Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

Translated by Lam Bentham
Reviewed by Michael Ge 葛叔

0:11 有蜂既日子喺咁, 無蜂既日子就會變成咁。 蜂類喺最重要嘅傳粉者 幫果蔬、花卉、 同農作物:例如餵家畜嘅紫花乾草去傳粉。 超過三成嘅世界農產量 需要靠蜂嚟傳粉。

0:33 諷刺既喺,啲蜂無專登 為人類糧食傳粉 佢地之所以出動,只因要食野。 花粉可以為蜜蜂提供足夠既 蛋白質, 而蜂蜜就完全滿足碳水化合物既需求。 花喺佢地嘅食物, 佢地採花嘅過程, 就好似喺當地花市購物, 逛緊果陣,隨手贈送咁有價值嘅傳粉服務。 有啲地方無蜂生活, 或者有,但系啲植物品類唔啱心水, 於是只能俾錢請人做人工授粉。 授粉需要工人用板刷 逐朵花刷。 人工授粉行業 依家其實好普遍。 番茄果農經常用手提震動器 去幫茄花傳粉。 呢個就喺番茄搔癢器。(笑聲) 用佢嘅原因喺,茄花嘅花粉 埋喺花既深處, 雄性花粉囊入邊, 唯一將佢整出嚟嘅方法,就喺震動花粉囊。 熊蜂喺世上僅有既幾種 可以幫茄花傳粉既蜂種之一, 佢地可以抓住朵花,顫動飛行肌, 發出類似Do音頻率嘅聲波 咁樣,系有效嘅嗖嗖聲入邊, 包系花入面嘅花粉俾聲波震散,跌出嚟, 癡系毛茸茸嘅熊蜂身上, 俾佢帶翻屋企開餐。 依家,茄農將熊蜂群放喺 溫室入邊, 等佢地幫番茄傳粉, 咁樣傳粉既高效又自然, 收穫既番茄品質更好。

2:21 所以,我哋有更多理由, 去關心蜂群。 世界上,有超過兩萬種蜂, 絕對歎為觀止。 呢啲咁靚嘅蜂群,大半生喺 地下或者空樹幹中渡過, 只有極少數 好似蜜蜂咁,進化出高度嘅社會行為。

2:45 依家,蜜蜂逐漸成為 其他一萬九千幾種 蜂類既代表,確係有佢地 引人注目既魅力 自有史以嚟, 人類就已經關注蜜蜂。 主要喺佢地身上收穫蜂蜜, 蜂蜜系人人都中意嘅天然甜味劑。

3:06 而我對蜜蜂世界產生興趣 完全喺一次意外。 當時我18歲,覺得好無聊, 喺圖書館睇到一本關於蜂類既書, 果晚,將佢一口氣讀完。 我從未諗過昆蟲 可以有咁複雜既社會組成。 就好似一本超精彩科幻小說嘅真實版。 更離奇既系,有班養蜂人, 佢地好錫自己啲蜂,就好似屋企人一樣, 當我讀完本書,就決定要親身體驗。 於是,我去咗幫一個養蜂商人做野, 佢成家喺新墨西哥州,擁有兩千個蜂巢。 從此,我同蜜蜂結落不解之緣。

3:45 蜜蜂種群可以話喺一種超級社會群體, 每個領地都喺一個群體 通常由四 到五萬只蜜蜂組成。 群體無中央政府。 亦無話事蜂皇。 佢地點樣形成集體意見, 點樣分配任務同人手, 仲有點樣傳達採花地點信息? 所有佢地嘅集體社會行為都令人興奮不已。 我用咗好多年嚟研究自己最中意既 蜂群醫保系統, 無錯,蜂群都有醫保嘎。 喺我嘅實驗室度,我哋研究蜂群點樣維持健康。 例如,我哋研究衛生學, 探究點解有啲蜂可以穩到同驅逐 蜂巢以及領地中有病嘅成員, 保證領地蜂群嘅健康。 最近,我哋研究緊蜜蜂喺植物度 收集翻來嘅樹脂。 佢哋會喺某種樹葉度, 刮出癡立立嘅樹脂, 然後帶翻蜂巢, 癡落個巢度, 我地叫佢做蜂膠。 大家都知道蜂膠喺一種天然既殺菌劑。 喺天然抗生素。 佢可以將蜂群入邊既細菌、霉菌、仲有其他 細菌既胚芽殺死, 保證蜂群健康,增強群體免疫力。 人類自從聖經有載以嚟 就知道蜂膠既效用。 一直系蜂巢入邊羅蜂膠嚟 做藥物, 卻從嚟唔知,蜂膠對蜂群有幾甘重要。 蜜蜂憑藉呢種出色嘅天然防禦措施, 健康繁盛咗 超過五千萬年。

