妮狄奧考拉夫
995,777 views • 9:20

如果一個非洲女孩, 來自未來非洲的一個傳統家庭, 被銀河系裡遠處 數個最好的大學錄取, 會如何? 如果她決定要去呢? 這段話引述自我的中篇小說 《賓娣》(Binti)三部曲:

我啟動了運輸機,並默默禱告。 如果它無法運作, 我就不知道該怎麼辦了。 我的運輸機很廉價, 即使一滴水汽,或甚至一粒沙子, 都可能會使它短路。 它很靠不住,大部份的時候, 我得要不斷重新啟動它, 最後才會運作。 我心想:「拜託現在別短路, 拜託現在別短路。」 運輸機在沙地中顫動,我屏息以待。 它很小、平平坦坦、 黑色的,就像是個禱告石, 它輕柔地發出噪音, 接著緩緩從沙地升起。 最終,它產生能抬起行李的力量。 我露齒而笑。 這樣我就能準時到達太空梭了。 我用食指抹去額上的 赭色乳脂,跪了下來, 接著我用那隻手指去觸碰沙子, 讓汗味的紅土留在手指上。

我低語:「謝謝你。」

我沿著黑暗的沙漠道路走了半哩。 因為運輸機成功啟動, 我能準時到達那裡。 我直起身子,暫停一下,閉上眼睛。 現在,我整個人生 重重壓在我的肩膀上。 這是我第一次公然反抗 自我生命中最傳統的那一部份。 我在夜晚的死寂中離開, 而他們完全不知情。 除了一位妹妹和一位弟弟以外, 其他的九位手足都比我年長, 他們絕對料不到。 我父母一百年也絕對 想像不到我會這樣做。 當他們發現我做了什麼 以及我要去哪裡時, 我早已離開這星球了。

我不在的時候, 我父母將會彼此咆哮, 說再也不許我踏進家門一步。 住在不遠的四個姑姑和兩個叔叔, 將會彼此大叫和說八卦, 述說我的醜聞如何震驚了整個家族。 我將成為被放逐的賤民。

我輕聲對著運輸機說:「走吧。」 我跺著腳。 戴在我腳踝上的細金屬環 吵雜地發出叮噹聲, 但我再次跺腳。 運輸機一旦啟動了,我不再碰它 才能讓它處在最佳狀態。

我眉上冒出了汗水, 再次說:「走吧。」 當什麼都沒動時, 我冒險推了一下 位在力場上的兩個行李箱。 它們順暢地移動,我又鬆了一口氣。 至少有點運氣是站在我這邊的。

所以,在遙遠未來的非洲, 賓娣是個辛巴種族的數學天才, 她被另一個星球上的大學錄取, 她決定要去。 她身上流著族人的血液, 她的皮膚上裝飾著 那些教誨、風俗、甚至土地, 她離開了地球。

隨著故事發展,她成長了更多, 離開,但帶來更多, 接著成長更多的這個想法, 就是非洲未來主義的精神之一, 或是你也可以簡單稱它為 不同類型的科幻小說。 如果我使用章魚類比法, 能最清楚解釋古典科幻小說 和非洲未來主義的差別。 和人類一樣, 章魚是地球上最有智慧的生物之一。 然而,章魚智慧的演化, 走的是不同的演化路線, 和人類的演化路線是分開的, 所以基礎並不相同。 各種不同形式之 科幻小說的基礎也是如此。

所以,科幻小說大多臆測 科技、社會、社會議題、 我們的星球外有什麼、 我們的星球內有什麼。 科幻小說是最偉大且最有效的 政治著作形式之一。 重點總是這個問題: 「如果……會如何?」 但,並非所有的科幻小說 都有同樣的祖傳血脈, 那血脈扎根在西方的科幻小說, 多半以白人男性為主。 我們說的是以撒艾西莫夫、 朱爾凡恩、 H.G.威爾斯、喬治歐威爾、 羅伯特海萊因等人。

如果奈及利亞裔美國人 來寫科幻小說會如何? 成長過程中,我沒有 讀過很多科幻小說。 我無法和這些故事有所連結, 它們充滿了仇外和殖民主義, 視外星人為異己。 在那些故事中, 我沒看到任何像我的人。

在中篇小說三部曲《賓娣》中, 賓娣離開星球,去尋求外星教育。 她以本來的面貌走出去, 看起來是本來的樣子, 帶著她的文化, 做她自己。 我得到靈感寫下這個故事, 並不是因為我在追隨 古典太空劇故事的路線, 而是因為深根的血脈、 家庭、文化衝突, 以及要看到非洲女孩 自願離開星球的需求。 我的科幻小說有不同的祖先, 是非洲的祖先。

