Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

Translated by Naninaniyoo Chen
Reviewed by Xiang Li

0:15 很久以前,世界是个很大却不和谐的大家庭 这个家庭被“伟大的”“强大的”家长们主宰着 人们却像是淘气的孩子一样 无望、无助 如果吵闹的孩子们怀疑了 家长的权威,他们就会被责骂 如果孩子们进去探索家长的房间 或是悄悄溜进家长的秘密档案柜,他们就会被狠狠地惩罚 家长会告诉他们,为了孩子自己, 以后再也不要去家长秘密的房间了。

0:48 有一天, 一个人来到了这个小镇 带着一箱一箱的从家长那里偷来的 秘密文件 他说“看看家长们在背后藏了什么” 孩子们吃惊地看到 这些是从会议里得出的绘图和备忘录 而在会议里家长们互相指责对方 他们的行为简直就像小孩一样! 不但这样,他们也会像孩子一样犯错 唯一的不同就是 他们的错误被藏在秘密的档案阁里 镇里有个小女孩,她并不觉得 家长的秘密应该被藏在秘密的档案阁里 即使藏在那里,也必须有法规 允许孩子们知道内容 于是,她开始着手实现这个想法

1:34 对,我就是故事里的小女孩 而我感兴趣的秘密就藏在这栋楼里 那就是英国议会 而我想拿到手的资料就是 下院议员的花费收据 我认为这是在民主社会最基本需要知道的东西。(掌声) 我又不是在要求知道核武器堆的密码 或者类似的。但是,我为了知道这冠上“信息自由”的信息, 可是费了不少的功夫才冲破重重阻碍 其间的困难是你不能预想到的

2:09 我大概用了五年的时间才有今天的结果 而这只是我所提出需要了解的几百种信息的中的一点 不过,我要说,我没有想要 彻底改革英国议会 那根本不是我的意图,我只是在 为了我出第一本书做出的一点努力 但是我确意想不到的打了这么久的官司 经过长达五年 与英国高院三位最杰出法官的较量, 等待他们决定议会是否应该公开这些信息 今天我必须告诉你,原本并不是那么有希望 因为我见证了议会的建立,我觉得 议会做事一般是不透露的。我可能没有运气找到什么吧

2:51 但是,你们猜猜?我胜利了。啊哈!

2:56 呵呵,但我讲述的并不是很完整的故事。因为问题在于, 议会不断地拖延公布这些信息 不仅这样,他们还尝试回溯性地改变这方面的法规 让新法规不再适用于揭露这种信息 之前他们颁布的新“透明”法规对于其他人都适用 他们试着让法规不再适用我的要求 但是他们忘记了在数据数字化上下规定 因为,这些纸质收据 已经被电子扫描过了 所以要复制整个数据库是非常容易的 只需要将数据装入磁盘,然后就可以悠闲地在议会楼外散步了 他们就这样做了,还把装有数据的磁盘卖给了 出价最高的《每日电讯报》 然后,你们记得的, 就有了周周不断地揭露, 从色情电影,浴盆塞,新厨房 到没有还清的抵押贷款 最后的结果呢? 十六个部长辞职了 三百年内第一次有议会发言人被迫辞职 基于对透明化的命令,一个新的政府被选举出来 120个下院议员在那场选举中也无奈下台 至今,四个下院议员和两个勋爵 因为作假进了监狱 谢谢大家(鼓掌)

4:19 我告诉大家这个故事的目的是因为这个现象不只存在于英国 这只是在全球文化冲击的一个例子而已 在世界各地,仍有无数的戴着假面具,藏着无数“秘密” 的官员,而他们总认为 自己能在公众睁一只眼闭一只眼状况下统治人民 但是突然,他们得面对 对这种现状不再满意的民众 民众不仅对官员不满意, 更多时候,还对官方的数据产生怀疑

