x = independently organized TED event

Atlanta, United States
May 18th, 2010

Watch video from the event

Please install flash player to see this video.

More videos from the TEDx YouTube Channel »

View photos from the event on Flickr

About this event

Confirmed Speakers

  • Gever Tulley
    Gever believes that we need to stop thinking about education as something that we do to people. Tinkering School can be seen as one alternative, but there’s something deeper that needs to be considered, and it may need to start earlier.
  • Michael Levine
    Dr. Michael H. Levine is leading breakthrough learning in a digital age. As executive director for The Joan Ganz Cooney Center, Michael is currently exploring intergenerational learning through videogames, the phenomenon of “multi-media multi-tasking” and an analysis of children’s search behavior.
  • Anya Kamenetz
    Anya Kamenetz covers technology, design, sustainability and social entrepreneurship as a staff writer for Fast Company magazine. In 2005, when she was 24, the Village Voice nominated her for a Pulitzer Prize for her contributions to the feature series Generation Debt, which became a book in 2006.
  • Billy McLaughlin
    Billy McLaughlin is one of the great musical comeback stories of all time. For years, he pursued a singular vision: to make the acoustic guitar sound as big as a grand piano but play as fluidly as a violin.
  • Melody Moore Jackson
    Dr. Melody Moore Jackson directs the Georgia Tech BrainLab. Working with students and faculty from both Georgia Tech and Georgia State University, the BrainLab is focused on enabling people with “locked in syndrome” (completely paralyzed and unable to speak) the ability to control computers and devices using their own brain signals.
  • Aron Solomon
    Aron is CEO and Head of School of THINK Global School, the world’s first global high school, where students study in a different international city every quarter.
  • Aron Solomon
    Aron is CEO and Head of School of THINK Global School, the world’s first global high school, where students study in a different international city every quarter.
  • David Fincher
    Dr. David Fincher is headmaster of Greater Atlanta Christian (GAC), and has been with GAC since 1972, as teacher, principal, vice president and president. GAC has recently become the largest Apple partner school in the U.S. As a result of this partnership, every student has a MacBook and the campus is a tighter technological community with new possibilities for how and what they learn.
  • Bo Adams
    Bo Adams is the head of the Junior High School at Westminster (one of Atlanta’s top private schools). His focus is transforming the traditional “egg crate” model of teacher-student relationship into more of a collective workshop, where students and teachers walk hand-in-hand as learners. This requires the skills of finding new questions, rather than the skills of giving answers.
  • Ricardo Bailey
    Father Bailey serves as a teacher and chaplain at Blessed Trinity, an Atlanta-area Catholic High School. He has strived to impact the lives of young adults by “meeting them where they are”, even if it means through a Top 40 radio station. He has become widely known for his alter ego, “Father Crunk”, who makes occasional appearances on Q100 (WWWQ-FM).
  • Vanessa Gallegos
    Vanessa Gallegos is a graduating senior at Central Gwinnett High School. Her early acceptance and full scholarship to Stanford University provides only a small, if impressive, clue about why she has been asked to speak.

Venue and Details

United States

This event occurred in the past.
See more TEDxAtlanta events »

Organizer 110338

Tod Martin
Atlanta, GA, United States

View Profile »


Jenn Graham
Speaker Liasion
Jenn Flemish
Sherry Duffy
Sheryl Jessing
Executive Producer
David Cannon
Planning Committee Member
Barbara Griffin
Steering Committee Member
Leo Alvarez
Steering Committee Member
Govantex Lowndes
Steering Committee Member/Planning Committee Member
Tanya Coventry-Strader
Steering Committee Member
Bill Nussey
Steering Committee Member
Charles Green
Steering Committee Member
Patty Tucker
Steering Committee Member
Janice Rys
Steering Committee Member
Dave Whitling
Communications Design
Steve Hsu
Website Design
Molly Hargather