Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

Translated by Yi Shao
Reviewed by James Yu

0:11 我十七岁开始从事记者工作 这在当时可是一个有趣的工作, 因为正如你们所知,媒体行业经历着巨变, 你们大多数是从商业层面 来看这些事情,如这个产业 媒体的经济状况十分糟糕,就像我祖父的说的, 利润都被谷歌独吞了。

0:31 所以在这个时代做记者是个有趣的差事, 不过我所关心的巨变不是输出端方面的。 而是输入端。我关注的是我们 如何获取信息和收集新闻。 事情已经发生了变化,因为权力 由新闻机构 交到了听众的手上。 长期以来观众 没有任何手段影响新闻行业 或带来改变。他们无法与媒体建立联系。 如今改变已经不可逆转。

0:58 我最早接触新闻媒体 是在1984年,那时候BBC员工罢工一天。 我很不开心。我非常愤怒。我看不到动画片了。 所以我写了一封信。 在愤怒的信中用“爱你的四岁观众Markham”来结尾相当有效。 如今也仍然有效。 我不知道我是否影响了那个为期一天的罢工, 不过我知道的是他们三周之后才给我回复。 一去一来,一个人 想要引起媒体的注意并得到反馈需要这么长时间。 现在的情况与从前截然不同,因为 如今的记者和观众实时互动。我们不能等着 观众对新闻作出反应。 现在是我们对观众的行为作出反应,并且我们依赖于此。 他们正帮助我们找到新闻。他们正帮助我们 找到解读新闻的最好角度,以及什么才是他们最想听的。 这种互动是实时的。速度快很多 这将一直。 发展下去,而记者只是充当一个追逐者的角色。

1:55 请允许我举一个记者依赖观众获取新闻的例子, 9月5日哥斯达黎加发生了地震。 7.6级,相当大的地震。 地震波用了60秒的时间 传到250公里之外的马那瓜(尼加拉瓜共和国首都)。 所以,马那瓜的地面在震中发生地震60秒之后开始颤抖。 三十秒后,推特上出现了第一条有关地震的消息, 有人发了“temblor”这样一条信息,意思就是地震。 地震波的物理传播 花了60秒。 30秒之后地震的消息就 可以即时传遍全球。理论上 世界上所有人都有可能知道 马那瓜正在发生地震。 这些都是因为这个人有纪实报道的直觉, 公布现有的最新状态, 这就是我们现在都在做的一件事, 于是,凡是有什么事情发生, 我们就更新自己的状态,或者发布一张照片, 一段视频,这些信息源源不断的被上传到云存储。

2:50 这就意味着持续的, 海量的数据出现。 数据流量实际上非常惊人。如果你用数字来计算的话, 每分钟有72小时以上的新视频 被上传到YouTube。 也就是说,每分钟YouTube上都会出现一小时以上的新视频。 照片方面,每秒钟有58张新照片被上传到Instagram, 每秒钟Facebook上则会出现三千五百张以上的新照片。 也就是说,我今天的演讲结束之后, YouTube上就多出了864小时的新视频, Facebook和Instagram上则多出了二百五十万张新照片。

3:24 因此,现在做记者真的非常有趣 因为理论上,我们的信息源头无处不在。 我可以即时免费了解 任何时间发生在世界上任何地方的任何事情。 这一点在座的每一位也都可以做到。

3:41 唯一的问题是,面对大量信息时, 如何找到有价值的内容 筛选大量信息其实相当困难。 飓风桑迪袭击美国期间,这一现象尤为明显。 飓风桑迪是一次难得一见的 超级风暴 它袭击了浩淼宇宙中的iPhone之都(笑声) 因此出现了大量我们以前从未见过的媒体素材。 因此,记者必须分辨真伪, 我们要辨别重新发布的老照片 用以前风暴的照片 合成的图片。 来自电影《后天》的图片。(笑声) 以及那些看起来非常真实、 难以辨别真伪的图片。 (笑声)