5:36 直到七年前,美國 首次報導有大量 蜜蜂死亡, 我就知道,蜂類大难临头。 眾所周知,即使我哋一无所有, 都要保住蜜蜂。 蜂類有乜災難? 蜜蜂喺死於多種相互作用嘅因素, 等陣我會逐一細講。 重點喺, 蜜蜂死亡預示住一個無花環境 同一個功能紊亂嘅食物系統。

6:12 依家我用手頭上有最好既蜜蜂數據, 展示俾大家睇。 其實喺美國,蜜蜂嘅數量從二戰開始, 就一直減少。 對比1945年,美國蜂場嘅 蜂箱數量只凈翻一半。 我地估計凈翻2百萬個。 原因喺,二戰之後, 我哋改變左種地嘅方式。 唔再種遮蓋作物, 好似三叶草同苜蓿, 佢地喺天然既土壤固氮肥料, 現時大家都用化肥代替。 三叶草同苜蓿都喺蜂類嘅高級營養品。 二戰後,我哋開始用除草劑, 清理田間雜草。 然而好多雜草喺有花植物, 蜜蜂要靠佢哋維生。 同時,單一作物既種植規模越來越大。 試想下自己身處荒漠, 方圓百里,都穩唔到雜貨士多嘅景象。 蜂類以前覓食既農田 如今變咗荒漠, 得翻一、兩種植物, 例如粟米或者大豆。 從二戰開始,我哋一直喺度有計劃甘 剷除好多蜂類賴以為生 嘅開花植物。 而大規模單一種植甚至開始包括, 杏仁,呢啲對蜂類有益嘅植物。 50年前,養蜂人會將一啲蜂群,蜂巢, 放入杏仁果園幫杏花傳粉, 而杏仁花粉有好高嘅營養價值, 對蜂類好有益。 按依家杏仁嘅種植規模, 需要動用全國大部份嘅蜂嚟幫手, 超過一百五十萬個蜂箱, 千里迢迢運嚟運去 就喺為咗同一種植物授粉。 蜂巢俾平板貨車運嚟, 又必須俾貨車運走, 因為花期過後, 整個果園就喺一個無花嘅世界。

8:30 蜂類喺過去果五十年間不斷甘減少, 而需要佢哋傳粉嘅 作物種植量一直增加緊 增量達3倍。

8:44 接落黎講下殺蟲劑。 二戰之後,單一種植 引發蟲害氾濫 以致必須大規模使用殺蟲劑。 嚟控制蟲害。 最近,賓夕法尼亞州立大學既嘅究人員 將蜂類帶翻巢嘅大量花粉 進行殺蟲劑殘留量調查 發現每一批 蜜蜂收集嘅花粉, 檢測到起碼有6種農藥, 包括各種殺蟲劑, 除草劑,殺菌劑, 甚至包括無標示嘅佐劑 佢地雖然喺殺蟲配方嘅無效部份 毒性可能俾有效成份仲要勁。 細細只蜜蜂都有甘犀利嘅劑量。 甘人類體內又有幾多?

9:45 其中一種殺蟲劑, 敵敵畏(新烟碱) 正吸引全球目光。 你哋好可能都聽講過。 佢系一種新型既殺蟲劑。 可以污染成棵植物, 一只食葉蟲, 只要咬植物一啖, 就足以致命 任何一種敵敵畏, 應用喺咁大規模既農場度, 都要高濃度咁投放, 保證有足夠既量污染成棵植物, 包括蜜蜂食用嘅花粉同花蜜, 如果咁樣, 高劑量嘅神經毒素 會令蜜蜂抽搐同死亡。 喺美國嘅大多數農場, 殺蟲劑凈喺停留嘅種子表面, 成棵植物既藥劑濃度會低啲 喺花粉同花蜜既量都少啲, 如果蜜蜂嘅攝入量減少, 佢可能會無事, 又可能會因中毒而簜失路 好可能翻唔到屋企。 除此之外, 蜂類都有自己要對抗嘅疾病同寄生蟲。 佢地既頭號敵人喺 狄氏瓦螨。 呢個名好岩佢。 佢喺一種大型吸血寄生蟲 會削弱蜂既免疫系統 同時傳播病毒。

