ليندا ليوكاس
1,841,537 views • 11:03

إن الكود (الشيفرة) هو اللغة العالمية الجديدة. في السبعينات كانت موسيقا (بونك روك) تحرك جيلاً بأكمله. في الثمانينات ربما كان المحرك هو النقود. بالنسبة لجيلي، فإن البرمجيات هي نافذة جيلنا على العالم، وهذا يعني أننا نحتاج وبشكل جذري إلى أشخاص أكثر تنوعاً لنبني مثل هذه المنتجات. أشخاصاً لا يرون الحواسيب كآلات موحشة أو مملة أو ساحرة، أشخاصاً يرونهم كشيء يمكن أن يحسنه ويقلبه ويلويه وهكذا.

بدأت رحلتي إلى عالم البرمجة والتقنية في عمر الرابعة عشرة. كنت معجبة بشخص كبير في السن، وصادف أن هذا الشخص سيكون نائب رئيس الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية التالي وهو السيد (آل غور). وفعلت ما قد تفعله أي فتاة مراهقة أخرى، أردت أن أعبر عن كل هذا الاعجاب، لذا بنيت له موقعاً الكترونيا، ها هو هنا. في 2001 لم يكن هناك موقع (تامبلر)، ولم يكون (فيسبوك) أو (بينتريست)، لذا كنت بحاجة إلى تعلم البرمجة لأعبر عن هذا الإعجاب الكبير،

وهكذا بدأت البرمجة معي، كأسلوب للتعبير عن الذات كما كنت أفعل عندما كنت أصغر باستعمال التلوين وألعاب التركيب. عندما كبرت بعدها كنت استعمل دروس الغيتار والمسرح. لكن فيما بعد ظهرت أشياء أخرى تثير حماسي كالشعر وحياكة الجوارب، وتصريف الأفعال الفرنسية الشاذة، وخلق العوالم الخيالية و"برتراند راسل" وفلسفته، ثم بدأت أنتمي إلى هؤلاء الأشخاص الذين شعروا بأن الحواسيب مُملة وتقنية ووحيدة

هذا ما أعتقده اليوم. الفتيات الصغيرات لا تعرفن أنه ليس من المفترض بهن الاعجاب بالحواسيب الفتيات الصغيرات مُدهشات. إنهن فعلا جيدات في التركيز على الأشياء إنهن دقيقات، وتسألن أسئلة رائعة مثل، "ماذا؟" و"لماذا؟" و"كيف؟" و"ماذا لو؟" ولا يعرفن أنه ليس من المفترض بهنّ الاعجاب بالحواسيب. الآباء هم من يفعلون ذلك. إننا نحن الآباء من يشعر وكأن علم الحاسوب هو مجال علمي غامض وغريب ينتمي فقط لصنّاع الغرائب. وأنه بعيد كل البعد عن الحياة اليومية مثل الفيزياء النووية وهم محقون جزئياً بخصوص هذا.

هناك الكثير من القواعد اللغوية وأدوات التحكم وبنيات البيانات واللوغاريتمات والممارسات، البروتوكولات والبارادايمات في البرمجة ونحن كمجتمع، جعلنا الحواسيب أصغر ثم أصغر بنينا عدة طبقات من التجريد فوق بعضنا البعض بين الإنسان والآلة لدرجة أننا لم نعد نعرف كيف تعمل الحواسيب أو كيف نتحدث معها. إننا نعلم أبناءنا كيف يعمل جسم الإنسان، نعلمهم كيف يعمل محرك الاحتراق ونخبرهم أيضاً أنك إذا كنت ترغب في أن تصبح رائد فضاء فإنه بإمكانك ذلك لكن عندما يأتي الطفل إلينا ويسأل، "إذن، ما هو لوغاريتم فرز الكرات؟" أو "كيف يعرف الحاسوب ما يحدث عندما أضغط 'العب'، كيف يعرف أي فيديو يجب عرضه؟" أو، "ليندا، هل الإنترنت مكان؟" فإننا، نحن البالغون، نلزم الصّمت بشكل غريب. "إنه السحر"، يقول بعضنا. "إنه معقد جداً"، يقول البعض الآخر. حسناً، لا هذا ولا ذاك.

