Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

Translated by Khalid Marbou
Reviewed by Anwar Dafa-Alla

0:11 حسنا، الآلة التي سأحدثكم عنها هي ما أدعوه بأعظم آلة في التاريخ. إنها آلة لم يتم قط بناؤها، ومع ذلك، سيتم بناؤها. لقد كانت آلة تم تصميمها لفترة طويلة قبل أن يفكر أحد في الحواسيب.

0:22 إن كنتم تعرفون أي شيء عن تاريخ الحواسيب، ستعرفون أنه في الثلاثينيات والأربعينيات تم إنشاء الحواسيب البسيطة التي بدأت ثورة الحواسيب التي نراها اليوم، وستكونون محقين، باستثناء أنه ستكونون قد فكرتم في القرن الخاطئ. أول حاسوب قد تم تصميمه فعلا في ثلاثينيات وأربعينيات القرن التاسع عشر، وليس في القرن الماضي. لقد تم تصميمه، وتمت نمذجة أجزاء منه، وقطعه التي تمت صناعتها موجودة هنا في جنوب كنسينغتون.

0:48 تلك الآلة بناها هذا الرجل، تشارلز باباج. الآن، لدي وجه شبه عظيم مع تشارلز باباج لأن شعره يكون دائما أشعت هكذا في كل صورة. (ضحك) لقد كان رجلا فاحش الثراء، ونوعا ما، جزء من الطبقة الأرستقراطية في بريطانيا، وفي ليلة يوم أحد في ماريليبون، وإن كنت جزء من النخبة المثقفة في تلك الحقبة، ستتم دعوتك لهذا المنزل لأمسية — وقد دعا الجميع: الملوك، دوق ولينغتون والعديد من المشاهير — وقد يعرض عليك أحد آلاته الميكانيكية.

1:17 أحن حقا إلى تلك الحقبة، تعرفون، حيث يمكنكم التوجه إلى أمسية ورؤية الحاسوب الميكانيكي يعرض عليك. (ضحك) لكن باباج، باباج نفسه قد ولد في نهاية القرن الثامن عشر، وقد كان عالم رياضيات مشهورا. وقد كان يشغل منصبا كان نيوتن قد شغله في كامبردج، والذي قد شغله مؤخرا ستيفن هوكينغ. وهو أقل شهرة من أي منهما لأنه جاء بفكرة صناعة أجهزة حوسبة ميكانيكية ولم يصنع أيا منها.

1:45 والسبب الذي منعه من صناعة أي منها، هو أنه مهووس قراءة كلاسيكي. في كل مرة تخطر بباله فكرة جيدة، فهو يفكر، "ذلك أمر رائع، سأقوم ببدء بناء تلك. سأصرف عليها ثروة. لدي فكرة أفضل. سأشتغل على هذه الفكرة. (ضحك) وسأقوم بإنجاز هذه." وقد دأب على القيام بذلك إلى أن قام السير روبرت بيل، رئيس الوزراء آنذاك، بطرده من عنوان رقم 10 شارع داونينغ، وطرده آنذاك كان يعني قول، "طاب يومك سيدي." (ضحك)

2:07 ما قام بتصميمه كان هذه الآلة الضخمة هنا، المحرك التحليلي. الآن، فقط لإعطائكم فكرة حول هذا، هذه نظرة علوية. كل واحدة من هذه الدوائر هي مسننة، حزمة من المسننات، وهذا الشيء بقدر ضخامة قاطرة بخار. لذا، وأنا أمضي في هذه المحادثة، أريد منكم أن تتخيلوا هذه الآلة الضخمة. لقد سمعنا تلك الأصوات المذهلة للأصوات التي كانت لتصدر عن هذه الآلة. وسأقوم بأخذكم حول معمارية الآلة — لذلك تمت تسميتها معمارية الحاسوب — وأخبركم حول هذه الآلة، والتي هي حاسوب.