4:49 我们已经进入了信息的民主化 我已经研究这方面很久了 实话说挺不好意思的,我小时候, 曾经有小小的“间谍”本子 我会悄悄观察邻居们在做什么,然后把它记录下来 或许,那时我的行为 就为我未来职业埋下了伏笔---调查记者 接触这些信息这么久,我发现 这曾只是个小众的兴趣 而现在已经成为主流了。 越来越多的人想知道那些掌权的人们在干什么 他们想要在以他们的名义,用他们的金钱所作的决定中 有发言权。我觉得正是信息民主化 促成这这种信息启蒙 而且它和最初的启蒙运动在原则上有很多相似之处 都在寻找真理 不因为有人说这是真理,“因为我这样说” 不,这是在寻找看得见的, 能被证实的真理 在启蒙运动里,这样的探寻引出了一些疑问 比如国王的权利,国王统治子民的神圣权利 比如女人应该服从男人 再比如教堂就是代表上帝的地方

5:59 显然教会不乐意了 他们想要抑制这样的探索 但他们没预料到科技的能力 有了出版社让这些 想法廉价并迅速地传播到各地 人们聚集到咖啡屋 讨论这些想法,密谋一场信息革命

6:18 现在我们有了数据电子化。这把信息从成堆成堆的状况下解救出来 所以现在拷贝分享信息已近乎零花费 我们的“出版社”就是网络。我们的“咖啡屋”就是社交网络。 我认为,我们已经进入完全连接的世界 我们可以在这个世界做出全球化的决定 做出关于气候,金融系统,以及资源分配的决定 想想吧 如果我们做买房子这样重要的决定 我们不是立即就做决定。虽然我不知道你们会不会, 但在投入大量资金之前我还想多看些房子 如果我们在考虑金融方面的问题 我们也需要很多信息。 如果只让一个人了解很多信息, 再分析信息作出决定,是不现实的

7:08 因此,对获取信息的要求 才越来越多 所以我们才有了那么多的 公开法出现 比如,在环境方面,有《阿尔胡斯公约》 这个欧洲的指令给力人们巨大的信息权 如果你的自来水公司 倒污水到河里 你有权利知道 在金融业,你有更多权利知道 业界进展, 有反贿赂法规,金钱规章, 逐渐增加的公司透明法规,所以现在你可以跨国查看财产了 而私藏财产,逃税,区别薪酬是越来越难了。 这当然很好。 我们开始发现这个系统里面的更多信息

7:55 他们都逐渐走向 完全连接的系统 不过,有一点还没有。你们猜猜是什么? 那就是,这个支持其他系统的系统 这个我们管理运用权力的系统 我说的就是政治,因为在政治中 我们追踪回到了这个至上而下的等级制度 但是要从这个最高等级的系统中完全透明化信息, 可能么? 不,那是行不通的。 我认为这很大一部分就是藏在不同政府的 息合法化危机背后的东西

8:33 我已经告诉了你们一些 我针对议会的做的执意争得信息权利的行动。 那么接下来我会 再讲述一下我认识的一些人 所做的事。

8:44 Seb Bacon这个电脑 工程师做了一个叫 Alaveteli, 它是一个自由的信息平台 它有开放式的文件记录 并且你可以对公共群体提出信息自由的要求 问你想问的问题 这个网站就收集大家的“牢骚” 通过它人们知道有很多都在提出自己的牢骚 你只需要输入你的问题 比如说,“多少警察有犯罪记录?” 然后就会得到对目标的详细关注 你还可以知道时限长度, 追踪通信。一旦你把问题提出来, 它就进入了公众视野 只要你的国家有关于信息自由的法律, 你就可以使用这个公开资源的网站 现在在许多国家,这个网站已经走上正轨 接下来还会在更多国家开始。 如果在座的任何人对此有兴趣, 并且你的国家有相关法律 Seb网站期待与您 和您的国家合作。