إنه ليس سحراً وليس معقداً. لقد حدث كلّ شيء فقط بسرعة كبيرة جدا صنع علماء الحاسوب هذه الآلات المدهشة والجميلة ولكنهم جعلوها غريبة جداً عنا، وحتى اللغة التي نحدّث بها الحواسيب وبالتالي لم نعد نعرف كيف نتحدث إلى الحواسيب من جديد دون واجهات المستعمل المعقدة ولهذا لم يعرف أحد

أنني عندما كنت أصرّف الأفعال الفرنسية الشاذة كنت في الواقع أمارس قدراتي في التعرف على الأنماط وعندما كنت متحمسة بخصوص الحياكة فقد كنت في الواقع أتبع سلسلة من الأوامر الرمزية التي تضمنت الحلقات بداخلها. وأن رحلة حياة "برتراند راسل" للبحث عن لغة دقيقة بين الإنجليزية والرياضيات وجدت ملاذا لها بداخل حاسوب. لقد كنت مبرمِجة ولكن لا أحد علم بذلك. أطفال اليوم، يُربتون، يصفعون، ويقرصون طريقهم حول العالم.

ولكن ما لم نعطهم أدوات البناء بالحواسيب، فإننا نربّي مستهلكين بدل مبدعين. هذه الرحلة بأكملها قادتني إلى هذه الطفلة الصغيرة.

اسمها روبي، عمرها ستّ سنوات. إنها شجاعة جداً، واسعة الخيال ومتسلّطة بعض الشيء. وكلما كدت أن أقع في مشكلة أثناء محاولتي تعليم نفسي البرمجة مثل "ما هو التصميم بالأشياء الموجهة، أو ما هو جمع القمامة؟" كنت أفكر في كيفية تفسير طفلة عمرها ست سنوات لهذه المشكلة. ثم ألفت كتاباً حولها ووضعت رسومات فيه

والأشياء التي علمتني إياها روبي كانت على هذا الشكل. علمتني روبي أنه ليس من المفترض أن تكون خائفاً من حشرات البقّ الموجودة تحت سريرك وحتى أكبر المشاكل هي مجموعة من المشاكل الصغيرة الملتصقة فيما بينها قدّمتني روبي أيضاً لأصدقائها، الجانب الملوّن من ثقافة الإنترنت. كان لديها أصدقاء مثل "سنو ليوبارد"، الجميل الذي لا يرغب في اللعب مع بقية الأطفال وكان لديها أصدقاء مثل الروبوتات الخضراء اللطيفة جدا ولكن الفوضوية بشكل كبير. وكان لديها أصدقاء مثل لينوكس البطريق الفعال بشكل عنيف، ولكن المستعصي نوعاً ما على الفهم والثعالب المثالية، وهكذا دواليك. في عالم روبي، تتعلم التكنلوجيا عبر اللعب. ومثلاً، الحواسيب جيدة جدّا في تكرار الأشياء،

وهذه هي الطريقة التي قد تمكن روبي من تعليم الحلقات. هذه حركة الرقص المفضلة لدى روبي، هكذا، "صفّق، صفّق، ارقص، ارقص صفق، صفق و اقفز." وتتعلم الحلقات "Counter" عبر تكرار هذا أربع مرات. وتتعلم الحلقات "While" عبر تكرار السلسلة بينما أقف على ساق واحدة. وتتعلم حلقات "إلى أن" عبر تكرار تلك السلسلة إلى أن تصاب أمي بالجنون. (ضحك) وأكثر من هذا، تتعلم أنه لا وجود لأجوبة جاهزة. عندما كنت أفكر في المنهاج الخاص بعالم روبي،

احتجت فعلا إلى أن أسأل الأطفال كيف يرون العالم وما نوع الأسئلة التي يملكونها وأن أنظّم دورات لتجربة الألعاب. أمكنني أن أري الأطفال هذه الصور الأربعة أن أريهم صورة سيارة، متجرالجُملة، كلب، وحمام ثم أسأل، "أي واحدة تظنون أنها حاسوب؟" وسيقول الأطفال بتحفظ شديد، "لا توجد صورة حاسوب بينها. أنا أعرف ما هو الحاسوب: إنه تلك العلبة المتوهجة التي يقضي أمي وأبي الكثير من الوقت أمامها." ولكن بعدها يمكن الحديث وقد نكتشف أنه في الواقع، السيارة حاسوب، إنها تحتوي نظام تجوال بداخلها. وأما الكلب — الكلب قد لا يكون حاسوباً، ولكنه يملك طوقاً ويمكن أن يحتوي الطوق حاسوباً بداخله ومتاجر الجملة تحتوي أنواعا مختلفة من الحواسيب، مثل نظام الخزينة، وأجهزة الإنذار ضد السرقة. ويا أطفال، هل تعلمون ماذا؟ في اليابان، الحمامات حواسيب وهناك أيضا قراصنة يخترقونها. (ضحك) وبعد ذلك نذهب أبعد من هذا

