罗伯特·戈登
1,141,183 views • 12:14

1900年,人们是这样出行的。 这是一个敞篷车,它没有供暖设备, 没有空调, 只有马拉着。 以百分之一的光速向前行驶。 一旦下雨,这布满车辙与尘土路 将变成充满烂泥的沼泽地。 这是一架波音707, 仅仅60年之后, 它以80%的光速飞行。 这是迄今为止人类能达到的最快速度。 著名的超音速商业旅游公司 如今也已破产,

这不禁让我思考: 美国经济的繁荣年代 是否已成为历史了呢? 这个疑问引出了一个细微的迹象: 或许经济增长已经停止了。 得出此结论的一部分原因无可置否。 美国经济正遭遇着四个方面的打压。 它们分别是: 人口,教育,债务以及不平等。 这些问题严峻到能使经济增长速度减半。 我们需要大量创新来抵抗经济衰落, 这也就引出了我今天演讲的主题:面临当前的不利形势, 如果创新的力量仍和过去150年一样强大, 经济增长速度也只能是减半, 如果创新程度弱于以往, 无法创造出更伟大更美好的事物, 那么经济增长速度连过去的一半都达不到。

这是八世纪的经济增长图, 纵坐标显示每年经济增长的百分点, 第一年零增长,1%增长率,2%增长率 白色的线代表英国,然后美国 超过英国成为20世纪的领先强国。 当线条转为红色时, 你会发现前四个世纪 经济几乎没有增长,只有可怜的0.2%增长率, 在这之后经济越来越好。 在20世纪30.40.和50年代出现经济增长高峰, 在这之后,增长速度减慢。值得注意的是, 红色线条中最后的下降曲线 并非真实的数据, 那只是我在六年前对经济的预测, 我那时估计经济增长速度会减缓到1.3% 但真实数据是如何呢? 在场有谁知道在过去的六年内美国人均收入 增长了多少呢? 答案是负增长。

这便导致了一场幻觉。 如果我要在这个历史记录中安置一条曲线结果会怎么样呢? 我能将曲线终止在任何地方, 但我估计会降到0.2% 就像英国在前四世纪的增长速度一样。 从1891年到2007年,美国经济 的年增长率 是2.0% 请记住,2007年以后,经济就出现了负增长, 但如果经济增长速度减慢, 结果将不是生活水平比以前翻一番。 未来的美国人民不能期待生活水平比上一代好一倍, 或者只是好上四分之一。 现在我们转来看看人均收入水平。 纵轴代表以千为单位的美元, 你会发现,在1891年,此图的左半边, 美国人均年收入为5000美元。 如今美国人均年收入为 44000美元。 如果在1891年后的70年内, 经济年增长率为2%, 这是一个算法问题。 2%的经济增长率会让你的生活水平在70年后翻两番。 这就意味着到2031年,美国人均年收入将从44000美元增长到180000美元。 然而,我们并不能达到这个目标, 原因就在于经济逆风。

第一阵经济逆风就是人口。 众所周知,你的生活水平增长速度要快于生产率, 也会快于每小时产量 如果人均工时增加, 在二十世纪七十年代和八十年代,当女性加入劳动市场, 我们的确尝到了甜头。 但是如今形势却出现逆转, 人均工时不断缩水, 原因之一是五六十年代婴儿潮出生的人目前已面临退休, 原因之二是青壮年男性劳动力的比例 大幅度下降, 他们是教育分布的下半部。

第二场经济逆风是教育。 我们的教育体系存在大量问题, 这是除了种族问题之外最严峻的问题 大学里,高等教育的成本增长不断增长, 这种增长使医疗保健中的成本增长显得相形见绌。 高等教育里,学生欠债高达一万亿美元。 而大学完成率却 低于加拿大15% 我们欠了大量的债务。 2000到2007年间的经济增长 是源于消费者的大量过度借贷。 消费者将钱用于还债, 就是如今我们经济萧条的主要原因之一。 众所周知, 作为GDP的一部分, 联邦政府的贷款正在迅速增加, 而阻止其增长的唯一方式就是 加快税收增长以及减缓津贴增长, 这也被称作转移支付。 若将此种方法付诸实际, 就能将我们的教育 百分比从1.5%降到1.3%。