9:54 照片上的是Birgitta Jonsdottir,她是冰岛下院议员 一个不寻常的议员。 当冰岛的国家经济临近崩溃时,有许多人在议会外面抗议 她便是其中一员 在改革的要求下,她成功当选 她现在正准备操作这个项目 这就是冰岛现代媒体的行动, 他们刚刚得到了将之做成 一项国际化现代媒体项目的资金, 项目将汇聚全球关于言论自由的法律, 关于保护告发者的法律,关于诽谤罪方面保护的法律 关于资源保护的法律。这样,冰岛将成为出版业的天堂 在这里数据会是自由的 当我们越来越多地思考政府怎样接触使用数据时, 他们就在冰岛建立了这个安全的天堂 让信息自由。

10:45 在我自己的领域里,也就是调查性报道, 我们也在逐渐地思考更全球化的东西 这里有个网站叫做“调查仪表盘”。如果你想要 追踪一个独裁者的资产。比如说,侯赛尼•穆巴拉克(埃及总统) 当他觉得自己有危险了, 他就从自己的国家输送现金, 而你就想知道这些现金的去向。 你会想要知道越来越多的世界上的“秘密” 像公司房屋登记的数据。 这个网站试着把所有数据网罗 到一个地方,只要你搜索,就能找到。 找到他的家属,他的朋友,他的安全服务主管。 你可以清楚看到他正在 从那个国家转移资金。

11:27 但是,当我们谈论到最影响我们的决定, 可能关于类似战争这种 最重要的决定时, 我们又不能只是提出信息自由的要求, 这是很困难的。所以我们仍然需要 依靠非法的方式来获得信息,从漏洞中获得。 当英国卫报做这个关于阿富汗战争的报道时 他们不能就直接走进 国防部,索要全部信息。 这样做的话,是得不到的。 这些信息都来自美国大兵写的 关于阿富汗战争成千上万的急件, 从这些漏洞里知道真相。 这样卫报才成功做了调查。

12:11 另外一个大型的调查是关于全球外交的。 这个调查也来源于 25100个美国的外交电缆里透露的信息。 当时我也参与了调查,因为我 从一个不满的维基解密人里得到了密报, 最后到卫报里工作了。 我能告诉你关于这个漏洞的第一手消息。 那真的是惊人的!真是惊人啊! 这让我想起了《绿野仙踪》里的场景, 当小狗托托 跑过巫师旁边,然后掉头回来, 狗狗拉开了幕布 “不要看屏幕后面!不要看屏幕后面的人!” 因为当你开始看到的是 那些大政治家,那些 浮夸的政治家。他们就和我们一样。 他们会互相说坏话。对,挺多嘴的。 但我觉得这些都需要我们知道。 他们和我们普通人没什么区别。 他们并不是神一样的存在, 没有什么魔法。他们不是我们父母, 除了这些, 我发现最惊奇的是 不同国家的地区性腐败, 特别是围绕权力中心 比如官员们 为了自己的利益,挪用公款。 正是由于官方机密 才造成了这种情况。

13:38 我刚提到了维基解密, 因为,还有比它更加公开的么? 因为朱利安阿桑奇就这么做了。 他并不满意于 新闻安全、合法地发布信息的方式。他把所有的东西都倒出来了。 那的确是让一些易受攻击的阿富汗人被揭发出来 那也表示白俄罗斯独裁者 也面对了一批与美国政府进行过交谈的支持民主 进行过交谈的民主人士。 这是激进派的开放么?我觉得不是, 这不是放弃权利 责任,这只是在和权利同一地位的另一种力量。 这是分享责任,分享义务。 当他因为我从维基解密得到了很多泄密 而威胁要告我,我觉得 那中间产生了巨大的意识主义上 的矛盾。(笑声)

14:36 另外,权利真的很诱惑人。 在你坐上谈判桌,当你 拥有权利时, 你需要有 两种特质, 一,怀疑的态度,二,谦卑的心态。 怀疑是因为你一直会被挑战。 如果你只是说了要这样,我觉得还不够。 我想知道为什么这样,这样的依据是什么? 谦卑是因为我们都是人都会犯错。 如果你不懂得怀疑和谦卑。 那你从改革者变为 独裁者就是一眨眼的事。 你只需要看看《动物庄园 》就会知道权利是怎样宠坏人们的。