وأعطيهم هذه الملصقات الصغيرة التي تحتوي أزرار تشغيل/إيقاف ثم أقول للأطفال، "اليوم تملكون هذه القدرة السحرية على تحويل أي شيء في هذه الغرفة إلى حاسوب." ومجدداً، يقول الأطفال، "يبدو هذا صعباً فعلا، لا أعرف الجواب الصحيح على هذا." ولكني أقول لهم، "لاتقلقوا، حتى آباؤكم لا يعرفون الجواب الصحيح. لقد بدأوا مؤخراً فقط بسماع الحديث عن هذا الشيء المسمّى "إنترنت الأشياء". ولكنكم يا أطفال، ستكون أولئك الذين سيعيشيون في عالم حيث كل شيء عبارة عن حاسوب." وبعدها أتت إلي هذه الطفلة الصغيرة

وأخذت مصباح دراجة هوائية وقالت، "هذا المصباح، لو كان حاسوباً، كان سيغير ألوانه." ثم قُلت، "إنها فكرة جميلة بالفعل، ماذا سيمكنه أن يفعل أيضاً؟" وفكّرت، ثم فكّرت، وقالت، "لو كان هذا المصباح حاسوباً، كنت سأذهب في رحلة بالدراجة مع أبي وكنا سننام بداخل خيمة وسيكون بإمكان هذا المصباح أن يكون آلة عرض للأفلام." وهذه هي اللحظة التي أبحث عنها، حين يفهم الطفل أن العالم ليس جاهزاً بعد، وأنها طريقة رائعة بالفعل لجعل العالم جاهزاً عن طريق بناء التكنلوجيا وأن كل واحد منا يمكن أن يصبح جزءاً من هذا التغيير. القصة الأخيرة، صنعنا أيضا حاسوباً.

وتعرفنا على CPU المتسلطة، و الذاكرة RAM المساعدة، و ROM التي تساعدها على تذكر الأشياء. وبعد أن جمعنا أجزاء الحاسوب معاً، قمنا بتصميم تطبيق له. وقصّتي المفضلة هي هذا الطفل الصغير، عمره ستّ سنوات وأكثر ما يفضله في العالم هو أن يصبح رائد فضاء. ويضع الطفل هذه السماعات العملاقة وهو مغمور كلياً في حاسوبه الورقي الدقيق لأنه، كما ترون، قد صنع التطبيق الخاص به للتجوال بين المجرات والكواكب. ووالده، رائد الفضاء المنعزل في مدار المريخ، متواجد في الجانب الآخر من الغرفة ومهمّة الولد الأساسية هي أن يعيد والده بأمان إلى الأرض. وهؤلاء الأطفال سيحصلون على طريقة مختلفة جدا لرؤية العالم والطريقة التي بنيناه بها عبر التكنلوجيا أخيراً، كلما جعلنا عالم التكنلوجيا أكثر قرباً، و أكثر شمولية،

وتنوعاً، كلما بدا العالم أفضل وأغنى بالألوان. إذن، تخيلوا معي، للحظة، عالما حيث القصص التي نرويها عن كيفية صناعة الأشياء لا تتضمن فقط أبناء "السيليكون فالي" الذين هم في العشرينيات من أعمارهم، ولكن أيضا فتيات المدرسة الكينيات، وأمناء المكتبات النرويجيين. تخيلوا عالما حيث فتيات مثل "إيدا لوفلاس" الغد، اللواتي تعشن في واقع دائم من الأصفار والوحدات، يكبرن ليصبحن أكثر تفاؤلا وجرأة تجاه التكنلوجيا. تُعانقن الطاقات والفرص وحدود العالم. عالم من التكنلوجيا الرائعة، غريبة الأطوار والغريبة نوعاً ما. عندما كنت طفلة، رغبت في أن أصبح راوية قصة،

أحببت العوالم الخيالية وأفضل ما كنت أفعله هو أن أستيقظ كل صباح في "مومين فالي". وظهراً، أتجول حول "التاتوين". وفي المساء أذهب للنوم في "نارنيا". ثم أصبحت البرمجة وظيفتي المثالية. لا زلت أصنع العوالم. بدل القصص، أصنعها بالشيفرات. منحتني البرمجة هذه القدرة المذهلة على بناء الكون الصغير الخاص بي

