Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

Translated by Lam Bentham
Reviewed by Michael Ge 葛叔

0:22 如果呢臺機器可以做運動,意味著乜野? 我哋即將演示機器運動能力的概念 同埋到中段研究成果 借助呢啲人稱四旋翼飛行器,或者簡稱四旋翼, 嘅飛行機器來演示

0:37 四旋翼已經面世好耐咯 佢地最近大熱嘅原因 喺它們嘅機械原理簡單, 只要控制呢四個螺旋槳嘅轉速, 呢啲小機器就可以側翻、俯仰、偏航, 仲可以喺任一方向加速。 呢臺野有電池、微型電腦、 各種傳感器同無線電收發器

0:58 四旋翼好靈活,不過凡事有正反面。 佢地天生唔夠穩定,所以佢地需要某種形式嘅 自動反饋控制,嚟保證自己可以上天。

1:15 於是,點可以飛得咁穩呢? 好多攝像頭安裝喺天花板,連接落一部筆記本電腦 就好似室內嘅全球定位系統。 用嚟定位空間入面嘅物體 物體上都有呢種反光標記 定位數據會發送去另一台筆記本電腦 然後執行計算同控制算法 搞掂運算,再發送控制指令去四旋翼 四旋翼都同時運行計算同控制算法 我們研究的重點就是算法。 算法是賦予呢啲機器嘅魔法。

1:47 於是如果有人設計出一種算法 可以製造機器運動員嘅話,會點? 我哋利用“模型化基礎設計”嘅方法 我哋首先利用數學模型 獲取機器運動嘅物理數據。 然後用數學理論嘅一種細分學科 叫做控制理論,嚟分析呢啲模型 同時合成算法嚟控制呢啲機器。 例如,我哋咁樣控制呢啲四軸飛行器 首先,用一系列微分方程 捕獲佢嘅動作數據 藉助控制理論,我哋控制呢啲方程式 令電腦自主生成算法,嚟穩定四軸飛行器

2:22 我嚟演示下呢種方法嘅厲害啦 假設我哋希望呢嘅四旋翼保定穩碌棍 唔單止懸停系到 经过簡單練習 人類就可以做到 虽然我哋比四旋翼有優勢 我哋可以雙腿著地 有好靈活嘅手 但咁样就有啲艱難 譬如我金雞獨立 甚至唔用手 注意碌棍頭頂有反光標記 用嚟定位碌棍嘅空間座標

3:03 (掌声)

3:09 大家可以睇到呢台四旋翼一直系到微調 嚟保持碌棍嘅平衡 我哋要點樣設計算法先搞得掂? 我哋增加佐碌棍嘅數學模型 入四旋翼到 只要我哋個模型可以連接四旋翼同碌棍 就可以利用控制理論嚟建立控制算法 睇下,穩如泰山, 就算我頂佢一下 都會翻到去最佳平衡點

3:39 我哋仲可以強化模型,加入 四旋翼嘅預定空間定位座標 用呢條指揮棒,注意棒上有反光標記 就可以點四旋翼去任何我希望嘅位置 而且同我保持既定距離。 呢啲特技動作嘅關鍵系算法 算法依靠數學模型 同控制理論嚟設計 等我指部四旋翼翻嚟先 放低碌棍 然後我再演示下 理解物理模型 同現世界運作規律嘅重要性 注意四軸嘅高度下降咗唔少 就系我放杯水上去嘅時候 唔似碌平衡棍,我無系四旋翼系統到 加入杯水嘅數學模型 事實上,系統根本唔知道杯水系四旋翼頭頂 同之前一樣,我可以用指揮棒老點四旋翼 去呢個空間內嘅任何位置 (掌聲)

5:04 宜家,大家可能會問緊自己 點解玻璃杯嘅水唔會倒出離? 原因有貳:第壹,系重力壹視同仁咁 作用系所有物體到 第貳,系所有螺旋槳都指向同一個方向 同玻璃杯方向一样,向上 呢兩點加埋一齊,結果就系 杯水其它方向嘅作用力都太弱 主要系俾空氣動力效應控制 因此呢啲速度都可以忽略 亦因此,你無必要為玻璃杯搞個數學模型 無論四旋翼做啲乜,水都唔會潑出離

5:49 (掌聲)

5:56 呢到想講嘅系,某啲高性能任務 簡單過其它任務 同埋,理解问题背后嘅物理本质 可以話你聽邊樣簡單邊樣難 呢個例子裏面,四旋翼頂住杯水飛就簡單 平衡碌棍就難