15:21 那么怎样解决呢? 我相信那就是有接近信息的法律权力。 现在我们的权力还十分微弱。 在很多国家,我们还有官方保密法。 包括在英国,没有利益测试的 官方保密法还存在。这说明, 如果人们公布或放出官方信息, 会被严厉处罚,这被看成是犯罪。 那当是不是我们想看到的。 大家想想,如果我们有官方披露信息的法案 如果官员们被发现禁止或藏匿 与公众利益有关的信息 他们就会被惩罚 那多好! 对对,这是我的”权力姿势” (鼓掌) 我想要大家都向这个方向做出努力。

16:14 现在并不都是坏消息。 报道中必然有一些进步。 当我们更进一步接近权利中心时, 一些变得更加不透明 我上周才发现伦敦的 都会警察委员说 为什么警察需要得到所有关于 我们通信的信息,在没有司法官制下 侦查我们,他说这关系到生死 他确实这样说的,“这关系到了生死” 但这没有依据的。他并没有告诉我证据 他只是说“因为我这样说了 你必须相信我,用你的信念来接受它。” 抱歉,但是当我们回到 启蒙运动前的教堂 我们都需要制止这样的动作

17:08 而他在谈论一个令人愤怒的 英国通信数据法案啊! 在美国,有网络情报分享和保护法案。 有监控国家的机器 有国家安全机构所 全球最大的间谍中心。就是有这么巨大。 它是美国国会大厦的六倍 在里面,他们拦截并检查他人的 通信、流量,和个人数据 然后找出哪些人是不“和谐”的。

17:40 那么,现在回到我们最初说的故事。 “父母”们开始慌张了,他们锁上门。 他们在房子外面装上闭路相机 他们监视着我们。他们挖了个地下室, 他们修建了间谍中心,研究盘算着 想找出我们之中不“乖”的人, 如果我们中任何人抱怨了,我们会被逮捕,扣上“恐怖分子”的罪名。 那是童话,还是噩梦? 一些童话有美好结局。一些则没有。 大家都读过格林童话吧, 那确实很恐怖。 但我们的世界不是童话。 世界可能比我们会承认的更加残酷。 同样,世界也可能比我们想象的更好。 不过无论是那种,我们需要客观的看到世界的真相, 世界的问题。因为只有通过 清楚地看见世界的真相和问题,我们才能解决这些问题 才能在世界上活的更美好。 (笑声) 谢谢大家! (鼓掌) 谢谢。(鼓掌)

Return to the talk Return to talk
Transcript
Select language

Transcribed by Joseph Geni
Reviewed by Morton Bast

0:15 Once upon a time, the world was a big, dysfunctional family. It was run by the great and powerful parents, and the people were helpless and hopeless naughty children. If any of the more rowdier children questioned the authority of the parents, they were scolded. If they went exploring into the parents' rooms, or even into the secret filing cabinets, they were punished, and told that for their own good they must never go in there again.

0:48 Then one day, a man came to town with boxes and boxes of secret documents stolen from the parents' rooms. "Look what they've been hiding from you," he said. The children looked and were amazed. There were maps and minutes from meetings where the parents were slagging each other off. They behaved just like the children. And they made mistakes, too, just like the children. The only difference was, their mistakes were in the secret filing cabinets. Well, there was a girl in the town, and she didn't think they should be in the secret filing cabinets, or if they were, there ought to be a law to allow the children access. And so she set about to make it so.

1:34 Well, I'm the girl in that story, and the secret documents that I was interested in were located in this building, the British Parliament, and the data that I wanted to get my hands on were the expense receipts of members of Parliament. I thought this was a basic question to ask in a democracy. (Applause) It wasn't like I was asking for the code to a nuclear bunker, or anything like that, but the amount of resistance I got from this Freedom of Information request, you would have thought I'd asked something like this.

