x = independently organized TED event

This event occurred on
April 27, 2013
6:00pm - 10:00pm PDT
(UTC -7hrs)
Walla Walla, WA
United States

TEDxWhitman College is an opportunity for the Whitman community to continue to showcase its strong partnership with the Walla Walla and surrounding communities. TEDxWhitmanCollege will highlight the work of folks in the Whitman and Walla Walla communities in the arenas of technology, entertainment, and development. Whitman students are bright, articulate, and innovative - this is a fabulous way to demonstrate the mission of the College: "Whitman College is committed to providing an excellent, well-rounded liberal arts and sciences undergraduate education...an ideal setting for rigorous learning and scholarship and encourages creativity, character, and responsibility...to foster intellectual vitality, confidence, leadership, and the flexibility to succeed in a changing technological, multicultural world." The Walla Walla community is equally as vibrant with a population of people working, creating, and entertaining in diverse ways. From the outset, our plan was for Whitman's Academic Resource Center and Whitman's Student Engagement Center to lay the groundwork for students to take ownership in this event as a means to not only showcase their own talents, but also to put them in positions of leadership and organizing that connects them with community folks with similar interests. TEDxWhitman College will help us burst students out of their Whitman bubbles, while at the same time helping them develop skills of self-reliance, self-advocacy, and self-authorship.

Hunter Conservatory: Kimball Theater
Whitman College
345 Boyer Avenue
Walla Walla, WA, 99362
United States
Event type:
University (What is this?)
See more ­T­E­Dx­Whitman­College events


Speakers may not be confirmed. Check event website for more information.

Amy Davis-Bruner

Amy Davis-Bruner has lived in Walla Walla for 10 years and says it was curiosity that brought her here. She helped create Community Learning Opportunities, has been involved with city government and has networked with such community organizations as the YMCA, Whitman, and Walla Walla Parks and Recreations to connect college students as mentors with young learners. She says she believes that “the key to a thriving world lies in each one of us identifying and acting through curiosity towards mastery.”

Jeffrey Townsend

A veteran of Hollywood moviemaking, Jeffrey Townsend is a self-employed filmmaker and owner of Now What Creative and says he is “passionate about the ways we understand and retain information.” He has lived in Walla Walla for 16 years after having lived in New York and Los Angeles. His service to the community includes serving on the boards of the Downtown Walla Walla Foundation and Tourism Walla Walla. He also works as a liaison for the Walla Walla Film Office. He has been invited to speak at Whitman College, Walla Walla University, Rotary Club and the Walla Walla-Columbia Counties School Retirees Association.

Emily Muthersbaugh

Emily Muthersbaugh is a Walla Walla University student who will graduate in June 2013 with a bachelor of arts degree in environmental studies, with a concentration on human thought and culture, and a minor in sociology. She is editor-in-chief of WWU’s newspaper, The Collegian, and has served as president of the university’s Amnesty International Club and as the legislative liaison. Emily also has been involved with Associated Students of Walla Walla University, the Peacemaking Committee, the Sustainability Committee and student-led worship services on campus. She also was a student teacher for the WWU Environmental Stewardship course.

Justin Lincoln

Justin Lincoln is an assistant professor of art at Whitman and an experimental video artist and educator. His work explores intersections between technology, education, art and life, and he says his artistic and teaching practices are “exploratory, experimental, and open systems.” He attended California Institute of the Arts, Virginia Commonwealth University and Longwood College. His work has been shown in New York, Boston, Minneapolis and the U.K, and he has shown for four consecutive years at the prestigious Dallas VideoFest.

Aisha Fukushima

Singer, public speaker and self-proclaimed RAPtivist Aisha Fukushima is a 2009 Whitman graduate and a Watson Fellowship recipient. As leader of the global ‘RAPtivism’ (rap activism) project, she builds connections between hip hop and social justice, and has engaged communities in France, Morocco, England, South Africa, Senegal, India, Denmark and beyond. In 2012, she released her album featuring more than 20 leading international political hip hop acts. She has performed and lectured around the world, and her work has been featured in Oprah Magazine.

Theo Ciszewski

Whitman sophomore Theo Ciszewski is a politics and French major whose future plans include serving as a farm apprentice to learn about growing techniques and climates and possibly returning to his hometown of Washington, D.C. to work in the international political field or lobbying for farm workers. On campus he has been working on establishing an aquaponics system and is a Beta Theta Pi member and is active in several clubs: Student Agriculture and Whitman, Namaste Medication Club, Almightly Ink Slam Poetry Club and Rugby.

Jordan Benjamin

Whitman senior biology major and pre-med student Jordan Benjamin is a licensed Wilderness EMT with a lifelong passion for venomous snakes. He recently spent eight months in Benin, West Africa, and Kenya working to address the global burden of snakebites, the topic of his senior thesis. Last summer, he presented his solution of identifying and treating snakebites based on symptomology to the Joint Meetings of Ichthyology and Herpetology in Minneapolis. He hopes to become a wilderness/emergency medicine physician and specialize in the treatment of snakebites in rural Africa.

Organizing team


  • Noah Leavitt
  • Quinn Gordon
    Event Planning
  • Cate Lyon
    Community Relations & Sponsorship Committee
  • Blair Frank
    Technology Committee
  • Jon Loney
    Technology Committee
  • Dalia Corkrum
    Speaker Selection Committee
  • Leena Knight
    Speaker Selection
  • Tim Copeland
    Marketing Committee
  • Kyle Scott
    Social Media Committee