Return to the talk Return to talk

Transcript

Select language

Translated by Olga Galkina
Reviewed by Alina Dashkevich

0:12 Я сидела с подружками, и вдруг Джой сказала: «Блин, когда он отвяжется от меня? Мой папаша постоянно названивает мне».

0:25 «Повезло, что вообще звонит, — ответила Жасмин, — я своего не слышала уже много лет».

0:32 В тот момент, я поняла, что девочкам необходимо поддерживать связь с отцами. Я открыла НКО «Camp Diva», где постоянно ведутся подобные разговоры как способ помочь афроамериканским девочкам подготовиться ко взрослой жизни. Этим девочкам нужен способ привлечь отцов в свою жизнь, но на собственных условиях.

1:03 Тогда я спросила их: «Как помочь другим девочкам построить здоровые отношения со своими отцами?»

1:11 «Давайте устроим танцевальный вечер», — выпалила одна, а остальные её дружно поддержали. Они стали придумывать декорации и пригласительные, обсуждать платья, что должны одеть их отцы, и в чём им нельзя приходить. (Смех) Подготовка пошла полным ходом, я и глазом не успела моргнуть. Если бы я и могла охладить их пыл, я бы не стала этого делать. За годы работы с девочками я усвоила одну вещь: они точно знают, что им надо. Эта мудрость внутри их. При наличии инфраструктуры, наставника и ресурсов они могут добиться всего, чего захотят. Они смогут не просто выжить, но и преуспеть.

2:08 Наш танцевальный вечер состоялся. Пришло много девочек со своими отцами. Они были разодеты в пух и прах. Они были галантны и вежливы. (Смех) Они были забавны. Они очень наслаждались обществом друг друга. Это был большой успех. Мероприятие решили сделать ежегодным.

2:39 Время шло, и настала пора планировать очередной танцевальный вечер. И вот одна из девочек по имени Бриэна сообщила: «Мой папа не сможет прийти на танцы, я очень расстроена».

2:56 «Почему не сможет?» — спросили остальные.

2:59 «Потому что он в тюрьме», — храбро призналась Бриэна.

3:04 «Его не могут выпустить на день?» — спросила одна из девочек. (Смех)

3:09 «Чтобы он танцевал в кандалах? Это хуже, чем не прийти вовсе».

3:16 В этот момент я поняла, что девочки могут принять вызов судьбы и стать героями для себя. Поэтому я спросила: «Есть идеи, что можно сделать? Мы хотим, чтобы каждая девочка смогла потанцевать со своим отцом, так?»

3:37 Девочки задумались, и одна из них предложила: «Почему не провести танцевальный вечер в тюрьме?»

3:45 Большинство девочек засомневались, что это возможно, и ответили: «Ты с ума сошла? Кто это пустит кучку девчонок, да ещё и разодетых, — (Смех) в тюрьму потанцевать со своими папочками в костюмах Спанч Боба?» Так они их называли.

4:06 Я же сказала: «Девочки, погодите, вы никогда не узнаете ответа, пока не спросите».

4:14 Мы написали письмо шерифу города Ричмонд и собрали подписи всех девочек. Должна сказать вам, что шериф — очень особенный человек. Он тот час же связался со мной и сказал: «Любые возможности привести семьи к заключённым широко приветствуются». Одно он знал наверняка: когда между отцами и детьми поддерживается связь, снижается вероятность повторного попадания за решётку.

4:52 Итак, всего было приглашено 16 заключённых и 18 девочек. Девочки надели праздничные платья, а их отцы сменили жёлто-голубые робы на рубашки с галстуками. Они обнимались. Кушали специально приготовленную курицу и рыбу. Смеялись вместе. Было замечательно. Отцам и дочерям выпала возможность ощутить физическую связь, которой они не испытывали уже долгое время. У отцов появилась возможность поиграть со своими дочерями, поухаживать за ними, пригласить на танец. Прослезились даже тюремные стражники.

5:58 Вечер подходил к концу, и мы все понимали, что папы останутся в тюрьме. Нужно было придумать что-то, что они могли бы взять с собой. Мы принесли камеры Flip, чтобы девочки и их отцы записали на камеру свои пожелания друг другу, свои мысли. Чтобы осталось что-то на память. Когда они начнут скучать друг по другу и почувствуют себя одиноко, они смогут включить запись и снова увидеть друг друга.

6:33 Я никогда не забуду, как одна из девочек поднесла камеру к глазам отца и спросила: «Папочка, когда ты смотришь на меня, что ты видишь?» Наши отцы — это своего рода зеркала, в которые мы заглядываем, когда выбираем свой идеал мужчины, и образ, в котором он будет всегда видеть нас. Мне хорошо это известно, ведь я счастливица. Мой отец был рядом со мной всю мою жизнь. Он и сегодня рядом.