2:09 So I fought for about five years doing this, and it was one of many hundreds of requests that I made, not -- I didn't -- Hey, look, I didn't set out, honestly, to revolutionize the British Parliament. That was not my intention. I was just making these requests as part of research for my first book. But it ended up in this very long, protracted legal battle and there I was after five years fighting against Parliament in front of three of Britain's most eminent High Court judges waiting for their ruling about whether or not Parliament had to release this data. And I've got to tell you, I wasn't that hopeful, because I'd seen the establishment. I thought, it always sticks together. I am out of luck.

2:51 Well, guess what? I won. Hooray. (Applause)

2:56 Well, that's not exactly the story, because the problem was that Parliament delayed and delayed releasing that data, and then they tried to retrospectively change the law so that it would no longer apply to them. The transparency law they'd passed earlier that applied to everybody else, they tried to keep it so it didn't apply to them. What they hadn't counted on was digitization, because that meant that all those paper receipts had been scanned in electronically, and it was very easy for somebody to just copy that entire database, put it on a disk, and then just saunter outside of Parliament, which they did, and then they shopped that disk to the highest bidder, which was the Daily Telegraph, and then, you all remember, there was weeks and weeks of revelations, everything from porn movies and bath plugs and new kitchens and mortgages that had never been paid off. The end result was six ministers resigned, the first speaker of the house in 300 years was forced to resign, a new government was elected on a mandate of transparency, 120 MPs stepped down at that election, and so far, four MPs and two lords have done jail time for fraud. So, thank you. (Applause)

4:19 Well, I tell you that story because it wasn't unique to Britain. It was an example of a culture clash that's happening all over the world between bewigged and bestockinged officials who think that they can rule over us without very much prying from the public, and then suddenly confronted with a public who is no longer content with that arrangement, and not only not content with it, now, more often, armed with official data itself.

4:49 So we are moving to this democratization of information, and I've been in this field for quite a while. Slightly embarrassing admission: Even when I was a kid, I used to have these little spy books, and I would, like, see what everybody was doing in my neighborhood and log it down. I think that was a pretty good indication about my future career as an investigative journalist, and what I've seen from being in this access to information field for so long is that it used to be quite a niche interest, and it's gone mainstream. Everybody, increasingly, around the world, wants to know about what people in power are doing. They want a say in decisions that are made in their name and with their money. It's this democratization of information that I think is an information enlightenment, and it has many of the same principles of the first Enlightenment. It's about searching for the truth, not because somebody says it's true, "because I say so." No, it's about trying to find the truth based on what you can see and what can be tested. That, in the first Enlightenment, led to questions about the right of kings, the divine right of kings to rule over people, or that women should be subordinate to men, or that the Church was the official word of God.

5:59 Obviously the Church weren't very happy about this, and they tried to suppress it, but what they hadn't counted on was technology, and then they had the printing press, which suddenly enabled these ideas to spread cheaply, far and fast, and people would come together in coffee houses, discuss the ideas, plot revolution.

6:18 In our day, we have digitization. That strips all the physical mass out of information, so now it's almost zero cost to copy and share information. Our printing press is the Internet. Our coffee houses are social networks. We're moving to what I would think of as a fully connected system, and we have global decisions to make in this system, decisions about climate, about finance systems, about resources. And think about it -- if we want to make an important decision about buying a house, we don't just go off. I mean, I don't know about you, but I want to see a lot of houses before I put that much money into it. And if we're thinking about a finance system, we need a lot of information to take in. It's just not possible for one person to take in the amount, the volume of information, and analyze it to make good decisions.

7:08 So that's why we're seeing increasingly this demand for access to information. That's why we're starting to see more disclosure laws come out, so for example, on the environment, there's the Aarhus Convention, which is a European directive that gives people a very strong right to know, so if your water company is dumping water into your river, sewage water into your river, you have a right to know about it. In the finance industry, you now have more of a right to know about what's going on, so we have different anti-bribery laws, money regulations, increased corporate disclosure, so you can now track assets across borders. And it's getting harder to hide assets, tax avoidance, pay inequality. So that's great. We're starting to find out more and more about these systems.