6:13 我哋都聽過運動員嘅故事 雖然身有傷殘,都可以完成壯舉 咁機器可唔可以系負傷情況下 仍然運作? 傳統觀念認為,你要飛 起碼要四套馬達同螺旋槳 因為要控制四個自由度 滾轉、俯仰、偏航同加速度 六軸同八軸飛行器,分別有六個、八個螺旋槳 可以提供安全余量 但系四軸更加受歡迎 因為佢有最小數量嘅 馬達同螺旋槳組合:四套 咁系咪呢? 如果我哋只用兩個螺旋槳 分析呢臺機器嘅數學模型 我哋發現有種奇特嘅方式可以令佢飛起嚟 我哋唔可以控制偏航 但系滾轉、俯仰同加速度仲可以控制 只要算法可以处理呢种新嘅配置 数学模型精确咁话我哋知几时 点解呢種飛法嘅可能性 呢個例子到,同樣知識可以令我哋設計出 全新嘅機器結構 或者優雅應對損害嘅聰明算法 就同人類運動員一樣 而無須建造有安全餘量嘅機器

7:51 我哋一定會停止呼吸 當我哋睇到跳水運動員空翻入水 或撐杆跳運動員在空中翻轉 并快速著地 跳水嘅可否成功壓住水花? 撐杆跳嘅著地掂唔掂? 假設我哋希望呢臺四軸 表演三個空翻,然後停系 佢原來嘅位置 呢個動作做起身,快到 我哋用唔到定位反饋信息嚟糾正執行過程嘅動作 時間根本唔夠 所以,四旋翼只能夠盲目執行動作 睇下自己點樣完成呢個動作 然後利用呢個信息去修改自己嘅動作記錄 令到下一個翻轉好啲 類似跳水同撐杆跳運動員 只有通過反復練習 先可以學好動作 並且做到最好

8:45 (掌聲)

8:50 好多運動入面,擊打運動嘅波系一項好必要技能 我哋點樣令機器做到 運動員好隨便就做到嘅動作?

9:14 (掌聲)

9:21 呢部四旋翼個頭綁佐個球拍 最有效擊球點同蘋果差唔多大,啱啱好 接落嚟嘅計算頻率大概系20毫秒一次 亦即系每秒50次 我哋首先計算到個波飛去邊 跟住計算四旋翼要點樣打波 於是四旋翼就飛去個波嘅計算位置 第三步,計算出一條 從四旋翼到擊球點嘅飛行軌跡 第四步,我哋只執行上幾個程序20毫秒 20毫秒過去,重複以上成個程序 直到四旋翼打到個波

10:06 (掌聲)

10:09 機器唔單止可以獨立做以上動作 仲可以一齊嚟 呢三部四旋翼就一齊帶住個球網飛

10:27 (掌聲)

10:32 區地做佐個非常迅速 非常合作嘅動作 嚟丟翻個波俾我 注意咯,個網全部打開個陣,呢啲四旋翼全部豎直 (掌聲) 實際上,當個網全部打開 會產生大約5倍於笨豬跳 最低點嘅力量

11:02 做一齊打波動作嘅算法好簡單 類似一部四旋翼打波 利用數學模型持續計算 合作策略,每秒計算50次

11:15 我哋目前睇到嘅所有野 都有關機器同佢地能力 如果我哋將機器嘅運動能力 同人類結合,會點呢? 系我面前嘅系一部商業姿態傳感器 主要用於遊戲 佢可以實時識別我身體 唔同部位嘅動作 同我之前用指揮棒相似 我可以用呢個傳感器當成系統嘅輸入設備 我地宜家就有一種用手勢以及簡單動作 同四旋翼互動嘅自然方式

12:21 (掌聲)

12:34 互動唔單止咁虛擬,都可以好實際 以呢部四旋翼為例 佢想停系呢個空間嘅固定位置 如果我要整開佢,佢會抵抗我 然後翻去佢中意嘅位置到 然而,我哋可以改變呢種行為 我哋可以用數學模型 去估算我用系四旋翼上面嘅力 只要我哋知道呢個力,就可以改變物理規則 當然系對四軸而言 依家四旋翼就好似系 粘性流體到