بقواعده الخاصة وبارادايماته وممارساته. اصنع شيئاً من لا شيء، بقوة المنطق الخالصة. شكراً لكم. (تصفيق)

Linda Liukas

A delightful way to teach kids about computers

1,617,589 views • 11:03
Subtitles in 30 languages
Up next
Details
Discussion
Details About the talk
Transcript 30 languages
0:11

Code is the next universal language. In the seventies, it was punk music that drove the whole generation. In the eighties, it was probably money. But for my generation of people, software is the interface to our imagination and our world. And that means that we need a radically, radically more diverse set of people to build those products, to not see computers as mechanical and lonely and boring and magic, to see them as things that they can tinker and turn around and twist, and so forth.

0:46

My personal journey into the world of programming and technology started at the tender age of 14. I had this mad teenage crush on an older man, and the older man in question just happened to be the then Vice President of the United States, Mr. Al Gore. And I did what every single teenage girl would want to do. I wanted to somehow express all of this love, so I built him a website, it's over here. And in 2001, there was no Tumblr, there was no Facebook, there was no Pinterest. So I needed to learn to code in order to express all of this longing and loving.

1:23

And that is how programming started for me. It started as a means of self-expression. Just like when I was smaller, I would use crayons and legos. And when I was older, I would use guitar lessons and theater plays. But then, there were other things to get excited about, like poetry and knitting socks and conjugating French irregular verbs and coming up with make-believe worlds and Bertrand Russell and his philosophy. And I started to be one of those people who felt that computers are boring and technical and lonely.

1:57

Here's what I think today. Little girls don't know that they are not supposed to like computers. Little girls are amazing. They are really, really good at concentrating on things and being exact and they ask amazing questions like, "What?" and "Why?" and "How?" and "What if?" And they don't know that they are not supposed to like computers. It's the parents who do. It's us parents who feel like computer science is this esoteric, weird science discipline that only belongs to the mystery makers. That it's almost as far removed from everyday life as, say, nuclear physics.

2:36

And they are partly right about that. There's a lot of syntax and controls and data structures and algorithms and practices, protocols and paradigms in programming. And we as a community, we've made computers smaller and smaller. We've built layers and layers of abstraction on top of each other between the man and the machine to the point that we no longer have any idea how computers work or how to talk to them. And we do teach our kids how the human body works, we teach them how the combustion engine functions and we even tell them that if you want to really be an astronaut you can become one. But when the kid comes to us and asks, "So, what is a bubble sort algorithm?" Or, "How does the computer know what happens when I press 'play,' how does it know which video to show?" Or, "Linda, is Internet a place?" We adults, we grow oddly silent. "It's magic," some of us say. "It's too complicated," the others say.

3:37

Well, it's neither. It's not magic and it's not complicated. It all just happened really, really, really fast. Computer scientists built these amazing, beautiful machines, but they made them very, very foreign to us, and also the language we speak to the computers so that we don't know how to speak to the computers anymore without our fancy user interfaces.

3:58

And that's why no one recognized that when I was conjugating French irregular verbs, I was actually practicing my pattern recognition skills. And when I was excited about knitting, I actually was following a sequence of symbolic commands that included loops inside of them. And that Bertrand Russell's lifelong quest to find an exact language between English and mathematics found its home inside of a computer. I was a programmer, but no one knew it.

4:26

The kids of today, they tap, swipe and pinch their way through the world. But unless we give them tools to build with computers, we are raising only consumers instead of creators.

4:37

This whole quest led me to this little girl. Her name is Ruby, she is six years old. She is completely fearless, imaginative and a little bit bossy. And every time I would run into a problem in trying to teach myself programming like, "What is object-oriented design or what is garbage collection?", I would try to imagine how a six-year-old little girl would explain the problem.

5:00

And I wrote a book about her and I illustrated it and the things Ruby taught me go like this. Ruby taught me that you're not supposed to be afraid of the bugs under your bed. And even the biggest of the problems are a group of tiny problems stuck together. And Ruby also introduced me to her friends, the colorful side of the Internet culture. She has friends like the Snow Leopard, who is beautiful but doesn't want to play with the other kids. And she has friends like the green robots that are really friendly but super messy. And she has friends like Linux the penguin who's really ruthlessly efficient, but somewhat hard to understand. And idealistic foxes, and so on.