7:21 (Аплодисменты)

7:30 Поэтому для меня важно, чтобы эти девочки не потеряли связь со своими отцами, особенно те, которых разделяют колючая проволока и железные двери. У девочек, у которых камнем на сердце лежат непростые вопросы к их отцам, появилась возможность задать свои вопросы. А у отцов — возможность ответить на них. Ведь мы знаем, что отцы выходят с одной только мыслью: Какой станет моя дочь, когда вырастет? То, что отец заперт за решёткой, не означает, что его нужно вычеркнуть из жизни его дочери.

8:24 (Аплодисменты)

Return to the talk Return to talk
Transcript
Select language

Transcribed by Joseph Geni
Reviewed by Morton Bast

0:12 I was sitting with my girls, and Joy said, "Dang, I wish he'd get off my back. My daddy, he calls me all the time."

0:25 "Lucky for you he calls at all," said Jasmine. "I haven't heard from my dad in years."

0:32 At this moment, I knew the girls needed a way to connect with their fathers. At Camp Diva, my non-profit organization, we have these types of conversations all the time as a way to help girls of African descent prepare for their passage into womanhood. These girls just needed a way to invite their fathers into their lives on their own terms.

1:03 So I asked the girls, "How can we help other girls develop healthy relationships with their fathers?"

1:11 "Let's have a dance," one girl shouted, and all the girls quickly backed her up. They started dreaming about the decorations, invitations, the dresses they were going to wear, and what their fathers could and could not wear. (Laughter) It was off and running before I could even blink my eyes, but even if I could have slowed down those girls, I wouldn't have, because one thing that I have learned from over a decade of working with girls is that they already know what they need. The wisdom lives inside of them. As long as they have infrastructure, mentorship and resources, they can build what they need, not only to survive, but to thrive.

2:08 So we had a dance, and girls and their fathers came in multitudes. They were dressed to the nines. They acted sweet. (Laughter) They acted silly. They really enjoyed each other's company. It was a huge success. And the girls decided to make it an annual event.

2:39 So as the seasons changed, and it was time to plan the dance again, one girl named Brianna spoke up, and she said, "My dad can't come to the dance, and this whole thing is making me sad."

2:56 "Why not?" the girls asked.

2:59 "Because he's in jail," she bravely admitted.

3:04 "Well, can he just get out for a day?" one of the girls asked. (Laughter)

3:09 "And come in shackles? That's worse than not having him here at all."

3:16 At this moment, I saw an opportunity for the girls to rise to the occasion and to become their own heroes. So I asked, "What do you think we should do about this? We want every girl to experience the dance, right?"

3:37 So the girls thought for a moment, and one girl suggested, "Why don't we just take the dance in the jail?"

3:45 Most of the girls doubted the possibility of that, and said, "Are you crazy? Who is going to allow a bunch of little girls, dressed up — " (Laughter) " — to come inside a jail and dance with their daddies in Spongebob suits?" Because that's what they called them.

4:06 I said, "Girls, well, well, you never know unless you ask."

4:14 So a letter was written to the Richmond City Sheriff, signed collectively by each girl, and I would have to say, he is a very special sheriff. He contacted me immediately and said, whenever there is an opportunity to bring families inside, his doors are always open. Because one thing he did know, that when fathers are connected to their children, it is less likely that they will return.

4:52 So, 16 inmates and 18 girls were invited. The girls were dressed in their Sunday best, and the fathers traded in their yellow and blue jumpsuits for shirts and ties. They hugged. They shared a full catered meal of chicken and fish. They laughed together. It was beautiful. The fathers and daughters even experienced an opportunity to have a physical connection, something that a lot of them didn't even have for a while. Fathers were in a space where they were able to make their daughters play, and pull out her chair and extend his hand for a dance. Even the guards cried.

5:58 But after the dance, we all realized that Dad still would be in jail. So we needed to create something that they could take with them. So we brought in Flip cams, and we had them look at the Flip cams and just interview each other -- their messages, their thoughts. This was going to be used as a touchstone so when they started to miss each other and feel disconnected, they could reconnect through this image.

6:33 I'll never forget that one girl looked in her father's eyes with that camera and said, "Daddy, when you look at me, what do you see?" Because our daddies are our mirrors that we reflect back on when we decide about what type of man we deserve, and how they see us for the rest of our lives. I know that very well, because I was one of the lucky girls. I have had my father in my life always. He's even here today.

7:21 (Applause)

7:30 And that is why it is extremely special for me to make sure that these girls are connected to their fathers, especially those who are separated because of barbed wires and metal doors. We have just created a form for girls who have heavy questions on their heart to be in a position to ask their fathers those questions and given the fathers the freedom to answer. Because we know that the fathers are even leaving with this one thought: What type of woman am I preparing to put in the world? Because a father is locked in does not mean he should be locked out of his daughter's life.

8:24 (Applause)