7:55 And they're all moving to this central system, this fully connected system, all of them except one. Can you guess which one? It's the system which underpins all these other systems. It's the system by which we organize and exercise power, and there I'm talking about politics, because in politics, we're back to this system, this top-down hierarchy. And how is it possible that the volume of information can be processed that needs to in this system? Well, it just can't. That's it. And I think this is largely what's behind the crisis of legitimacy in our different governments right now.

8:33 So I've told you a bit about what I did to try and drag Parliament, kicking and screaming, into the 21st century, and I'm just going to give you a couple of examples of what a few other people I know are doing.

8:44 So this is a guy called Seb Bacon. He's a computer programmer, and he built a site called Alaveteli, and what it is, it's a Freedom of Information platform. It's open-source, with documentation, and it allows you to make a Freedom of Information request, to ask your public body a question, so it takes all the hassle out of it, and I can tell you that there is a lot of hassle making these requests, so it takes all of that hassle out, and you just type in your question, for example, how many police officers have a criminal record? It zooms it off to the appropriate person, it tells you when the time limit is coming to an end, it keeps track of all the correspondence, it posts it up there, and it becomes an archive of public knowledge. So that's open-source and it can be used in any country where there is some kind of Freedom of Information law. So there's a list there of the different countries that have it, and then there's a few more coming on board. So if any of you out there like the sound of that and have a law like that in your country, I know that Seb would love to hear from you about collaborating and getting that into your country.

9:54 This is Birgitta Jónsdóttir. She's an Icelandic MP. And quite an unusual MP. In Iceland, she was one of the protesters who was outside of Parliament when the country's economy collapsed, and then she was elected on a reform mandate, and she's now spearheading this project. It's the Icelandic Modern Media Initiative, and they've just got funding to make it an international modern media project, and this is taking all of the best laws around the world about freedom of expression, protection of whistleblowers, protection from libel, source protection, and trying to make Iceland a publishing haven. It's a place where your data can be free, so when we think about, increasingly, how governments want to access user data, what they're trying to do in Iceland is make this safe haven where it can happen.

10:45 In my own field of investigative journalism, we're also having to start thinking globally, so this is a site called Investigative Dashboard. And if you're trying to track a dictator's assets, for example, Hosni Mubarak, you know, he's just funneling out cash from his country when he knows he's in trouble, and what you want to do to investigate that is, you need to have access to all of the world's, as many as you can, companies' house registrations databases. So this is a website that tries to agglomerate all of those databases into one place so you can start searching for, you know, his relatives, his friends, the head of his security services. You can try and find out how he's moving out assets from that country.

11:27 But again, when it comes to the decisions which are impacting us the most, perhaps, the most important decisions that are being made about war and so forth, again we can't just make a Freedom of Information request. It's really difficult. So we're still having to rely on illegitimate ways of getting information, through leaks. So when the Guardian did this investigation about the Afghan War, you know, they can't walk into the Department of Defense and ask for all the information. You know, they're just not going to get it. So this came from leaks of tens of thousands of dispatches that were written by American soldiers about the Afghan War, and leaked, and then they're able to do this investigation.

12:11 Another rather large investigation is around world diplomacy. Again, this is all based around leaks, 251,000 U.S. diplomatic cables, and I was involved in this investigation because I got this leak through a leak from a disgruntled WikiLeaker and ended up going to work at the Guardian. So I can tell you firsthand what it was like to have access to this leak. It was amazing. I mean, it was amazing. It reminded me of that scene in "The Wizard of Oz." Do you know the one I mean? Where the little dog Toto runs across to where the wizard [is], and he pulls back, the dog's pulling back the curtain, and -- "Don't look behind the screen. Don't look at the man behind the screen." It was just like that, because what you started to see is that all of these grand statesmen, these very pompous politicians, they were just like us. They all bitched about each other. I mean, quite gossipy, those cables. Okay, but I thought it was a very important point for all of us to grasp, these are human beings just like us. They don't have special powers. They're not magic. They are not our parents. Beyond that, what I found most fascinating was the level of endemic corruption that I saw across all different countries, and particularly centered around the heart of power, around public officials who were embezzling the public's money for their own personal enrichment, and allowed to do that because of official secrecy.