5:38

In Ruby's world, you learn technology through play. And, for instance, computers are really good at repeating stuff, so the way Ruby would teach loops goes like this. This is Ruby's favorite dance move, it goes, "Clap, clap, stomp, stomp clap, clap and jump." And you learn counter loops by repeating that four times. And you learn while loops by repeating that sequence while I'm standing on one leg. And you learn until loops by repeating that sequence until mom gets really mad. (Laughter) And most of all, you learn that there are no ready answers.

6:13

When coming up with the curriculum for Ruby's world, I needed to really ask the kids how they see the world and what kind of questions they have and I would organize play testing sessions. I would start by showing the kids these four pictures. I would show them a picture of a car, a grocery store, a dog and a toilet. And I would ask, "Which one of these do you think is a computer?" And the kids would be very conservative and go, "None of these is a computer. I know what a computer is: it's that glowing box in front of which mom or dad spends way too much time." But then we would talk and we would discover that actually, a car is a computer, it has a navigation system inside of it. And a dog — a dog might not be a computer, but it has a collar and the collar might have a computer inside of it. And grocery stores, they have so many different kinds of computers, like the cashier system and the burglar alarms. And kids, you know what? In Japan, toilets are computers and there's even hackers who hack them. (Laughter)

7:15

And we go further and I give them these little stickers with an on/off button on them. And I tell the kids, "Today you have this magic ability to make anything in this room into a computer." And again, the kids go, "Sounds really hard, I don't know the right answer for this." But I tell them, "Don't worry, your parents don't know the right answer, either. They've just started to hear about this thing called The Internet of Things. But you kids, you are going to be the ones who are really going to live up in a world where everything is a computer."

7:46

And then I had this little girl who came to me and took a bicycle lamp and she said, "This bicycle lamp, if it were a computer, it would change colors." And I said, "That's a really good idea, what else could it do?" And she thinks and she thinks, and she goes, "If this bicycle lamp were a computer, we could go on a biking trip with my father and we would sleep in a tent and this biking lamp could also be a movie projector." And that's the moment I'm looking for, the moment when the kid realizes that the world is definitely not ready yet, that a really awesome way of making the world more ready is by building technology and that each one of us can be a part of that change.

8:30

Final story, we also built a computer. And we got to know the bossy CPU and the helpful RAM and ROM that help it remember things. And after we've assembled our computer together, we also design an application for it. And my favorite story is this little boy, he's six years old and his favorite thing in the world is to be an astronaut. And the boy, he has these huge headphones on and he's completely immersed in his tiny paper computer because you see, he's built his own intergalactic planetary navigation application. And his father, the lone astronaut in the Martian orbit, is on the other side of the room and the boy's important mission is to bring the father safely back to earth. And these kids are going to have a profoundly different view of the world and the way we build it with technology.

9:21

Finally, the more approachable, the more inclusive, and the more diverse we make the world of technology, the more colorful and better the world will look like. So, imagine with me, for a moment, a world where the stories we tell about how things get made don't only include the twentysomething-year-old Silicon Valley boys, but also Kenyan schoolgirls and Norwegian librarians. Imagine a world where the little Ada Lovelaces of tomorrow, who live in a permanent reality of 1s and 0s, they grow up to be very optimistic and brave about technology. They embrace the powers and the opportunities and the limitations of the world. A world of technology that is wonderful, whimsical and a tiny bit weird.

10:14

When I was a girl, I wanted to be a storyteller. I loved make-believe worlds and my favorite thing to do was to wake up in the mornings in Moominvalley. In the afternoons, I would roam around the Tatooines. And in the evenings, I would go to sleep in Narnia. And programming turned out to be the perfect profession for me. I still create worlds. Instead of stories, I do them with code.

10:42

Programming gives me this amazing power to build my whole little universe with its own rules and paradigms and practices. Create something out of nothing with the pure power of logic.

10:57

Thank you.

10:59

(Applause)

Computer code is the next universal language, and its syntax will be limited only by the imaginations of the next generation of programmers. Linda Liukas is helping to educate problem-solving kids, encouraging them to see computers not as mechanical, boring and complicated but as colorful, expressive machines meant to be tinkered with. In this talk, she invites us to imagine a world where the Ada Lovelaces of tomorrow grow up to be optimistic and brave about technology and use it to create a new world that is wonderful, whimsical and a tiny bit weird.

About the speaker
Linda Liukas · Programmer, storyteller and illustrator

Linda Liukas wants to create a more diverse and colorful world of technology, starting with the poetry of code.

Linda Liukas wants to create a more diverse and colorful world of technology, starting with the poetry of code.