2:34 لذا، دعونا نتحدث عن الذاكرة. الذاكرة هي مثل ذاكرة الحاسوب اليوم، باستثناء أنها كانت مصنوعة كليا من المعدن، أكوام وأكوام من المسننات، بعلو 30 مسننة. تخيلوا شيء بهذا العلو من المسننات، مئات ومئات منها، كتبت عليها أرقام. إنها آلة عشرية. كل شيء يتم بنظام عشري. وقد فكر في استخدام النظام الثنائي. المشكل في استخدام النظام الثنائي هو أن الآلة كانت لتكون فارعة الطول، كانت لتبدو سخيفة. وهي بتلك الضخامة. وبالتالي فهي تتوفر على ذاكرة. والذاكرة هي تلك القطعة هناك. تراها كلها هكذا.

3:07 هذه البشاعة هنا هي المعالج، الرقاقة، إن شئتم. وبالطبع هي بهذا الحجم. ميكانيكية بالكامل. الآلة بأكملها ميكانيكية. هذه صورة لنموذج أولي لجزء من المعالج الموجود في متحف العلوم.

3:23 ويستطيع المعالج إجراء العمليات الحسابية الأربعة الأساسية -- أي الجمع والضرب والطرح والقسمة -- والتي في حد ذاتها تعتبر إنجازا في المعدن، لكنها تستطيع كذلك القيام بشيء يقوم به الحاسوب ولا تستطيعه الآلة الحاسبة: هذه الآلة تستطيع النظر داخل ذاكرتها الداخلية وتتخذ قرارا. تستطيع تنفيذ أمر "إذا كان .. فإن" للمبرمجين الأساسيين، وهذا جعلها أساسا حاسوبا. تستطيع الحوسبة. لا تستطيع فقط الحساب. تستطيع القيام بأكثر من ذلك.

3:50 الآن إن نظرنا إلى هذا، وتوقفنا لدقيقة، وفكرنا في الرقائق اليوم، لا نستطيع النظر داخل رقاقة سيليكون. فهي غاية في الدقة. وحتى لو قمت بذلك، سترى شيء مشابها جدا لهذا. هناك تعقيد مذهل في المعالج، وهذا الانتظام المذهل في الذاكرة. إذا نظرت إلى صورة بالمجهر الإلكتروني سترون هذا. كل هذا يبدو متشابها، وبالتالي فهذه القطعة هنا معقدة بشكل لا يصدق.

4:14 وآلية العجلة المسننة هذه بأكملها تقوم بما يقوم به الحاسوب، لكن بالطبع ستحتاج لبرمجة هذا الشيء، وبالطبع، قد استخدم باباج التكنولوجيا المتاحة والتكنولوجيا التي ستعود للظهور في الخمسينيات والستينيات والسبعينيات، والتي هي البطاقات المثقبة. هذا الشيء هنا هو أحد ثلاث قارئات بطاقات مثقبة هنا، وهذا برنامج في متحف العلوم، غير بعيد من هنا، أنشأه تشارلز باباج، والذي يوجد هناك — يمكنكم الذهاب لرؤيته — في انتظار بناء الآلة. وليس هناك واحد منها فقط، هناك الكثير منها. لقد قام بتحضير برامج متوقع حدوث هذا.

4:51 الآن، السبب الذي جعلهم يستخدمون البطاقات المثقبة كان أن جاكارد، في فرنسا، قد أنشأ منسج جاكارد، والذي كان ينسج هذه الأنماط المتحكم فيها باستخدام البطاقات المثقبة، وبالتالي كان فقط يقوم بإعادة توظيف التكنولوجيا آنذاك، ومثل كل شيء آخر قام به، فهو يستخدم تكنولوجيا حقبته، أي ثلاثينيات وأربعينيات وخمسينيات القرن 18، المسننات والبخار، أجهزة ميكانيكية. والتي، ومن سخرية الأمر، فقد ولد في نفس السنة التي ولد فيها تشارلز باباج، مايكل فاراداي، والذي سيحدث ثورة في كل شيء بالمولد الكهربائي والمحولات وأشياء من هذا القبيل. لكن باباج، بالطبع، أراد استخدام تكنولوجيا موثوقة، أي البخار وما إلى ذلك.