除此之外,我们还面临不平等这一问题。 在经济危机发生之前的15年内, 收入分布底层的99%的增长速度 比之前我们所讲的平均值 降低了0.5%。 剩下的就是顶层的1%。 平均一下,就是0.8%。 0.8%这个数字对我们来说是个巨大的挑战。 我们的经济会以0.8%的速度增长么? 要做到这点,我们必须保证今后的发明 会与150年前的发明 具有同等的重要意义。 让我们先来看看过去有哪些发明:

在1875年,人们想在晚上读书的话, 需要煤油灯或者煤气灯。 这些灯会污染环境,也会散发臭味, 这种灯很难控制,光线也比较昏暗, 同时也是火灾隐患。 1929年,电灯在美国已经随处可见了。 城市高楼耸立,这个时代又出现了电梯。 曼哈顿中央区成为可能。 与此同时, 手工操作被大量机械操作取代, 手动的电动工具 通过电力实现。

电力同时也解放了妇女。 在十九世纪, 妇女每个星期要花两天的时间洗衣服。 她们首先要在搓衣板上刷衣服, 然后将衣服挂起来晾干, 然后再把晒干的衣服带回家。 整个过程要花费2天的时间。 然后,人类发明了电动洗衣机。 1950年,洗衣机在美国随处可见 但是妇女每天要买菜, 现在,她们不需要为此操劳了, 因为现在有了电冰箱。

在19世纪,大多数家庭里唯一的热源是 厨房里用来烧饭和加热的火堆。 房间冰冷,没有热源。 但到了1929年,尤其到了1950年, 中央供暖在美国随处可见。

1879年, 人类发明了内燃机。 在出现汽车之前 美国的交通完全依赖马匹。 由于没有限制, 这些马匹每天在街上要排放25磅至50磅(约11.36公斤至22.73公斤)的粪便, 还有1加仑(约3.8升)的尿液。 这就意味着每天,城市每平方英尺(约9.29平方米)内 就有5到10吨的马排泄物。 这些马吃的草占了美国农业土地四分之一。 整整25%的美国农业土地 居然都用来喂马了。 当然,当汽车出现后 尤其是在1929年汽车遍布全国各地的时候, 农业土地被用来供人类消费 或者出口。 这是个有趣的比例:1900年,没有一个家庭拥有汽车; 仅仅三十年之后, 90%的美国家庭都拥有了汽车。

19世纪末期, 妇女还有一个亟待解决的问题: 生活用水(例如烧饭,清洁,洗澡), 必须从外面一桶一桶地提回来。 在1885年, 北卡罗来纳州的家庭妇女 平均每年要走148英里的路,挑35吨的水。 但到了1929年,每个城市 都安装了地下水管。 也安装了污水管。 因为这一发明,19世纪末的一大灾难—- 水传疾病例如霍乱,开始逐渐消失。 还有一个让技术乐观主义者高兴的事实: 在20世纪前半期, 人类寿命的增长速度 是19世纪后半期 寿命增长速度的三倍。

众所周知,任何事物的增长速度不能超过100%。 在这里我给大家举几个例子: 光速从1%提高到90%, 电力,中央供暖,汽车拥有量, 它们都从0增长到100%。 相比农场环境,城市环境提高了人类的生产力。 二战后期, 城市化从25%增长到75%。

那么电子革命又是如何呢? 这是一台早期的电脑。 电脑的主架产于1942年, 到了1960年,人类有了电话账单,银行对账单, 这些都是由电脑打印出来的。 最早的手机,个人电脑 都出现于1970年代。 1980年代出现了比尔盖茨,磁盘操作系统(DOS), 自动取款机取代了银行出纳员, 条纹扫描削减了销售行业的劳动力。 到了90年代, 我们有了网络革命。 在生产率有了短暂的提高。

但现在我要给大家展现一个实验, 你只能选择A或者B (笑声) A选项是:你拥有十年前的所有发明, 其中包括谷歌,亚马逊网站, 维基百科,自来水,室内洗手间。 B选项是:你拥有直到昨天之前历史上的所有发明, 这其中包括:脸谱网,苹果手机, 但是你必须舍弃一些,你只能到屋外上厕所, 必须要自己挑水。 台风桑迪使许多人好几天都 无法使用20世纪的新发明, 在受灾更为严重的地区估计要忍受一个多礼拜, 电力,自来水,暖气,汽车所需的汽油 苹果手机的充电器。

我们所面临的的问题是:所有这些伟大的发明 都给未来的创新带来挑战。 我的预测就是:我们不能研制出比这些还要伟大的发明, 这就使得我们从2%的增长速度 拉回到0.2%的增长速度,也就是我最开始的时候所画的那条曲线。

所以,我们又回到了最开始的马和敞篷车。 我想给20世纪的所有发明家 颁发奥斯卡奖, 这些伟人包括亚历山大·格雷厄姆·贝尔(电话发明者) 一直到托马斯·爱迪生,一直到怀特兄弟。 我想把他们都邀请到台上来, 然后他们将向你们发问: 你们的发明能比得过我们的发明么?