我是奈及利亞裔美國人, 我父母是奈及利亞移民, 他們在美國把我養大, 美國是古典科幻小說的出生地之一。 然而,引導我寫科幻小說 是我的奈及利亞血脈。 明確來說,我引用了 1990 年代末 和家人回到奈及利亞的旅行。 我從非常小的時候開始 就會和家人回奈及利亞。 這些早期的旅行是我的靈感。 因此,我所寫的第一個故事 就發生在奈及利亞。 我寫的主要是魔幻寫實主義和奇幻, 靈感來自我對伊博族 以及其他西非傳統宇宙論 與靈性事物的熱愛。 然而,在 1990 年代末期, 我開始注意到科技 在奈及利亞所扮演的角色: 村裡的有線電視和手機, 419 名調情者佔據了網咖, 小型發電機和我表哥的 桌上型電腦連接在一起, 因為供電總是時有時無。 我的美國人特質讓我有所不同, 足以讓我對這些被奈及利亞人 視為正常的事物感到好奇。

我的好奇最終讓我的故事誕生了。 我開始打開奇怪的門。 如果外星人來到奈及利亞的 拉哥斯,會如何? 這摘自我的小說 《礁湖》(Lagoon)。

每個人都看到了, 全世界的人。 那是對於拉哥斯 所發生之大混亂的真實介紹, 奈及利亞、西非、非洲、這裡。 因為在拉哥斯有很多人 有可攜式、可充電、 發光、震動、發出嘎吱聲、 推特用、溝通用、相連結的裝置, 實際上,一切都出於 某種原因、以某種方式, 被快速地記錄下來, 並張貼在網路上。 現代的人類世界, 就像是蜘蛛網一樣連結。

世界在看著。 它帶著入迷的恐怖在看著, 為了資訊, 但主要是為了娛樂。 發生事件的影片, 主宰了所有國際新聞來源、 影片分享網站、社交網路、 圈、金字塔和梯形。 但故事會更深入。 它在爛泥中、 在灰塵裡、 在地面下, 深情紀念著土壤的宇宙。 它在不斷混合的過去、 現在、未來當中。 它在水中。 它在住在拉哥斯的 強大靈體及祖先中。 它在拉哥斯人民的心靈與精神中。 改變引起改變。 外星人愛尤戴莉明白。 她所有的同胞明白。

這是至上蜘蛛藝術家烏狄迪的聲音, 他比泥土還老, 住在拉哥斯城市下的泥土中, 傾聽著,評論著, 編造著外星生物來到拉哥斯的故事。 最終,和房子一樣大的大蜘蛛, 負責編造過去、現在及未來的大蜘蛛, 決定要站出來,成為故事的一部份。

就像蜘蛛藝術家烏狄迪, 非洲科幻小說的血脈也深深扎根, 它很古老, 準備好要站出來了, 當它站出來時, 想像它會激起的科技、 想法,和社會政治改變。 對非洲人來說,國產的科幻小說 可以是一個爭取權力的意志

如果……會如何? 這是個強大的問題。

謝謝。

(掌聲)

Nnedi Okorafor
963,172 views • 9:20

What if an African girl from a traditional family in a part of future Africa is accepted into the finest university in the galaxy, planets away? What if she decides to go? This is an excerpt from my "Binti" novella trilogy:

I powered up the transporter and said a silent prayer. I had no idea what I was going to do if it didn't work. My transporter was cheap, so even a droplet of moisture or, more likely, a grain of sand, would cause it to short. It was faulty, and most of the time I had to restart it over and over before it worked. "Please not now, please not now," I thought. The transporter shivered in the sand and I held my breath. Tiny, flat and black as a prayer stone, it buzzed softly and then slowly rose from the sand. Finally, it produced the baggage-lifting force. I grinned. Now I could make it to the shuttle on time. I swiped otjize from my forehead with my index finger and knelt down, then I touched the finger to the sand, grounding the sweet-smelling red clay into it.

"Thank you," I whispered.

It was a half-mile walk along the dark desert road. With the transporter working I would make it there on time. Straightening up, I paused and shut my eyes. Now, the weight of my entire life was pressing on my shoulders. I was defying the most traditional part of myself for the first time in my entire life. I was leaving in the dead of night, and they had no clue. My nine siblings, all older than me except for my younger sister and brother, would never see this coming. My parents would never imagine I'd do such a thing in a million years. By the time they all realized what I'd done and where I was going, I'd have left the planet.

In my absence, my parents would growl to each other that I was never to set foot in their home again. My four aunties and two uncles who lived down the road would shout and gossip amongst themselves about how I had scandalized the entire bloodline. I was going to be a pariah.