5:24 الآن، فقد احتاج إلى ملحقات. وبالطبع، لديك حاسوب الآن. ولديك بطاقات مثقبة ومعالج وذاكرة. تحتاج إلى ملحقات تأتي بها. لن تتوفر فقط على ذلك،

5:33 لذا، قبل كل شيء، كان لديك صوت. كان هناك جرس، لذا إن حصل أي خطأ — (ضحك) — أو إن احتاجت الآلة إلى مجيء الخادم إليها، كان هناك جرس يمكن قرعه. (ضحك) وهناك في الواقع تعليمات على البطاقة المثقبة تقل "اقرع الجرس." وبالتالي يمكنكم تخيل ذلك الصوت "تينغ!" تعرفون، توقفوا للحظة فقط، وتخيلوا كل تلك الأصوات، هذا الشيء، "كليك، كلاك كليك كليك كليك،" المحرك البخاري، "دينغ،" صحيح (ضحك)

5:53 تحتاج كذلك إلى طابعة، وبالتأكيد، يحتاج الجميع إلى طابعة. هذه في الواقع صورة لآلية الطباعة لآلة أخرى له، تدعى محرك الفرق رقم 2، والتي لم يقم قط ببنائها، لكن متحف العلوم بناها في الثمانينيات والتسعينيات، وهي بدورها طابعة ميكانيكية بالكامل. تقوم فقط بطباعة الأرقام، لأنه كان مهووسا بالأرقام، لكنها تطبع على الورق، وتقوم حتى بلف الكلمات، وبالتالي إن وصلتم إلى نهاية السطر، تلتف حوله هكذا.

6:16 تحتاج كذلك إلى رسومات، أليس كذلك؟ أقصد، إن كنتم ستقومون بأي شيء باستخدام الرسومات، فقال، "حسنا، أحتاج إلى رسام . أحتاج إلى قطعة ورق كبيرة وإلى قلم حبر وسأجعله يرسم." فقام بتصميم الرسام كذلك، وتعرفون، آنذاك قد حصل على آلة جيدة للغاية.

6:31 ثم جاءت هذه المرأة، أدا لافليس. الآن، تخيلوا هذه الأمسيات، كل هؤلاء العظام والخبراء يجتمعون. هذه الآنسة هي ابنة المجنون والسيء السمعة والخطير معرفته: اللورد بايرون، ووالدتها، كانت شيء ما قلقة من أنها قد تكون ورثت بعضا من جنون وسوء اللورد بايرون، ففكرت، "أعرف الحل: الرياضيات هي الحل. سنعلمها الرياضيات. وذلك سيهدئ من روعها." (ضحك) لأنه بالطبع، لم يحصل قط أن أصيب عالم رياضيات بالجنون، وبالتالي، تعرفون، سيكون ذلك حسنا. (ضحك) سيكون كل شيء على ما يرام. فحصلت على التدريب في الرياضيات، وذهبت إلى إحدى هذه الأمسيات مع أمها، فقام تشارلز باباج، كما تعرفون، بإخراج آلته. ودوق ولينغتون موجود هناك، كما تعرفون، أخرج الآلة، وقام بالطبع بعرضها، فاستوعبت الأمر. وقد كانت الشخص الوحيد في حياته، الذي قال، "أفهم ما يقوم به هذا، وأدرك مستقبل هذه الآلة." ونحن مدينون لها كثيرا لأننا نعرف الكثير عن الآلة التي كان باباج ينوي بناءها بسببها.

7:31 الآن، بعض الناس يدعونها أول مبرمجة. وهذا في الواقع مأخوذ من إحدى الوثائق التي ترجمتها. هذا برنامج مكتوب بصيغة خاصة. وتاريخيا، ليس دقيقا بالكامل أنها أول من برمج، وفي الواقع، لقد قامت بشيء أكثر إذهالا. وبدل كونها مجرد مبرمجة، فقد رأت شيء أغفله باباج.

