TED Conversations

This conversation is closed.

How strong should an opinion be?

Which is better, a world where people have very strong opinions that they cannot be shaken of, or a world where people's opinions can change as easily as they are pushed? Please explain your reasoning.

Share:
  • thumb
    Oct 25 2013: Strong enough not to be pushed around and soft enough to let additional knowledge in.
  • Oct 27 2013: I just hope people are open minded to logic. Is good to be strong in your convictions but hard headedness is a whole nother matter unto itself.
  • Oct 26 2013: We are meant to use our freedom and our 'smarts.' The stronger our opinions, the more we close out mind.

    Having an open mind, while growing up and learning (a life-long process), is a life saver.
  • thumb
    Oct 25 2013: If we accept that our remit on planet earth is to grow in consciousness, then changing dysfunctional beliefs and self-images (from which opinions originate) is a normal part of what we must expect to do on our journey through life.
    In that respect your "either/or" position in your introduction is not so helpful (as Fritzie points out).
    But your title question as stated is interesting -
    How strong should an opinion be?
    Answer: as strong as your humility to be able to let go of it, and learn afresh.
  • Nov 1 2013: The strength of an opinion is measured by its ability to persuade others. It usually should be supported by strong and reasonable facts.
  • thumb
    Oct 29 2013: Opinions, when supported by strong reasons, should be strong enough. Unless supported by proper facts and reasons, opinions one shouldn't have opinions, else shouldn't have at all. Only if one has enough confidence to support the opinion with related facts and reasons, one should opine freely with all the conviction and strength possible.
  • Oct 28 2013: Only as strong as the empirical facts (and the strength of their ability to refute alternatives) that back it up.
  • thumb
    Oct 26 2013: One's view of strength may differ from another. A debate session has certain rules about how strong are individual's opinion or argument is but the one giving the explanation may have viewed his/her personal opinion to be strong already.
  • Oct 26 2013: Neither. Each opinion is supported by different amounts of facts and/or experience and/or reason. I'm well aware that some of my opinions have little basis, while others have strong foundations. I'm aware that I can and have been wrong even when some opinion seemed well founded. That does not mean that it will be easy for anybody to convince me that some opinion is wrong without a "fight." I discuss strongly, but I listen. We should learn that. We should be able to yield to evidence and reason when they contradict whet we thought, and to defend what we think when the evidence and reason against our thoughts are feeble and/or fallacious.

    So, my answer is neither. Clear enough?
  • thumb
    Oct 26 2013: The opinion has to be strong enough- to defends your competence, knowledge, your informed about the area, and at the same time your opinion has to be enough flexible to recieve,accept valuable information, other views, and of course, by using new information,to open your eyes and see if something is wrong about your own view, that you missed.

    Nothing worse than a stubborn interlocutor for suggestion, new perspectives, and new data and the views the others ...
  • thumb
    Oct 26 2013: if any opinion can be absolute the better is to keep it forever ,if all it depends something the better to keep the best you can find with tolerance for accepting the next which is more better than what do you thought before it's the very best.
  • Oct 26 2013: I feel an opinion should be as strong enough to argue to gain knowledge that supports that opinion or change it.
  • thumb
    Oct 26 2013: If your opinions are not supported by facts then they are weak and you probably will not be able to hold them up for very long without looking ridiculous.
    On the other hand, if you base your opinion on facts then you should defend them.
    In any case, opinions are subjective and one should always analyze the underlying facts to an opinion.
  • thumb
    Oct 25 2013: It depends on how good your opinion is and how effectively you communicate it to others.:)
  • thumb
    Oct 25 2013: Opinions are garbage.
    Unlike its contrary (knowledge), opinion has no rational grounds. This is basic philosophy.

    Who's to say what's rational and what's belief? Well, Reason.
  • Oct 25 2013: Why ask which extreme is better? In most circumstances, moderation leads to the best path.

    As for how strong opinions should be, depends on the subject matter. The more important it is, the stronger an opinion is justified. Note that an opinion can still be strong while remaining liable to change--its mostly a matter of thinking rationally as opposed to emotionally; a proper argument may dissuade a strong rationally derived opinion, but not one you're emotionally invested in.
  • Oct 25 2013: A opinion should have the strength of one person, but should represent an on-going logical case for the perceived truth, built on a continuing collection of knowledge, sound reasoning, good supporting arguments and evidence. Opinions stronger than this information become more a bias, a prejudice, a feeling or an attempt to sway the opinions of others.
  • thumb
    Oct 25 2013: If one takes life as journey of learning with open mind then change in her/his opinion/ view is the most probable outcome.
  • thumb
    Oct 25 2013: Why would you not make room for an intermediate position in which people can learn, consider new information thoughtfully, and change their minds if they find the new information compelling?
    • Oct 25 2013: I'm just curious on what people believe is more important because on a global level, I believe people with strong opinions that they display gain more attention than the people who are constantly listening and gathering new ideas and perspectives. I feel like people tend to focus on whoever is being the loudest, no matter how ethical, rather than whoever is being the most level headed. What are your thoughts?
      • thumb
        Oct 25 2013: Was your second option thoughtful and level-headed, or was your second option people who cannot or do not use critical thinking and information to come to a reasoned conclusion that may still change if compelling new information comes to light? Is your second category people who will believe anything they are told in the moment?