13:13 我哋依家可以好親密咁 同機器互動 我會用呢種新能力將 帶住攝像頭嘅四旋翼放系適當位置 嚟錄埋後面嘅演示

13:35 於是我哋可以同呢啲四旋翼有實體互動 都可以改變物理規則 等我哋嚟玩下 接落嚟,你會睇到呢啲四旋翼 一開始,就好似系冥王星咁輕飄飄 隨住時間增加,引力亦都加大 直到恢復地球引力為止 但系我向你保證我哋唔會有事 OK,開始 (笑聲) (笑聲) (掌聲) 呼! 你地一定諗緊 呢啲野好鬼好玩 你都可能會問自己 點解佢地要做機械運動員? 有人覺得,就好似野生動物玩遊戲 用嚟磨練技藝同能力 其他人諗,遊戲更應該喺社會角色性質 可以聚合團體 同樣,我哋模擬類比咗運動本身及其能力 嚟創造新嘅機器算法 將機器嘅潛能發揮到極致 機器嘅速度對我哋嘅生活方式有咩影響? 同我哋以前所有嘅創造發明一樣 佢地可能用嚟改善人類嘅生活條件 都可能俾人誤用同濫用 我哋面對嘅,唔喺技術選擇 而喺社會選擇 等我哋做個正確選擇 喺未來最大限度咁發揮機器優點 就好似運動能力 可以最大限度咁發揮我哋嘅優秀潛能 等我介紹你哋綠色幕簾后嘅魔法師 佢地喺飛行器競技場研究小組嘅現任成員 (掌聲) Federico Augugliaro, Dario Brescianini, Markus Hehn, Sergei Lupashin, Mark Muller 同 Robin Ritz 記得留意佢地,佢地必定有偉大成就 多謝大家 (掌聲)

Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

Transcribed by Joseph Geni
Reviewed by Morton Bast

0:22 So what does it mean for a machine to be athletic? We will demonstrate the concept of machine athleticism and the research to achieve it with the help of these flying machines called quadrocopters, or quads, for short.

0:37 Quads have been around for a long time. The reason that they're so popular these days is because they're mechanically simple. By controlling the speeds of these four propellers, these machines can roll, pitch, yaw, and accelerate along their common orientation. On board are also a battery, a computer, various sensors and wireless radios.

0:58 Quads are extremely agile, but this agility comes at a cost. They are inherently unstable, and they need some form of automatic feedback control in order to be able to fly.

1:15 So, how did it just do that? Cameras on the ceiling and a laptop serve as an indoor global positioning system. It's used to locate objects in the space that have these reflective markers on them. This data is then sent to another laptop that is running estimation and control algorithms, which in turn sends commands to the quad, which is also running estimation and control algorithms. The bulk of our research is algorithms. It's the magic that brings these machines to life.

1:47 So how does one design the algorithms that create a machine athlete? We use something broadly called model-based design. We first capture the physics with a mathematical model of how the machines behave. We then use a branch of mathematics called control theory to analyze these models and also to synthesize algorithms for controlling them. For example, that's how we can make the quad hover. We first captured the dynamics with a set of differential equations. We then manipulate these equations with the help of control theory to create algorithms that stabilize the quad.

2:22 Let me demonstrate the strength of this approach. Suppose that we want this quad to not only hover but to also balance this pole. With a little bit of practice, it's pretty straightforward for a human being to do this, although we do have the advantage of having two feet on the ground and the use of our very versatile hands. It becomes a little bit more difficult when I only have one foot on the ground and when I don't use my hands. Notice how this pole has a reflective marker on top, which means that it can be located in the space.

3:03 (Applause)

3:09 You can notice that this quad is making fine adjustments to keep the pole balanced. How did we design the algorithms to do this? We added the mathematical model of the pole to that of the quad. Once we have a model of the combined quad-pole system, we can use control theory to create algorithms for controlling it. Here, you see that it's stable, and even if I give it little nudges, it goes back to the nice, balanced position.

3:39 We can also augment the model to include where we want the quad to be in space. Using this pointer, made out of reflective markers, I can point to where I want the quad to be in space a fixed distance away from me. The key to these acrobatic maneuvers is algorithms, designed with the help of mathematical models and control theory. Let's tell the quad to come back here and let the pole drop, and I will next demonstrate the importance of understanding physical models and the workings of the physical world. Notice how the quad lost altitude when I put this glass of water on it. Unlike the balancing pole, I did not include the mathematical model of the glass in the system. In fact, the system doesn't even know that the glass of water is there. Like before, I could use the pointer to tell the quad where I want it to be in space. (Applause)

5:04 Okay, you should be asking yourself, why doesn't the water fall out of the glass? Two facts: The first is that gravity acts on all objects in the same way. The second is that the propellers are all pointing in the same direction of the glass, pointing up. You put these two things together, the net result is that all side forces on the glass are small and are mainly dominated by aerodynamic effects, which as these speeds are negligible. And that's why you don't need to model the glass. It naturally doesn't spill no matter what the quad does.

5:49 (Applause)

5:56 The lesson here is that some high-performance tasks are easier than others, and that understanding the physics of the problem tells you which ones are easy and which ones are hard. In this instance, carrying a glass of water is easy. Balancing a pole is hard.