7:50 باباج كان مهووسا بالكامل بالرياضيات. لقد كان يبني آلة للقيام بالرياضيات، وقد قالت لوفلاس، "يمكنك القيام بأكثر من الرياضيات باستخدام هذه الآلة." وتماما كما تفعلون، كل من يوجد هنا يحمل معه حاسوبا الآن، لأنه لديهم هاتف. إن فتحتم ذلك الهاتف، كل شيء في ذلك الهاتف أو الحاسوب أو أي جهاز حوسبة آخر هو رياضيات. كلها أرقام في العمق. سواء كانت فيديو أو نصا أو موسيقى أو صوتا، هي كلها أرقام، هي كلها، تكمن وراءها دوال رياضية تحدث، وتقول لوفلاس، "فقط لأنك تقوم بإجراء دوال ورموز رياضياتية لا يعني أن تلك الأشياء لا تمثل أشياء أخرى في العالم الحقيقي، كالموسيقى." هذه كانت قفزة هائلة، لأن باباج كان يقول، "نستطيع حوسبة هذه الدوال المذهلة وطباعة جداول أرقام ورسم مبيانات،" — (ضحك) — ولوفلاس كانت تقول، "انظر، هذا الشيء يمكنه عزف الموسيقى إن أخبرته بتمثيل رقمي للموسيقى." وهذا ما أدعوه بقفزة لولافلاس. حين تقول أنها مبرمجة، فقد قامت ببعض ذلك، لكن الأمر الحقيقي هو أنها قالت أن المستقبل سيكون أكثر من هذا بكثير.

9:00 الآن، بعد مئة سنة، يأتي هذا الرجل، آلان تورينج وفي سنة 1936 ويخترع الحاسوب من جديد. الآن، وبالطبع، آلة باباج كانت ميكانيكية بالكامل. آلة تورينج كانت نظرية بالكامل. كلا الرجلين كانوا يتحدثون من منظور رياضياتي، وقد أخبرنا تورينج بشيء مهم للغاية. وقد وضع الأساس الرياضياتي لعلوم الحاسوب، وقال، "لا يهم كيف تصنع حاسوبا." لا يهم إن كان حاسوبك ميكانيكيا، مثل حاسوب باباج، أو إلكترونيا مثل الحواسيب اليوم، أو ربما في المستقبل، خليويا، أو مرة أخرى، ميكانيكيا، بعد دخولنا إلى النانوتكنولوجيا. قد نعود إلى آلة باباج فنقوم فقط بجعلها دقيقة. كل تلك الأشياء هي حواسيب. هناك إدراك، إدراك حاسوبي. وهذه تدعى بأطروحة تشيرج ـــ تورينج.

9:46 وهكذا فجأة، تصل إلى هذا الرابط حين تقول ما بناه باباج قد كان فعلا حاسوبا. في الواقع، كان قادرا على القيام بكل ما نقوم به اليوم بالحواسيب، فقط بشكل أبطأ بكثير. (ضحك) لإعطائكم فكرة عن مدى بطئه، لقد كان يتوفر على ذاكرة بسعة 1 كيلو. وقد استخدم بطاقات مثقبة، يتم تغذيته بها، وقد اشتغل بشكل أبطأ ب 10,000 مرة من أول ZX81. قد توفر على حزمة ذاكرة RAM. يمكنك إضافة الكثير جدا من الذاكرة إن أردت ذلك.

10:18 (ضحك) إذن، إلى أين أوصلنا ذلك اليوم؟ هناك مخططات. في سويندون في أرشيفات متحف العلوم، هناك المئات من المخططات والآلاف من الصفحات من الملاحظات المكتوبة من طرف تشارلز باباج حول هذا المحرك التحليلي. أحدها هو مجموعة من الخطط نسميه الخطة 28، وهو كذلك إسم لهيئة خيرية أنشأتها مع دورون سواد، والذي كان القيم على الحوسبة في متحف العلوم، ونفس الشخص الذي قاد مشروع بناء محرك الفرق، ونحن نخطط لبنائه. هنا في جنوب كنسينغتون، سنقوم ببناء المحرك التحليلي.