谢谢。

掌声。

Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

Transcribed by Joseph Geni
Reviewed by Morton Bast

0:11 That's how we traveled in the year 1900. That's an open buggy. It doesn't have heating. It doesn't have air conditioning. That horse is pulling it along at one percent of the speed of sound, and the rutted dirt road turns into a quagmire of mud anytime it rains. That's a Boeing 707. Only 60 years later, it travels at 80 percent of the speed of sound, and we don't travel any faster today because commercial supersonic air travel turned out to be a bust.

0:43 So I started wondering and pondering, could it be that the best years of American economic growth are behind us? And that leads to the suggestion, maybe economic growth is almost over. Some of the reasons for this are not really very controversial. There are four headwinds that are just hitting the American economy in the face. They're demographics, education, debt and inequality. They're powerful enough to cut growth in half. So we need a lot of innovation to offset this decline. And here's my theme: Because of the headwinds, if innovation continues to be as powerful as it has been in the last 150 years, growth is cut in half. If innovation is less powerful, invents less great, wonderful things, then growth is going to be even lower than half of history.

1:37 Now here's eight centuries of economic growth. The vertical axis is just percent per year of growth, zero percent a year, one percent a year, two percent a year. The white line is for the U.K., and then the U.S. takes over as the leading nation in the year 1900, when the line switches to red. You'll notice that, for the first four centuries, there's hardly any growth at all, just 0.2 percent. Then growth gets better and better. It maxes out in the 1930s, '40s and '50s, and then it starts slowing down, and here's a cautionary note. That last downward notch in the red line is not actual data. That is a forecast that I made six years ago that growth would slow down to 1.3 percent. But you know what the actual facts are? You know what the growth in per-person income has been in the United States in the last six years? Negative.

2:28 This led to a fantasy. What if I try to fit a curved line to this historical record? I can make the curved line end anywhere I wanted, but I decided I would end it at 0.2, just like the U.K. growth for the first four centuries. Now the history that we've achieved is that we've grown at 2.0 percent per year over the whole period, 1891 to 2007, and remember it's been a little bit negative since 2007. But if growth slows down, instead of doubling our standard of living every generation, Americans in the future can't expect to be twice as well off as their parents, or even a quarter [more well off than] their parents. Now we're going to change and look at the level of per capita income. The vertical axis now is thousands of dollars in today's prices. You'll notice that in 1891, over on the left, we were at about 5,000 dollars. Today we're at about 44,000 dollars of total output per member of the population. Now what if we could achieve that historic two-percent growth for the next 70 years? Well, it's a matter of arithmetic. Two-percent growth quadruples your standard of living in 70 years. That means we'd go from 44,000 to 180,000. Well, we're not going to do that, and the reason is the headwinds.

3:52 The first headwind is demographics. It's a truism that your standard of living rises faster than productivity, rises faster than output per hour, if hours per person increased. And we got that gift back in the '70s and '80s when women entered the labor force. But now it's turned around. Now hours per person are shrinking, first because of the retirement of the baby boomers, and second because there's been a very significant dropping out of the labor force of prime age adult males who are in the bottom half of the educational distribution.

4:26 The next headwind is education. We've got problems all over our educational system despite Race to the Top. In college, we've got cost inflation in higher education that dwarfs cost inflation in medical care. We have in higher education a trillion dollars of student debt, and our college completion rate is 15 points, 15 percentage points below Canada. We have a lot of debt. Our economy grew from 2000 to 2007 on the back of consumers massively overborrowing. Consumers paying off that debt is one of the main reasons why our economic recovery is so sluggish today. And everybody of course knows that the federal government debt is growing as a share of GDP at a very rapid rate, and the only way that's going to stop is some combination of faster growth in taxes or slower growth in entitlements, also called transfer payments. And that gets us down from the 1.5, where we've reached for education, down to 1.3.