6:13 We've all heard stories of athletes performing feats while physically injured. Can a machine also perform with extreme physical damage? Conventional wisdom says that you need at least four fixed motor propeller pairs in order to fly, because there are four degrees of freedom to control: roll, pitch, yaw and acceleration. Hexacopters and octocopters, with six and eight propellers, can provide redundancy, but quadrocopters are much more popular because they have the minimum number of fixed motor propeller pairs: four. Or do they? If we analyze the mathematical model of this machine with only two working propellers, we discover that there's an unconventional way to fly it. We relinquish control of yaw, but roll, pitch and acceleration can still be controlled with algorithms that exploit this new configuration. Mathematical models tell us exactly when and why this is possible. In this instance, this knowledge allows us to design novel machine architectures or to design clever algorithms that gracefully handle damage, just like human athletes do, instead of building machines with redundancy.

7:51 We can't help but hold our breath when we watch a diver somersaulting into the water, or when a vaulter is twisting in the air, the ground fast approaching. Will the diver be able to pull off a rip entry? Will the vaulter stick the landing? Suppose we want this quad here to perform a triple flip and finish off at the exact same spot that it started. This maneuver is going to happen so quickly that we can't use position feedback to correct the motion during execution. There simply isn't enough time. Instead, what the quad can do is perform the maneuver blindly, observe how it finishes the maneuver, and then use that information to modify its behavior so that the next flip is better. Similar to the diver and the vaulter, it is only through repeated practice that the maneuver can be learned and executed to the highest standard.

8:45 (Applause)

8:50 Striking a moving ball is a necessary skill in many sports. How do we make a machine do what an athlete does seemingly without effort?

9:14 (Applause)

9:21 This quad has a racket strapped onto its head with a sweet spot roughly the size of an apple, so not too large. The following calculations are made every 20 milliseconds, or 50 times per second. We first figure out where the ball is going. We then next calculate how the quad should hit the ball so that it flies to where it was thrown from. Third, a trajectory is planned that carries the quad from its current state to the impact point with the ball. Fourth, we only execute 20 milliseconds' worth of that strategy. Twenty milliseconds later, the whole process is repeated until the quad strikes the ball.

10:06 (Applause)

10:09 Machines can not only perform dynamic maneuvers on their own, they can do it collectively. These three quads are cooperatively carrying a sky net.

10:27 (Applause)

10:32 They perform an extremely dynamic and collective maneuver to launch the ball back to me. Notice that, at full extension, these quads are vertical. (Applause) In fact, when fully extended, this is roughly five times greater than what a bungee jumper feels at the end of their launch.

11:02 The algorithms to do this are very similar to what the single quad used to hit the ball back to me. Mathematical models are used to continuously re-plan a cooperative strategy 50 times per second.

11:15 Everything we have seen so far has been about the machines and their capabilities. What happens when we couple this machine athleticism with that of a human being? What I have in front of me is a commercial gesture sensor mainly used in gaming. It can recognize what my various body parts are doing in real time. Similar to the pointer that I used earlier, we can use this as inputs to the system. We now have a natural way of interacting with the raw athleticism of these quads with my gestures.

12:21 (Applause)

12:34 Interaction doesn't have to be virtual. It can be physical. Take this quad, for example. It's trying to stay at a fixed point in space. If I try to move it out of the way, it fights me, and moves back to where it wants to be. We can change this behavior, however. We can use mathematical models to estimate the force that I'm applying to the quad. Once we know this force, we can also change the laws of physics, as far as the quad is concerned, of course. Here the quad is behaving as if it were in a viscous fluid.

13:13 We now have an intimate way of interacting with a machine. I will use this new capability to position this camera-carrying quad to the appropriate location for filming the remainder of this demonstration.

13:35 So we can physically interact with these quads and we can change the laws of physics. Let's have a little bit of fun with this. For what you will see next, these quads will initially behave as if they were on Pluto. As time goes on, gravity will be increased until we're all back on planet Earth, but I assure you we won't get there. Okay, here goes.

14:04 (Laughter)

14:33 (Laughter)

14:36 (Applause) Whew! You're all thinking now, these guys are having way too much fun, and you're probably also asking yourself, why exactly are they building machine athletes? Some conjecture that the role of play in the animal kingdom is to hone skills and develop capabilities. Others think that it has more of a social role, that it's used to bind the group. Similarly, we use the analogy of sports and athleticism to create new algorithms for machines to push them to their limits. What impact will the speed of machines have on our way of life? Like all our past creations and innovations, they may be used to improve the human condition or they may be misused and abused. This is not a technical choice we are faced with; it's a social one. Let's make the right choice, the choice that brings out the best in the future of machines, just like athleticism in sports can bring out the best in us.

15:35 Let me introduce you to the wizards behind the green curtain. They're the current members of the Flying Machine Arena research team. (Applause) Federico Augugliaro, Dario Brescianini, Markus Hehn, Sergei Lupashin, Mark Muller and Robin Ritz. Look out for them. They're destined for great things.

15:53 Thank you.

15:55 (Applause)