10:49 والمشروع مقسم إلى عدد من الأجزاء. أحدها كان مسح أرشيف باباج. وقد تم ذلك. الثاني الآن هو دراسة كل تلك المخططات لتحديد ما سنبنيه. والجزء الثالث هو محاكاة حاسوبية لتلك الآلة، والجزء الأخير هو بناؤه فعليا في المتحف العلمي.

11:06 حين سيبنى، ستستطيعون أخيرا فهم كيفية اشتغال الحاسوب، لأنه بدل التوفر على رقاقة دقيقة أمامكم، عليكم أن تنظروا إلى هذا الشكل المتجانس وتقولوا، "آه أرى الذاكرة تشتغل، أرى المعالج يشتغل، أسمعه يشتغل. وربما أشمه وهو يشتغل." (ضحك) لكن خلال ذلك سنجري محاكاة.

11:23 باباج نفسه كتب يقول، بمجرد وجود المحرك التحليلي، سيقوم بالتأكيد بتوجيه المسار المستقبلي للعلوم. وبالطبع، فهو لم يبنه قط، لأنه كان دائما يعبث بمخططات جديدة، لكن حين تم بناؤه، بالطبع، في الأربعينيات، تغير كل شيء.

11:38 الآن، سأعطيكم لمحة عما يبدو عليه وهو يتحرك بفيديو يعرض جزء واحدا فقط من آلية المعالج تشتغل. وبالتالي فهذه فقط 3 مجموعات من المسننات، وستقوم بالجمع. هذه آلية الجمع وهي تعمل، وبالتالي تتخيل هذه الآلة الضخمة.

11:58 لذا، أعطوني خمس سنوات. قبل حلول 2030، سنحصل عليه.

12:02 شكرا جزيلا لكم. (تصفيق)

Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

Transcribed by Joseph Geni
Reviewed by Morton Bast

0:11 So the machine I'm going to talk you about is what I call the greatest machine that never was. It was a machine that was never built, and yet, it will be built. It was a machine that was designed long before anyone thought about computers.

0:22 If you know anything about the history of computers, you will know that in the '30s and the '40s, simple computers were created that started the computer revolution we have today, and you would be correct, except for you'd have the wrong century. The first computer was really designed in the 1830s and 1840s, not the 1930s and 1940s. It was designed, and parts of it were prototyped, and the bits of it that were built are here in South Kensington.

0:48 That machine was built by this guy, Charles Babbage. Now, I have a great affinity for Charles Babbage because his hair is always completely unkempt like this in every single picture. (Laughter) He was a very wealthy man, and a sort of, part of the aristocracy of Britain, and on a Saturday night in Marylebone, were you part of the intelligentsia of that period, you would have been invited round to his house for a soiree — and he invited everybody: kings, the Duke of Wellington, many, many famous people — and he would have shown you one of his mechanical machines.

1:17 I really miss that era, you know, where you could go around for a soiree and see a mechanical computer get demonstrated to you. (Laughter) But Babbage, Babbage himself was born at the end of the 18th century, and was a fairly famous mathematician. He held the post that Newton held at Cambridge, and that was recently held by Stephen Hawking. He's less well known than either of them because he got this idea to make mechanical computing devices and never made any of them.

1:45 The reason he never made any of them, he's a classic nerd. Every time he had a good idea, he'd think, "That's brilliant, I'm going to start building that one. I'll spend a fortune on it. I've got a better idea. I'm going to work on this one. (Laughter) And I'm going to do this one." He did this until Sir Robert Peel, then Prime Minister, basically kicked him out of Number 10 Downing Street, and kicking him out, in those days, that meant saying, "I bid you good day, sir." (Laughter)

2:07 The thing he designed was this monstrosity here, the analytical engine. Now, just to give you an idea of this, this is a view from above. Every one of these circles is a cog, a stack of cogs, and this thing is as big as a steam locomotive. So as I go through this talk, I want you to imagine this gigantic machine. We heard those wonderful sounds of what this thing would have sounded like. And I'm going to take you through the architecture of the machine — that's why it's computer architecture — and tell you about this machine, which is a computer.