11:08 等我將啲蜂嘅困難總結一下。 我唔知一隻被巨型吸血蟲爬滿 全身嘅蜂會有咩感覺, 亦唔知佢感染咗病毒嘅感受, 我凈喺知道自己有流感果時, 連去士多買野食, 補充營養嘅力都無。 更何況,我仲身處荒漠? 仲要行好遠嘅路 先去到士多, 去到果時,已經凈翻半條人命 點知食物裏面, 竟富含殺蟲劑同神經毒素, 令我穩唔到翻屋企嘅路。 以上就喺我地所講嘅 蜂類死亡嘅多種關聯因素。

11:55 唔單止蜜蜂, 所有甘靚既野生蜂類 都喺危險邊緣,包括幫番茄傳粉嘅熊蜂。 佢地喺蜜蜂嘅後援。 喺傳粉蜜蜂之外 又一花粉傳播嘅保障。 因此,我地需要各種嘅蜂。

12:14 甘要點做? 我哋為蜂類製造咗咁大劑麻煩 點先補到鍋? 事實證明,仲好有希望。 有兩個簡單有效嘅辦法 可以幫到佢哋。 首先,種啲蜂中意嘅花, 作為佢地嘅糧食, 唔好用殺蟲劑。 喺網上可以查到 本地花卉嘅品種。 然後將佢地種系門口梯級嘅 花盤,或者前院草地, 有或者園路兩邊。 爭取將佢哋種系公園, 社區空間,同公眾草坪, 只要唔系農場就得啦。 我地需要各種唔同嘅花 令成個生長季節,從春天到秋天, 都有花開。 馬路兩邊都需要種花, 唔單單為左蜂類,仲為咗遷徙中嘅蝴蝶、候鳥, 同其他野生動物。 喺時候認真考慮下,重新種翻遮蓋植物 既可以增肥土地 又可以養肥啲蜂。 農場都需要多樣化種植。 系田邊緣種翻一排或者一列開花作物, 可以隔斷連綿不斷嘅糧食荒漠, 而且,要開始糾正人類一手造成嘅 食物系統紊亂。

13:44 對比起甘大嘅難題, 種花可能只喺一個小小嘅反擊, 但系,如果啲蜂營養充足, 等佢哋傳完粉之後,我哋先可以 收穫更好嘅食物。 而且,好嘅營養, 可以鞏固佢哋嘅 自發抵抗力, 即喺存在咗數百萬年,蜂類賴以為生嘅醫保系統。 我覺得,咁樣幫助蜂類嘅好處喺, 每個人都可以成為 昆蟲社會、蜜蜂社會裏面嘅一只蜂, 每位個體嘅努力都可以 左右大局 利用自發嘅天性, 遠比孤軍奮戰 有效得多。 所以,依家就等我哋開始種花, 遠離農藥, 帶頭改變呢片大地嘅景色。

14:49 我代表蜂類,感謝你哋。

14:52 (掌聲)

14:56 姬斯·安特臣:多謝。問一個小問題。 最近,有無新嘅數據顯示, 蜂類嘅數量會觸底反彈? 你對目前嘅估計系樂觀定喺失望?

15:08 瑪利亞·史必域:嗯。 至少喺美國境內, 平均每個冬季, 就減少三成嘅蜂巢。 大約喺20年前, 降幅系15個巴仙。 所以,處境更危急。

15:21 姬斯·安特臣:唔喺掛?一年少三成? ——瑪利亞·史必域:嗯,無錯喺三成。

15:24 不過,養蜂人可以將啲蜂分撥到空嘅蜂巢度, 咁樣,仲可以維持翻蜂巢總量, 嚟減少損失。

15:33 依家正喺臨界點。 蜂巢嘅數量已經唔可以再少啦。 接落嚟,真喺好希望大家 齊齊嚟養蜂,個個都種花。

15:42 多謝。

15:43 (掌聲)

Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

0:11 This is our life with bees, and this is our life without bees. Bees are the most important pollinators of our fruits and vegetables and flowers and crops like alfalfa hay that feed our farm animals. More than one third of the world's crop production is dependent on bee pollination.

0:33 But the ironic thing is that bees are not out there pollinating our food intentionally. They're out there because they need to eat. Bees get all of the protein they need in their diet from pollen and all of the carbohydrates they need from nectar. They're flower-feeders, and as they move from flower to flower, basically on a shopping trip at the local floral mart, they end up providing this valuable pollination service. In parts of the world where there are no bees, or where they plant varieties that are not attractive to bees, people are paid to do the business of pollination by hand. These people are moving pollen from flower to flower with a paintbrush. Now this business of hand pollination is actually not that uncommon. Tomato growers often pollinate their tomato flowers with a hand-held vibrator. Now this one's the tomato tickler. (Laughter) Now this is because the pollen within a tomato flower is held very securely within the male part of the flower, the anther, and the only way to release this pollen is to vibrate it. So bumblebees are one of the few kinds of bees in the world that are able to hold onto the flower and vibrate it, and they do this by shaking their flight muscles at a frequency similar to the musical note C. So they vibrate the flower, they sonicate it, and that releases the pollen in this efficient swoosh, and the pollen gathers all over the fuzzy bee's body, and she takes it home as food. Tomato growers now put bumblebee colonies inside the greenhouse to pollinate the tomatoes because they get much more efficient pollination when it's done naturally and they get better quality tomatoes.