4:29 玩笑之外,有一些照片,比如Instagram上的这张, 经历了记者们反复的调查和核实。 他们不能确定这张照片的真伪。它在Instagram上遭到了过滤。 有人认为光线有问题。几乎个个方面都遭到了质疑。 最终,这张图片被证明是真实的。它来自 曼哈顿市中心被水淹的C大街(Avenue C)。 记者判断照片真实的理由是 他们找到了照片的来源 这张照片的拍摄者是纽约的美食博客写手。 他们都备受尊敬、有一定知名度的作者。 所以这张照片不是冒牌货,记者们可以证明它的真实性。 这就是记者的工作,在大量的信息中进行甄选工作。 记者不是寻找信息然后将它们传达给大众 记者所作的是截住 那些有可能造成伤害的不良信息。

5:06 找到信息的来源――找到可靠的信息来源 变得越来越重要――现在大部分记者都从推特入手。 推特就是一个实时的新闻网络, 如果你知道如何利用它,就可以从上面获得大量的信息。

5:19 2011年的埃及革命就是一个很好的例子 不过它同时证明了从推特获取信息的优势和困难。 对于一个在都柏林关注局势发展的、 不会说阿拉伯语的人来说, 推特上有很多好的信息来源 找到可靠的信息来源是非常重要的。 我们如何从茫茫的信息海洋中甄选出这样一个名单呢? 这相当有难度,但只要找对方法就可以实现。 意大利学者 André Pannison 创造了这个效果图。 他集中了侯塞尼・穆巴拉克辞职的那一天 来自解放广场的推特消息 这些点都是转发 如果有人转发了某一条消息,两个点就会建立联系, 一条信息被转发的次数越多 就会有越来越多的点出现,越来越多的联系建立。 这是一种将推特互动视觉化的出色方式, 可以从中看出哪些人发布的信息更意思 哪些人值得调查。 随着互动的规模越来越大 状态越来越活跃 你就会找到这些互动中重要的、有规律的线索。 你可以找到这个点 然后决定,“好,我要去调查一下这些人。 这些的消息看起来似乎相对可靠。 让我们来看看他们都是何方神圣。”

6:28 现在在信息的洪流中 实时网络对于记者来说愈发有趣, 因为现在我们拥有比以往任何时候都更加丰富的工具 来做此类调查。 调查信息来源的工作 也可以比以往深入许多。

6:44 有时候你会遇到非常吸引人的素材 你非常想采用它, 但因为不确定来源是否可靠 有所顾忌。 你不知道该素材是不是假的,不知道它是不是以前的内容被重新上传。 你必须进行调查。 我即将为你们播放的这个视频 是几周之前发现的。

7:04 视频:风一下变的非常大。

7:06 (风雨声)

7:11 (爆炸)哦,天啊!

7:14 Markham Nolan:好了,如果你是新闻制作人 你就会想要使用这段素材,这个视频非常棒。 这里面有一个人的自然反应, 视频在后院拍摄,也相当真实。 要怎么找到拍摄者呢? 这个视频到底是真是假,是不是有人把老的内容重新上传到网上呢?

7:31 所以我们开始对这段视频进行核实 一开始我们掌握的唯一信息就是一个YouTube的用户名。 用户名是Rita Krill, 这个账户也只上传过一个视频。 我们不知道Rita是否真的存在还是仅仅是一个假名。 所以我们利用免费的因特网工具开始调查。 寻找Rita Krills的时候我们用到的第一个工具是Spokeo。 我们在全美范围内搜索叫Rita Krills的人 在纽约、宾夕法尼亚、内华达和弗罗里达都有发现。 接下来我们使用了第二个名叫 Wolfram Alpha的免费网络工具, 查到了视频上传当天各地的天气, 依次检查过所有有Rita Krill居住的城市之后, 我们发现弗罗里达那天有雷暴和大雨。 然后我们找到电话簿开始查询 在其中找到好几个Rita Krills的地址 我们在谷歌地图上 检索了她们的地址,并且找到了一幢类似的房子。 这座房子也有游泳池 很Rita的十分相似。我们再次观看视频 寻找可以对照的线索。 仔细看视频的话你就会发现这里有一把很大的遮阳伞, 游泳池里有一个白色的气垫, 游泳池的角形状比较特别, 背景里有两棵树。 我们再次打开谷歌地图,仔细核对 这是白色的气垫 这是两棵树 这是遮阳伞。在这找图片里这把伞没有撑开。 所以不容易看出来。这是游泳池有弧度的角。 随后我们致电Rita,核实真伪, 确定是她拍摄了这段视频, 随后我们的客户就可以放心的使用这条素材了。