2:34 So let's talk about the memory. The memory is very like the memory of a computer today, except it was all made out of metal, stacks and stacks of cogs, 30 cogs high. Imagine a thing this high of cogs, hundreds and hundreds of them, and they've got numbers on them. It's a decimal machine. Everything's done in decimal. And he thought about using binary. The problem with using binary is that the machine would have been so tall, it would have been ridiculous. As it is, it's enormous. So he's got memory. The memory is this bit over here. You see it all like this.

3:07 This monstrosity over here is the CPU, the chip, if you like. Of course, it's this big. Completely mechanical. This whole machine is mechanical. This is a picture of a prototype for part of the CPU which is in the Science Museum.

3:23 The CPU could do the four fundamental functions of arithmetic -- so addition, multiplication, subtraction, division -- which already is a bit of a feat in metal, but it could also do something that a computer does and a calculator doesn't: this machine could look at its own internal memory and make a decision. It could do the "if then" for basic programmers, and that fundamentally made it into a computer. It could compute. It couldn't just calculate. It could do more.

3:50 Now, if we look at this, and we stop for a minute, and we think about chips today, we can't look inside a silicon chip. It's just so tiny. Yet if you did, you would see something very, very similar to this. There's this incredible complexity in the CPU, and this incredible regularity in the memory. If you've ever seen an electron microscope picture, you'll see this. This all looks the same, then there's this bit over here which is incredibly complicated.

4:14 All this cog wheel mechanism here is doing is what a computer does, but of course you need to program this thing, and of course, Babbage used the technology of the day and the technology that would reappear in the '50s, '60s and '70s, which is punch cards. This thing over here is one of three punch card readers in here, and this is a program in the Science Museum, just not far from here, created by Charles Babbage, that is sitting there — you can go see it — waiting for the machine to be built. And there's not just one of these, there's many of them. He prepared programs anticipating this would happen.

4:51 Now, the reason they used punch cards was that Jacquard, in France, had created the Jacquard loom, which was weaving these incredible patterns controlled by punch cards, so he was just repurposing the technology of the day, and like everything else he did, he's using the technology of his era, so 1830s, 1840s, 1850s, cogs, steam, mechanical devices. Ironically, born the same year as Charles Babbage was Michael Faraday, who would completely revolutionize everything with the dynamo, transformers, all these sorts of things. Babbage, of course, wanted to use proven technology, so steam and things.

5:24 Now, he needed accessories. Obviously, you've got a computer now. You've got punch cards, a CPU and memory. You need accessories you're going to come with. You're not just going to have that,

5:33 So, first of all, you had sound. You had a bell, so if anything went wrong — (Laughter) — or the machine needed the attendant to come to it, there was a bell it could ring. (Laughter) And there's actually an instruction on the punch card which says "Ring the bell." So you can imagine this "Ting!" You know, just stop for a moment, imagine all those noises, this thing, "Click, clack click click click," steam engine, "Ding," right? (Laughter)

5:53 You also need a printer, obviously, and everyone needs a printer. This is actually a picture of the printing mechanism for another machine of his, called the Difference Engine No. 2, which he never built, but which the Science Museum did build in the '80s and '90s. It's completely mechanical, again, a printer. It prints just numbers, because he was obsessed with numbers, but it does print onto paper, and it even does word wrapping, so if you get to the end of the line, it goes around like that.

6:16 You also need graphics, right? I mean, if you're going to do anything with graphics, so he said, "Well, I need a plotter. I've got a big piece of paper and an ink pen and I'll make it plot." So he designed a plotter as well, and, you know, at that point, I think he got pretty much a pretty good machine.

6:31 Along comes this woman, Ada Lovelace. Now, imagine these soirees, all these great and good comes along. This lady is the daughter of the mad, bad and dangerous-to-know Lord Byron, and her mother, being a bit worried that she might have inherited some of Lord Byron's madness and badness, thought, "I know the solution: Mathematics is the solution. We'll teach her mathematics. That'll calm her down." (Laughter) Because of course, there's never been a mathematician that's gone crazy, so, you know, that'll be fine. (Laughter) Everything'll be fine. So she's got this mathematical training, and she goes to one of these soirees with her mother, and Charles Babbage, you know, gets out his machine. The Duke of Wellington is there, you know, get out the machine, obviously demonstrates it, and she gets it. She's the only person in his lifetime, really, who said, "I understand what this does, and I understand the future of this machine." And we owe to her an enormous amount because we know a lot about the machine that Babbage was intending to build because of her.