5:33 And then we have inequality. Over the 15 years before the financial crisis, the growth rate of the bottom 99 percent of the income distribution was half a point slower than the averages we've been talking about before. All the rest went to the top one percent. So that brings us down to 0.8. And that 0.8 is the big challenge. Are we going to grow at 0.8? If so, that's going to require that our inventions are as important as the ones that happened over the last 150 years. So let's see what some of those inventions were.

6:09 If you wanted to read in 1875 at night, you needed to have an oil or a gas lamp. They created pollution, they created odors, they were hard to control, the light was dim, and they were a fire hazard. By 1929, electric light was everywhere. We had the vertical city, the invention of the elevator. Central Manhattan became possible. And then, in addition to that, at the same time, hand tools were replaced by massive electric tools and hand-powered electric tools, all achieved by electricity.

6:47 Electricity was also very helpful in liberating women. Women, back in the late 19th century, spent two days a week doing the laundry. They did it on a scrub board. Then they had to hang the clothes out to dry. Then they had to bring them in. The whole thing took two days out of the seven-day week. And then we had the electric washing machine. And by 1950, they were everywhere. But the women still had to shop every day, but no they didn't, because electricity brought us the electric refrigerator.

7:20 Back in the late 19th century, the only source of heat in most homes was a big fireplace in the kitchen that was used for cooking and heating. The bedrooms were cold. They were unheated. But by 1929, certainly by 1950, we had central heating everywhere.

7:37 What about the internal combustion engine, which was invented in 1879? In America, before the motor vehicle, transportation depended entirely on the urban horse, which dropped, without restraint, 25 to 50 pounds of manure on the streets every day together with a gallon of urine. That comes out at five to 10 tons daily per square mile in cities. Those horses also ate up fully one quarter of American agricultural land. That's the percentage of American agricultural land it took to feed the horses. Of course, when the motor vehicle was invented, and it became almost ubiquitous by 1929, that agricultural land could be used for human consumption or for export. And here's an interesting ratio: Starting from zero in 1900, only 30 years later, the ratio of motor vehicles to the number of households in the United States reached 90 percent in just 30 years.

8:41 Back before the turn of the century, women had another problem. All the water for cooking, cleaning and bathing had to be carried in buckets and pails in from the outside. It's a historical fact that in 1885, the average North Carolina housewife walked 148 miles a year carrying 35 tons of water. But by 1929, cities around the country had put in underground water pipes. They had put in underground sewer pipes, and as a result, one of the great scourges of the late 19th century, waterborne diseases like cholera, began to disappear. And an amazing fact for techno-optimists is that in the first half of the 20th century, the rate of improvement of life expectancy was three times faster than it was in the second half of the 19th century.

9:39 So it's a truism that things can't be more than 100 percent of themselves. And I'll just give you a few examples. We went from one percent to 90 percent of the speed of sound. Electrification, central heat, ownership of motor cars, they all went from zero to 100 percent. Urban environments make people more productive than on the farm. We went from 25 percent urban to 75 percent by the early postwar years.

10:07 What about the electronic revolution? Here's an early computer. It's amazing. The mainframe computer was invented in 1942. By 1960 we had telephone bills, bank statements were being produced by computers. The earliest cell phones, the earliest personal computers were invented in the 1970s. The 1980s brought us Bill Gates, DOS, ATM machines to replace bank tellers, bar code scanning to cut down on labor in the retail sector. Fast forward through the '90s, we had the dotcom revolution and a temporary rise in productivity growth.

10:43 But I'm now going to give you an experiment. You have to choose either option A or option B. (Laughter) Option A is you get to keep everything invented up till 10 years ago. So you get Google, you get Amazon, you get Wikipedia, and you get running water and indoor toilets. Or you get everything invented to yesterday, including Facebook and your iPhone, but you have to give up, go out to the outhouse, and carry in the water. Hurricane Sandy caused a lot of people to lose the 20th century, maybe for a couple of days, in some cases for more than a week, electricity, running water, heating, gasoline for their cars, and a charge for their iPhones.

11:23 The problem we face is that all these great inventions, we have to match them in the future, and my prediction that we're not going to match them brings us down from the original two-percent growth down to 0.2, the fanciful curve that I drew you at the beginning.

11:40 So here we are back to the horse and buggy. I'd like to award an Oscar to the inventors of the 20th century, the people from Alexander Graham Bell to Thomas Edison to the Wright Brothers, I'd like to call them all up here, and they're going to call back to you. Your challenge is, can you match what we achieved?

12:01 Thank you.

12:02 (Applause)