"Go," I softly whispered to the transporter, stamping my foot. The thin metal rings I wore around each ankle jingled noisily, but I stamped my foot again. Once on, the transporter worked best when I didn't touch it.

"Go," I said again, sweat forming on my brow. When nothing moved, I chanced giving the two large suitcases sitting atop the force field a shove. They moved smoothly, and I breathed another sigh of relief. At least some luck was on my side.

So, in a distant future part of Africa, Binti is a mathematical genius of the Himba ethnic group. She's been accepted into a university on another planet, and she's decided to go. Carrying the blood of her people in her veins, adorned with the teachings, ways, even the land on her very skin, Binti leaves the earth.

As the story progresses, she becomes not other, but more. This idea of leaving but bringing and then becoming more is at one of the hearts of Afrofuturism, or you can simply call it a different type of science fiction. I can best explain the difference between classic science fiction and Afrofuturism if I used the octopus analogy. Like humans, octopuses are some of the most intelligent creatures on earth. However, octopus intelligence evolved from a different evolutionary line, separate from that of human beings, so the foundation is different. The same can be said about the foundations of various forms of science fiction.

So much of science fiction speculates about technologies, societies, social issues, what's beyond our planet, what's within our planet. Science fiction is one of the greatest and most effective forms of political writing. It's all about the question, "What if?" Still, not all science fiction has the same ancestral bloodline, that line being Western-rooted science fiction, which is mostly white and male. We're talking Isaac Asimov, Jules Verne, H.G. Wells, George Orwell, Robert Heinlein, etc.

So what if a Nigerian-American wrote science fiction? Growing up, I didn't read much science fiction. I couldn't relate to these stories preoccupied with xenophobia, colonization and seeing aliens as others. And I saw no reflection of anyone who looked like me in those narratives.

In the "Binti" novella trilogy, Binti leaves the planet to seek education from extraterrestrials. She goes out as she is, looking the way she looks, carrying her cultures, being who she is. I was inspired to write this story not because I was following a line of classic space opera narratives, but because of blood that runs deep, family, cultural conflict and the need to see an African girl leave the planet on her own terms. My science fiction had different ancestors, African ones.

So I'm Nigerian-American. I was born to two Nigerian immigrant parents and raised in the United States, one of the birthplaces of classic science fiction. However, it was my Nigerian heritage that led me to write science fiction. Specifically I cite those family trips to Nigeria in the late '90s. I'd been taking trips back to Nigeria with my family since I was very young. These early trips inspired me. Hence the first story that I ever even wrote took place in Nigeria. I wrote mainly magical realism and fantasy inspired by my love of Igbo and other West African traditional cosmologies and spiritualities. However, in the late '90s, I started noticing the role of technology in Nigeria: cable TV and cell phones in the village, 419 scammers occupying the cybercafes, the small generator connected to my cousin's desktop computer because the power was always going on and off. And my Americanness othered me enough to be intrigued by these things that most Nigerians saw as normal.

My intrigue eventually gave birth to stories. I started opening strange doors. What if aliens came to Lagos, Nigeria? This is an excerpt from my novel, "Lagoon."

Everybody saw it, all over the world. That was a real introduction to the great mess happening in Lagos, Nigeria, West Africa, Africa, here. Because so many people in Lagos had portable, chargeable, glowing, vibrating, chirping, tweeting, communicating, connected devices, practically everything was recorded and posted online in some way, somehow, quickly. The modern human world is connected like a spider's web.

The world was watching. It watched in fascinated horror for information, but mostly for entertainment. Footage of what was happening dominated every international news source, video-sharing website, social network, circle, pyramid and trapezoid. But the story goes deeper. It is in the mud, the dirt, the earth, in the fond memory of the soily cosmos. It is in the always mingling past, present and future. It is in the water. It is in the powerful spirits and ancestors who dwelled in Lagos. It is in the hearts and minds of the people of Lagos. Change begets change. The alien Ayodele knew it. All her people know it.

So, this is a voice of Udide, the supreme spider artist, who is older than dirt and lives in the dirt beneath the city of Lagos, listening and commenting and weaving the story of extraterrestrials coming to Lagos. In the end, the great spider who was the size of a house and responsible for weaving the past, present and future decides to come forth and be a part of the story.

Like Udide, the spider artist, African science fiction's blood runs deep and it's old, and it's ready to come forth, and when it does, imagine the new technologies, ideas and sociopolitical changes it'll inspire. For Africans, homegrown science fiction can be a will to power.

What if? It's a powerful question.

Thank you.

(Applause)