2:21 So there's other, maybe more personal reasons, to care about bees. There's over 20,000 species of bees in the world, and they're absolutely gorgeous. These bees spend the majority of their life cycle hidden in the ground or within a hollow stem and very few of these beautiful species have evolved highly social behavior like honeybees.

2:45 Now honeybees tend to be the charismatic representative for the other 19,900-plus species because there's something about honeybees that draws people into their world. Humans have been drawn to honeybees since early recorded history, mostly to harvest their honey, which is an amazing natural sweetener.

3:06 I got drawn into the honeybee world completely by a fluke. I was 18 years old and bored, and I picked up a book in the library on bees and I spent the night reading it. I had never thought about insects living in complex societies. It was like the best of science fiction come true. And even stranger, there were these people, these beekeepers, that loved their bees like they were family, and when I put down the book, I knew I had to see this for myself. So I went to work for a commercial beekeeper, a family that owned 2,000 hives of bees in New Mexico. And I was permanently hooked.

3:45 Honeybees can be considered a super-organism, where the colony is the organism and it's comprised of 40,000 to 50,000 individual bee organisms. Now this society has no central authority. Nobody's in charge. So how they come to collective decisions, and how they allocate their tasks and divide their labor, how they communicate where the flowers are, all of their collective social behaviors are mindblowing. My personal favorite, and one that I've studied for many years, is their system of healthcare. So bees have social healthcare. So in my lab, we study how bees keep themselves healthy. For example, we study hygiene, where some bees are able to locate and weed out sick individuals from the nest, from the colony, and it keeps the colony healthy. And more recently, we've been studying resins that bees collect from plants. So bees fly to some plants and they scrape these very, very sticky resins off the leaves, and they take them back to the nest where they cement them into the nest architecture where we call it propolis. We've found that propolis is a natural disinfectant. It's a natural antibiotic. It kills off bacteria and molds and other germs within the colony, and so it bolsters the colony health and their social immunity. Humans have known about the power of propolis since biblical times. We've been harvesting propolis out of bee colonies for human medicine, but we didn't know how good it was for the bees. So honeybees have these remarkable natural defenses that have kept them healthy and thriving for over 50 million years.

5:36 So seven years ago, when honeybee colonies were reported to be dying en masse, first in the United States, it was clear that there was something really, really wrong. In our collective conscience, in a really primal way, we know we can't afford to lose bees. So what's going on? Bees are dying from multiple and interacting causes, and I'll go through each of these. The bottom line is, bees dying reflects a flowerless landscape and a dysfunctional food system.

6:12 Now we have the best data on honeybees, so I'll use them as an example. In the United States, bees in fact have been in decline since World War II. We have half the number of managed hives in the United States now compared to 1945. We're down to about two million hives of bees, we think. And the reason is, after World War II, we changed our farming practices. We stopped planting cover crops. We stopped planting clover and alfalfa, which are natural fertilizers that fix nitrogen in the soil, and instead we started using synthetic fertilizers. Clover and alfalfa are highly nutritious food plants for bees. And after World War II, we started using herbicides to kill off the weeds in our farms. Many of these weeds are flowering plants that bees require for their survival. And we started growing larger and larger crop monocultures. Now we talk about food deserts, places in our cities, neighborhoods that have no grocery stores. The very farms that used to sustain bees are now agricultural food deserts, dominated by one or two plant species like corn and soybeans. Since World War II, we have been systematically eliminating many of the flowering plants that bees need for their survival. And these monocultures extend even to crops that are good for bees, like almonds. Fifty years ago, beekeepers would take a few colonies, hives of bees into the almond orchards, for pollination, and also because the pollen in an almond blossom is really high in protein. It's really good for bees. Now, the scale of almond monoculture demands that most of our nation's bees, over 1.5 million hives of bees, be transported across the nation to pollinate this one crop. And they're trucked in in semi-loads, and they must be trucked out, because after bloom, the almond orchards are a vast and flowerless landscape.

8:30 Bees have been dying over the last 50 years, and we're planting more crops that need them. There has been a 300 percent increase in crop production that requires bee pollination.