7:31 Now, some people call her the first programmer. This is actually from one of -- the paper that she translated. This is a program written in a particular style. It's not, historically, totally accurate that she's the first programmer, and actually, she did something more amazing. Rather than just being a programmer, she saw something that Babbage didn't.

7:50 Babbage was totally obsessed with mathematics. He was building a machine to do mathematics, and Lovelace said, "You could do more than mathematics on this machine." And just as you do, everyone in this room already's got a computer on them right now, because they've got a phone. If you go into that phone, every single thing in that phone or computer or any other computing device is mathematics. It's all numbers at the bottom. Whether it's video or text or music or voice, it's all numbers, it's all, underlying it, mathematical functions happening, and Lovelace said, "Just because you're doing mathematical functions and symbols doesn't mean these things can't represent other things in the real world, such as music." This was a huge leap, because Babbage is there saying, "We could compute these amazing functions and print out tables of numbers and draw graphs," — (Laughter) — and Lovelace is there and she says, "Look, this thing could even compose music if you told it a representation of music numerically." So this is what I call Lovelace's Leap. When you say she's a programmer, she did do some, but the real thing is to have said the future is going to be much, much more than this.

9:00 Now, a hundred years later, this guy comes along, Alan Turing, and in 1936, and invents the computer all over again. Now, of course, Babbage's machine was entirely mechanical. Turing's machine was entirely theoretical. Both of these guys were coming from a mathematical perspective, but Turing told us something very important. He laid down the mathematical foundations for computer science, and said, "It doesn't matter how you make a computer." It doesn't matter if your computer's mechanical, like Babbage's was, or electronic, like computers are today, or perhaps in the future, cells, or, again, mechanical again, once we get into nanotechnology. We could go back to Babbage's machine and just make it tiny. All those things are computers. There is in a sense a computing essence. This is called the Church–Turing thesis.

9:46 And so suddenly, you get this link where you say this thing Babbage had built really was a computer. In fact, it was capable of doing everything we do today with computers, only really slowly. (Laughter) To give you an idea of how slowly, it had about 1k of memory. It used punch cards, which were being fed in, and it ran about 10,000 times slower the first ZX81. It did have a RAM pack. You could add on a lot of extra memory if you wanted to.

10:18 (Laughter) So, where does that bring us today? So there are plans. Over in Swindon, the Science Museum archives, there are hundreds of plans and thousands of pages of notes written by Charles Babbage about this analytical engine. One of those is a set of plans that we call Plan 28, and that is also the name of a charity that I started with Doron Swade, who was the curator of computing at the Science Museum, and also the person who drove the project to build a difference engine, and our plan is to build it. Here in South Kensington, we will build the analytical engine.

10:49 The project has a number of parts to it. One was the scanning of Babbage's archive. That's been done. The second is now the study of all of those plans to determine what to build. The third part is a computer simulation of that machine, and the last part is to physically build it at the Science Museum.

11:06 When it's built, you'll finally be able to understand how a computer works, because rather than having a tiny chip in front of you, you've got to look at this humongous thing and say, "Ah, I see the memory operating, I see the CPU operating, I hear it operating. I probably smell it operating." (Laughter) But in between that we're going to do a simulation.

11:23 Babbage himself wrote, he said, as soon as the analytical engine exists, it will surely guide the future course of science. Of course, he never built it, because he was always fiddling with new plans, but when it did get built, of course, in the 1940s, everything changed.

11:38 Now, I'll just give you a little taste of what it looks like in motion with a video which shows just one part of the CPU mechanism working. So this is just three sets of cogs, and it's going to add. This is the adding mechanism in action, so you imagine this gigantic machine.

11:58 So, give me five years. Before the 2030s happen, we'll have it.

12:02 Thank you very much. (Applause)