx­Tijuana events


Speakers may not be confirmed. Check event website for more information.

Tito Alegria

Tito Alegria teaches at the Colegio de la Frontera Norte, Tijuana. He is an expert in Urban Economics in the San Diego-Tijuana region.

Ariosto Manrique

Ariosto Manrique Moreno was national President of "Comisión de Empresarios COPARMEX" and is currently President of the "Confederacion Iberoamericana de Jovenes Empresarios" also known as CIJE.

Ramon Toledo

Ramon Toledo is President and Founder of Busca Corp. and has over 20 years experience in international consulting and business development. Toledo has been recognized numerous times as one of the most respectable businessmen, having been someone who has taken initiative to bring important businesses to Mexico. His experience includes having been Director of Foreign Capital for Probursa and Iverlat and as a diplomat in charge of Economic Issues in the Mexican Embassy in Geneva Switzerland. He helped coordinate the participation of Mexican presidents Ernesto Zedillo and Vicente Fox en the World Economic Forum.

Najla Wehbe

Ing. Najla Wehbe Dipp is an Alderman at the Tijuana Municipality. She is President of the commission on Education, Culture, and Libraries.

Roberto Reyes

Dr. Roberto Reyes coordinates business clusters in Mexico for the government of Baja California and has participated in Harvard's Microeconomics of Competitiveness: Firms, Clusters and Economic Development program. He teaches multiple courses at universities and counsels multiple groups.

David Espinoza

David Espinosa. General Director of the Tijuana Food Bank, "Banco de Alimentos de Tijuana A.C." Treasurer of the board of Banati. He is a member of the Tijuana Lions Club "Club de Leones de Tijuana A.C." He studied Public Accounting.

Andres Reyes

Andres is Founder and Director of Boxel Interactive, a company dedicated to the development of interactive media and websites focused on servicing client’s needs by strengthening brands and implementing business strategies using digital marketing. He also is Founder and Director of the Institute of Graphic Arts which gives classes in digital arts including certification in digital imaging, 3D animation, and digital photography, amongst others.

James Gerber

Dr. James Gerber holds bachelor degrees in history and economics and a doctorate in economics from the University of California, Davis. His fields of concentration are economic history, development economics, and international economics. He has been at San Diego State University since 1985 and is currently a Professor of Economics and Director of International Business. From 2002 to 2009 he served as the Director of the Center for Latin American Studies. Current research interests include the US-Mexico border economy, US-Mexico relations, and Chinese-Latin American economic relations. He has been a visiting professor in Mexico, Canada, Chile and Hungary.

Juan Jose Alonzo

Profesor de CETYS UNIVERSIDAD E IPADE BUSINESS SCHOOL, Empresario en la ramo de energia, COPARMEX Tijuana Tesorero en 2010 y miembro del consejo Funcionario: Jefe de aseores PGJE BC, Vitivinicultor Vino: Mirlo, Miembro de Endeavor MX Panelista Nacional, Consultor empresas familiares CPG Consultores. Columnista semanario El infomador e Infobaja, Conferencista invitado en Foros nacionales e Internacionales, Presidente de Mexico SOS BC, Expresidente y miembro del International Wine And Food Society Tj Chapter

Heberto Peterson

Heberto Peterson is Director General Academico (Provost) at Universidad Iberoamericana Tijuana. Higher Education. Ethics and decision making. Applied Philosophy.

Jose Carlos Bezanilla

José Carlos Bezanilla is the Director of the North East region of Great Place to Work® Institute México. He has a great deal of experience in sales and customer service.

Roberto Romero

Roberto is Director of Technology and Operations at SOSVIA Inc. He has experience in project development in IT using a set of procedures for continuous process improvement and extensive experience in project management in the area of security and telecommunications systems. He also has developed experience in development of business plans and analysis, planning, and strategic management of businesses from infancy to full operating cycles.

Eduardo Garcia Barrios

Eduardo García-Barrios is the Director of the Baja California Orchestra, Youth Orchestra, and the Center for Musical Arts in Baja California. He has been Director of almost every major orchestra in Mexico, including the National Symphonic Orchestra, the Mexico City Philharmonic, and the Bellas Artes Palace Orchestra. He has collaborated with artists including Tito Puente, Arturo Sandoval, El mariachi Vargas, Betsy Pecannins, Eugenia León, Lila Downs, Margie Bermejo, Astrid Hadad and Liliana Felipe.

Aaron Gutierrez Cortes

Aaron was raised in the dual sensibilities of the Tijuana-San Diego region. He studied Architecture at the University of London and The Southern California Institute of Architecture. Founder of Amorphica Design Research Office, his body of work has been published in publications such as Architectural Design, Architectural Review, La Tempestad, and Arquine. He has lectured at several universities including University of Calgary, MIT in Boston, LSU, and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art amongst others.

Organizing team

  • Heberto Peterson
    Coordinador Ibero Tijuana
  • Ariosto Manrique
  • Nora Perez
    Coordinador Ibero Tijuana
  • Victor Siliceo
    Coordinador Ibero Tijuana
  • Paulo Zaragoza
    Coordinador Operacioines
  • Marcos Salaiza
    Social Media
  • Maria Teresa Jove Zanela
  • Juan Antonio Ponce Torres
  • Chantal Barajas