8:58 有时候追寻真相没有这么轻松, 而是会带来深远的后果。 我们一直对叙利亚很感兴趣 你经常需要甄别那些可能构成 战争犯罪证据的素材 在这一方面,YouTube确实存储了 全世界范围内的大量时事信息。

9:20 接下来这个视频画面相当血腥 所以我就不完整播放了,不过你们可以听到声音。 这个事件发生在哈马(叙利亚西部城市)。 播放视频:(喊叫声) 这个视频的完整版记录的是 人们从小货车上卸下血淋淋的尸体 然后从桥上扔进河里。 有传言说这些人来自穆斯林联盟 正在将叙利亚军队士官的尸体 从桥上扔下去,一边扔嘴里还在诅咒,说一些渎神的话, 但是,关于他们的身份,以及视频对他们的表现是否真实 都有人持不同意见。

9:53 所以我们找到了一些曾经在推特上和我们交流的线人 问他们对这个视频有什么看法, 我们对这座桥特别感兴趣,因为它相对容易辨识。 三个线人对这座桥作出了不同的判断。 第一个人说这座桥根本不存在。 第二个人说这座桥确实存在,但是不在哈马,在其它地方。 第三个人说,“我觉得这座桥确实存在, 但是河流上游的堤坝是关闭的, 所以这条河应该是干的,视频与此矛盾。“ 最后一个线人给了我们一些线索。 我们仔细观看视频寻找其他的线索。 我们找到了这种独特的栏杆,可以用来对照辨识。 我们观察了路牙。路牙的影子朝南, 所以这座桥是东西向横跨河流的。 路牙黑白相间。 我们再看这条河,可以发现 西边有混凝土石,水中有一滩血迹。 从血迹可以看出这条河 从南向北流动。我们从视频中提炼出了这些信息。 从桥上看出去 可以发现何的左岸有一块草皮, 而且河流的宽度显著缩小。

10:50 所以我们用谷歌地图 开始检查每一座桥。 我们找到线人提到的水坝 然而检查每一次道路与河流相交的地方, 划掉那些不符合描述的桥梁。 我们要找东西向横跨河流的桥。 我们从大坝一直检查到哈马 都没有找到符合要求的桥梁。 所以我们又继续努力。我们用卫星图像对照 找到了一座桥,与所有描述一一对应。 这座桥东西向横跨河流。 所以很可能就是视频里那座。我们放大视图。 我们能看到中线,所以这是一座两车道的桥。 和视频中一样,它的人行道也是黑白相间的 再点击一下,我们发现有人上传了 桥的照片,大大方便了我们的工作, 我们打开这些照片, 找到了更多可以与视频对照的细节。 我们第一个看到的就是这黑白相间的路牙, 很有价值,因为我们之前也找到过类似的证据。 我们看到那些人扔尸体时 越过的、花纹独特的栏杆。 进一步的比较对照证明这就是我们要找的那座桥。

11:52 这样的结果对我有什么意义呢?我现在必须 重新看看我的三个线人都给我提供了什么样的信息: 一个说桥不存在 一个说桥不在哈马 还有一个说”是的,有这座桥,但是我不确定现在水位如何。“ 现在第三个人看起来最为可靠, 我们坐在都柏林的办公室小隔间里 使用免费的因特网工具 只要二十分钟就可以得出这样的结论。 这是相当有趣的。 尽管网络信息好似洪流 数量非常巨大,筛选越来越难, 但如果你明智的使用网络,就能找到超乎想象的信息。 给我一两条线索,我就能找到 在座各位很多不想被人发现的信息。

12:32 这说明,在这样一个时代 尽管信息前所未有的丰富 过滤越来越难,但我们也拥有更加有力的工具。 免费的网络工具 可以帮助我们开展调查。 智能算法和电脑运算速度 也都发展到了前所未有的高度。