13:38 So I've mentioned WikiLeaks, because surely what could be more open than publishing all the material? Because that is what Julian Assange did. He wasn't content with the way the newspapers published it to be safe and legal. He threw it all out there. That did end up with vulnerable people in Afghanistan being exposed. It also meant that the Belarussian dictator was given a handy list of all the pro-democracy campaigners in that country who had spoken to the U.S. government. Is that radical openness? I say it's not, because for me, what it means, it doesn't mean abdicating power, responsibility, accountability, it's actually being a partner with power. It's about sharing responsibility, sharing accountability. Also, the fact that he threatened to sue me because I got a leak of his leaks, I thought that showed a remarkable sort of inconsistency in ideology, to be honest, as well. (Laughs)

14:36 The other thing is that power is incredibly seductive, and you must have two real qualities, I think, when you come to the table, when you're dealing with power, talking about power, because of its seductive capacity. You've got to have skepticism and humility. Skepticism, because you must always be challenging. I want to see why do you -- you just say so? That's not good enough. I want to see the evidence behind why that's so. And humility because we are all human. We all make mistakes. And if you don't have skepticism and humility, then it's a really short journey to go from reformer to autocrat, and I think you only have to read "Animal Farm" to get that message about how power corrupts people.

15:21 So what is the solution? It is, I believe, to embody within the rule of law rights to information. At the moment our rights are incredibly weak. In a lot of countries, we have Official Secrets Acts, including in Britain here. We have an Official Secrets Act with no public interest test. So that means it's a crime, people are punished, quite severely in a lot of cases, for publishing or giving away official information. Now wouldn't it be amazing, and really, this is what I want all of you to think about, if we had an Official Disclosure Act where officials were punished if they were found to have suppressed or hidden information that was in the public interest? So that -- yes. Yes! My power pose. (Applause) (Laughs) I would like us to work towards that.

16:14 So it's not all bad news. I mean, there definitely is progress on the line, but I think what we find is that the closer that we get right into the heart of power, the more opaque, closed it becomes. So it was only just the other week that I heard London's Metropolitan Police Commissioner talking about why the police need access to all of our communications, spying on us without any judicial oversight, and he said it was a matter of life and death. He actually said that, it was a matter of life and death. There was no evidence. He presented no evidence of that. It was just, "Because I say so. You have to trust me. Take it on faith." Well, I'm sorry, people, but we are back to the pre-Enlightenment Church, and we need to fight against that.

17:08 So he was talking about the law in Britain which is the Communications Data Bill, an absolutely outrageous piece of legislation. In America, you have the Cyber Intelligence Sharing and Protection Act. You've got drones now being considered for domestic surveillance. You have the National Security Agency building the world's giantest spy center. It's just this colossal -- it's five times bigger than the U.S. Capitol, in which they're going to intercept and analyze communications, traffic and personal data to try and figure out who's the troublemaker in society.

17:40 Well, to go back to our original story, the parents have panicked. They've locked all the doors. They've kidded out the house with CCTV cameras. They're watching all of us. They've dug a basement, and they've built a spy center to try and run algorithms and figure out which ones of us are troublesome, and if any of us complain about that, we're arrested for terrorism. Well, is that a fairy tale or a living nightmare? Some fairy tales have happy endings. Some don't. I think we've all read the Grimms' fairy tales, which are, indeed, very grim. But the world isn't a fairy tale, and it could be more brutal than we want to acknowledge. Equally, it could be better than we've been led to believe, but either way, we have to start seeing it exactly as it is, with all of its problems, because it's only by seeing it with all of its problems that we'll be able to fix them and live in a world in which we can all be happily ever after. (Laughs) Thank you very much. (Applause) Thank you. (Applause)