8:44 And then there's pesticides. After World War II, we started using pesticides on a large scale, and this became necessary because of the monocultures that put out a feast for crop pests. Recently, researchers from Penn State University have started looking at the pesticide residue in the loads of pollen that bees carry home as food, and they've found that every batch of pollen that a honeybee collects has at least six detectable pesticides in it, and this includes every class of insecticides, herbicides, fungicides, and even inert and unlabeled ingredients that are part of the pesticide formulation that can be more toxic than the active ingredient. This small bee is holding up a large mirror. How much is it going to take to contaminate humans?

9:45 One of these class of insecticides, the neonicontinoids, is making headlines around the world right now. You've probably heard about it. This is a new class of insecticides. It moves through the plant so that a crop pest, a leaf-eating insect, would take a bite of the plant and get a lethal dose and die. If one of these neonics, we call them, is applied in a high concentration, such as in this ground application, enough of the compound moves through the plant and gets into the pollen and the nectar, where a bee can consume, in this case, a high dose of this neurotoxin that makes the bee twitch and die. In most agricultural settings, on most of our farms, it's only the seed that's coated with the insecticide, and so a smaller concentration moves through the plant and gets into the pollen and nectar, and if a bee consumes this lower dose, either nothing happens or the bee becomes intoxicated and disoriented and she may not find her way home. And on top of everything else, bees have their own set of diseases and parasites. Public enemy number one for bees is this thing. It's called varroa destructor. It's aptly named. It's this big, blood-sucking parasite that compromises the bee's immune system and circulates viruses.

11:08 Let me put this all together for you. I don't know what it feels like to a bee to have a big, bloodsucking parasite running around on it, and I don't know what it feels like to a bee to have a virus, but I do know what it feels like when I have a virus, the flu, and I know how difficult it is for me to get to the grocery store to get good nutrition. But what if I lived in a food desert? And what if I had to travel a long distance to get to the grocery store, and I finally got my weak body out there and I consumed, in my food, enough of a pesticide, a neurotoxin, that I couldn't find my way home? And this is what we mean by multiple and interacting causes of death.

11:55 And it's not just our honeybees. All of our beautiful wild species of bees are at risk, including those tomato-pollinating bumblebees. These bees are providing backup for our honeybees. They're providing the pollination insurance alongside our honeybees. We need all of our bees.

12:14 So what are we going to do? What are we going to do about this big bee bummer that we've created? It turns out, it's hopeful. It's hopeful. Every one of you out there can help bees in two very direct and easy ways. Plant bee-friendly flowers, and don't contaminate these flowers, this bee food, with pesticides. So go online and search for flowers that are native to your area and plant them. Plant them in a pot on your doorstep. Plant them in your front yard, in your lawns, in your boulevards. Campaign to have them planted in public gardens, community spaces, meadows. Set aside farmland. We need a beautiful diversity of flowers that blooms over the entire growing season, from spring to fall. We need roadsides seeded in flowers for our bees, but also for migrating butterflies and birds and other wildlife. And we need to think carefully about putting back in cover crops to nourish our soil and nourish our bees. And we need to diversify our farms. We need to plant flowering crop borders and hedge rows to disrupt the agricultural food desert and begin to correct the dysfunctional food system that we've created.

13:44 So maybe it seems like a really small countermeasure to a big, huge problem -- just go plant flowers -- but when bees have access to good nutrition, we have access to good nutrition through their pollination services. And when bees have access to good nutrition, they're better able to engage their own natural defenses, their healthcare, that they have relied on for millions of years. So the beauty of helping bees this way, for me, is that every one of us needs to behave a little bit more like a bee society, an insect society, where each of our individual actions can contribute to a grand solution, an emergent property, that's much greater than the mere sum of our individual actions. So let the small act of planting flowers and keeping them free of pesticides be the driver of large-scale change.

14:49 On behalf of the bees, thank you.

14:52 (Applause)

14:56 Chris Anderson: Thank you. Just a quick question. The latest numbers on the die-off of bees, is there any sign of things bottoming out? What's your hope/depression level on this?

15:08 Maria Spivak: Yeah. At least in the United States, an average of 30 percent of all bee hives are lost every winter. About 20 years ago, we were at a 15-percent loss. So it's getting precarious.

15:21 CA: That's not 30 percent a year, that's -- MS: Yes, thirty percent a year.

15:24 CA: Thirty percent a year. MS: But then beekeepers are able to divide their colonies and so they can maintain the same number, they can recuperate some of their loss.

15:33 We're kind of at a tipping point. We can't really afford to lose that many more. We need to be really appreciative of all the beekeepers out there. Plant flowers.

15:42 CA: Thank you.

15:43 (Applause)