12:50 然而我们必须认识到,算法是一套规则,是建立在二进制的基础上的。 在算法的世界里只有绝对的对错和黑白。 然而真相不是二进制的。真相是一种价值观。 真相涉及人的情感,是多变的,最重要的是,是人性化的。 无论电脑变得多快 无论我们拥有多少信息 我们永远无法把人类排除在寻找真相的过程之外 因为,追寻真相是属于人类的独特品质。 非常感谢。(掌声)

Return to the talk Return to talk
Transcript
Select language

Transcribed by Joseph Geni
Reviewed by Morton Bast

0:11 I've been a journalist now since I was about 17, and it's an interesting industry to be in at the moment, because as you all know, there's a huge amount of upheaval going on in media, and most of you probably know this from the business angle, which is that the business model is pretty screwed, and as my grandfather would say, the profits have all been gobbled up by Google.

0:31 So it's a really interesting time to be a journalist, but the upheaval that I'm interested in is not on the output side. It's on the input side. It's concern with how we get information and how we gather the news. And that's changed, because we've had a huge shift in the balance of power from the news organizations to the audience. And the audience for such a long time was in a position where they didn't have any way of affecting news or making any change. They couldn't really connect. And that's changed irrevocably.

0:58 My first connection with the news media was in 1984, the BBC had a one-day strike. I wasn't happy. I was angry. I couldn't see my cartoons. So I wrote a letter. And it's a very effective way of ending your hate mail: "Love Markham, Aged 4." Still works. I'm not sure if I had any impact on the one-day strike, but what I do know is that it took them three weeks to get back to me. And that was the round journey. It took that long for anyone to have any impact and get some feedback. And that's changed now because, as journalists, we interact in real time. We're not in a position where the audience is reacting to news. We're reacting to the audience, and we're actually relying on them. They're helping us find the news. They're helping us figure out what is the best angle to take and what is the stuff that they want to hear. So it's a real-time thing. It's much quicker. It's happening on a constant basis, and the journalist is always playing catch up.

1:55 To give an example of how we rely on the audience, on the 5th of September in Costa Rica, an earthquake hit. It was a 7.6 magnitude. It was fairly big. And 60 seconds is the amount of time it took for it to travel 250 kilometers to Managua. So the ground shook in Managua 60 seconds after it hit the epicenter. Thirty seconds later, the first message went onto Twitter, and this was someone saying "temblor," which means earthquake. So 60 seconds was how long it took for the physical earthquake to travel. Thirty seconds later news of that earthquake had traveled all around the world, instantly. Everyone in the world, hypothetically, had the potential to know that an earthquake was happening in Managua. And that happened because this one person had a documentary instinct, which was to post a status update, which is what we all do now, so if something happens, we put our status update, or we post a photo, we post a video, and it all goes up into the cloud in a constant stream.

2:50 And what that means is just constant, huge volumes of data going up. It's actually staggering. When you look at the numbers, every minute there are 72 more hours of video on YouTube. So that's, every second, more than an hour of video gets uploaded. And in photos, Instagram, 58 photos are uploaded to Instagram a second. More than three and a half thousand photos go up onto Facebook. So by the time I'm finished talking here, there'll be 864 more hours of video on Youtube than there were when I started, and two and a half million more photos on Facebook and Instagram than when I started.

3:24 So it's an interesting position to be in as a journalist, because we should have access to everything. Any event that happens anywhere in the world, I should be able to know about it pretty much instantaneously, as it happens, for free. And that goes for every single person in this room.

3:41 The only problem is, when you have that much information, you have to find the good stuff, and that can be incredibly difficult when you're dealing with those volumes. And nowhere was this brought home more than during Hurricane Sandy. So what you had in Hurricane Sandy was a superstorm, the likes of which we hadn't seen for a long time, hitting the iPhone capital of the universe -- (Laughter) -- and you got volumes of media like we'd never seen before. And that meant that journalists had to deal with fakes, so we had to deal with old photos that were being reposted. We had to deal with composite images that were merging photos from previous storms. We had to deal with images from films like "The Day After Tomorrow." (Laughter) And we had to deal with images that were so realistic it was nearly difficult to tell if they were real at all. (Laughter)

4:29 But joking aside, there were images like this one from Instagram which was subjected to a grilling by journalists. They weren't really sure. It was filtered in Instagram. The lighting was questioned. Everything was questioned about it. And it turned out to be true. It was from Avenue C in downtown Manhattan, which was flooded. And the reason that they could tell that it was real was because they could get to the source, and in this case, these guys were New York food bloggers. They were well respected. They were known. So this one wasn't a debunk, it was actually something that they could prove. And that was the job of the journalist. It was filtering all this stuff. And you were, instead of going and finding the information and bringing it back to the reader, you were holding back the stuff that was potentially damaging.

5:06 And finding the source becomes more and more important -- finding the good source -- and Twitter is where most journalists now go. It's like the de facto real-time newswire, if you know how to use it, because there is so much on Twitter.

5:19 And a good example of how useful it can be but also how difficult was the Egyptian revolution in 2011. As a non-Arabic speaker, as someone who was looking from the outside, from Dublin, Twitter lists, and lists of good sources, people we could establish were credible, were really important. And how do you build a list like that from scratch? Well, it can be quite difficult, but you have to know what to look for. This visualization was done by an Italian academic. He's called André Pannison, and he basically took the Twitter conversation in Tahrir Square on the day that Hosni Mubarak would eventually resign, and the dots you can see are retweets, so when someone retweets a message, a connection is made between two dots, and the more times that message is retweeted by other people, the more you get to see these nodes, these connections being made. And it's an amazing way of visualizing the conversation, but what you get is hints at who is more interesting and who is worth investigating. And as the conversation grew and grew, it became more and more lively, and eventually you were left with this huge, big, rhythmic pointer of this conversation. You could find the nodes, though, and then you went, and you go, "Right, I've got to investigate these people. These are the ones that are obviously making sense. Let's see who they are."

6:28 Now in the deluge of information, this is where the real-time web gets really interesting for a journalist like myself, because we have more tools than ever to do that kind of investigation. And when you start digging into the sources, you can go further and further than you ever could before.

6:44 Sometimes you come across a piece of content that is so compelling, you want to use it, you're dying to use it, but you're not 100 percent sure if you can because you don't know if the source is credible. You don't know if it's a scrape. You don't know if it's a re-upload. And you have to do that investigative work. And this video, which I'm going to let run through, was one we discovered a couple of weeks ago.

7:04 Video: Getting real windy in just a second.

7:06 (Rain and wind sounds)

7:11 (Explosion) Oh, shit!

7:14 Markham Nolan: Okay, so now if you're a news producer, this is something you'd love to run with, because obviously, this is gold. You know? This is a fantastic reaction from someone, very genuine video that they've shot in their back garden. But how do you find if this person, if it's true, if it's faked, or if it's something that's old and that's been reposted?

7:31 So we set about going to work on this video, and the only thing that we had to go on was the username on the YouTube account. There was only one video posted to that account, and the username was Rita Krill. And we didn't know if Rita existed or if it was a fake name. But we started looking, and we used free Internet tools to do so. The first one was called Spokeo, which allowed us to look for Rita Krills. So we looked all over the U.S. We found them in New York, we found them in Pennsylvania, Nevada and Florida. So we went and we looked for a second free Internet tool called Wolfram Alpha, and we checked the weather reports for the day in which this video had been uploaded, and when we went through all those various cities, we found that in Florida, there were thunderstorms and rain on the day. So we went to the white pages, and we found, we looked through the Rita Krills in the phonebook, and we looked through a couple of different addresses, and that took us to Google Maps, where we found a house. And we found a house with a swimming pool that looked remarkably like Rita's. So we went back to the video, and we had to look for clues that we could cross-reference. So if you look in the video, there's the big umbrella, there's a white lilo in the pool, there are some unusually rounded edges in the swimming pool, and there's two trees in the background. And we went back to Google Maps, and we looked a little bit closer, and sure enough, there's the white lilo, there are the two trees, there's the umbrella. It's actually folded in this photo. Little bit of trickery. And there are the rounded edges on the swimming pool. So we were able to call Rita, clear the video, make sure that it had been shot, and then our clients were delighted because they were able to run it without being worried.

8:58 Sometimes the search for truth, though, is a little bit less flippant, and it has much greater consequences. Syria has been really interesting for us, because obviously a lot of the time you're trying to debunk stuff that can be potentially war crime evidence, so this is where YouTube actually becomes the most important repository of information about what's going on in the world.

9:20 So this video, I'm not going to show you the whole thing, because it's quite gruesome, but you'll hear some of the sounds. This is from Hama. Video: (Shouting) And what this video shows, when you watch the whole thing through, is bloody bodies being taken out of a pickup truck and thrown off a bridge. The allegations were that these guys were Muslim Brotherhood and they were throwing Syrian Army officers' bodies off the bridge, and they were cursing and using blasphemous language, and there were lots of counterclaims about who they were, and whether or not they were what the video said it was.

9:53 So we talked to some sources in Hama who we had been back and forth with on Twitter, and we asked them about this, and the bridge was interesting to us because it was something we could identify. Three different sources said three different things about the bridge. They said, one, the bridge doesn't exist. Another one said the bridge does exist, but it's not in Hama. It's somewhere else. And the third one said, "I think the bridge does exist, but the dam upstream of the bridge was closed, so the river should actually have been dry, so this doesn't make sense." So that was the only one that gave us a clue. We looked through the video for other clues. We saw the distinctive railings, which we could use. We looked at the curbs. The curbs were throwing shadows south, so we could tell the bridge was running east-west across the river. It had black-and-white curbs. As we looked at the river itself, you could see there's a concrete stone on the west side. There's a cloud of blood. That's blood in the river. So the river is flowing south to north. That's what that tells me. And also, as you look away from the bridge, there's a divot on the left-hand side of the bank, and the river narrows.

10:50 So onto Google Maps we go, and we start looking through literally every single bridge. We go to the dam that we talked about, we start just literally going through every time that road crosses the river, crossing off the bridges that don't match. We're looking for one that crosses east-west. And we get to Hama. We get all the way from the dam to Hama and there's no bridge. So we go a bit further. We switch to the satellite view, and we find another bridge, and everything starts to line up. The bridge looks like it's crossing the river east to west. So this could be our bridge. And we zoom right in. We start to see that it's got a median, so it's a two-lane bridge. And it's got the black-and-white curbs that we saw in the video, and as we click through it, you can see someone's uploaded photos to go with the map, which is very handy, so we click into the photos. And the photos start showing us more detail that we can cross-reference with the video. The first thing that we see is we see black-and-white curbing, which is handy because we've seen that before. We see the distinctive railing that we saw the guys throwing the bodies over. And we keep going through it until we're certain that this is our bridge.

11:52 So what does that tell me? I've got to go back now to my three sources and look at what they told me: the one who said the bridge didn't exist, the one who said the bridge wasn't in Hama, and the one guy who said, "Yes, the bridge does exist, but I'm not sure about the water levels." Number three is looking like the most truthful all of a sudden, and we've been able to find that out using some free Internet tools sitting in a cubicle in an office in Dublin in the space of 20 minutes. And that's part of the joy of this. Although the web is running like a torrent, there's so much information there that it's incredibly hard to sift and getting harder every day, if you use them intelligently, you can find out incredible information. Given a couple of clues, I could probably find out a lot of things about most of you in the audience that you might not like me finding out.

12:32 But what it tells me is that, at a time when there's more -- there's a greater abundance of information than there ever has been, it's harder to filter, we have greater tools. We have free Internet tools that allow us, help us do this kind of investigation. We have algorithms that are smarter than ever before, and computers that are quicker than ever before.

12:50 But here's the thing. Algorithms are rules. They're binary. They're yes or no, they're black or white. Truth is never binary. Truth is a value. Truth is emotional, it's fluid, and above all, it's human. No matter how quick we get with computers, no matter how much information we have, you'll never be able to remove the human from the truth-seeking exercise, because in the end, it is a uniquely human trait. Thanks very much. (Applause)