TED Conversations

renee costello

This conversation is closed.

What is your opinion on same sex marriage?

I'm interested in hearing different opinions from different people around the world.
If you have a strong view. Please share :)

Share:

Showing single comment thread. View the full conversation.

  • thumb
    Sep 4 2013: The real fight on same sex marriage is not about the man / man or woman / woman union .... it is about medical dangers, insurance, and benefit entitlements.

    Religions catch the blunt of the "war" on same sex marriage ... that is because they are the easy and obvious target. The big money and the real war on the legality is insurance, medical, and political. It is interesting that historically the socialist / communist countries do not tolerate homosexuality in any form .... however in the USA the liberal forum of legalizing all forms of sexual unions is supported. That begs the question ... when the Socialization of America is complete will these acts be tolerated? My guess is no.

    You have asked one of the most liberal sites on the web about a liberal standard. Sodomy laws were repealed in 2003 by a ruling of the SCOTUS. However, it is still illegal in San Francisco to either give or receive oral sex. Now that is funny. I found that under silly laws listed under San Francisco.

    So in conclusion .... we should stop the argument of same sex marriage and debate the real issue surrounding it because that is where billions of dollars are at risk as well as lives and political futures.

    Renee ... this has been discussed many times ... why do you revisit it now?
    • thumb
      Sep 4 2013: Robert,
      Perhaps the question of same sex marriage continues to be revisited because some folks still have issues with it? Just a thought:>)
      • thumb
        Sep 4 2013: Granted many people have issues with it ..... I was just interested in after all of the press on this issue what was the need to do it again .... There is not much ground left to cover so I was wondering what was the "specific" we could address.
        • thumb
          Sep 4 2013: I wholeheartedly agree with you Robert.....not much ground left to cover. It seems like a basic human right for people to be able to choose their life partner. It also seems like discrimination for others to decide what is right and what is wrong with adults choosing their partners.

          However, there are still places where same sex marriage is not allowed, and there are still groups which discriminate, so perhaps it still needs to be discussed.
      • thumb
        Sep 4 2013: As I originally stated perhaps the billion dollar issues surrounding same sex subjects should be the focus .... this has become political and emotional .... it really boils down to money and health issues.
        • thumb
          Sep 4 2013: I guess we see it a little differently Robert. I have lots of friends in same sex partnerships, and they like having the right to choose and marry their life partner. Many of them have lived happily with their chosen partner for many years.

          I am proud to live in one of the first states to allow civil unions, and same sex marriage. So these loving couples can be officially recognized and have the same rights under the law as other people have.
      • thumb
        Sep 4 2013: I agree ... I still do not think that is the major objections ...

        1. Homosexual domestic violence among men alone dwarfs 500 to one the 1,317 hate crimes nationwide last year allegedly motivated, by disapproval of homosexuality, the FBI reported.

        2. The Medical Institute of Sexual Health reports "homosexual men are at significantly increased risk of HIV/AIDS, hepatitis, anal cancer, gonorrhea, and gastrointestinal infections as a result of their sexual practices." While "women who have sex with women are at significantly higher risk of bacterial, breast cancer and ovarian cancer than are heterosexual women."

        3. The Center for Disease Control reports men involved in homosexuality are 860 percent more likely to contract sexually transmitted disease, partially because they "have large numbers of anonymous partners, which can result in rapid, extensive transmission of STD's...threatening national HIV infection prevention efforts."

        4. Oxford University's International Journal of Epidemiology reports "life expectancy at age 20 for gay and bisexual men is eight to 20 years less than for all men. If the same pattern of mortality continues, we estimate that nearly half of gay and bisexual men currently aged 20 will not reach their 65th birthday."

        These types of reports are what scares the insurance and medical professions. It is also alarming to employers who will see sick leave and missed work days. The costs associated with any medical treatments in the areas mentioned above are off the chart. This has rewrite the actuarial charts for death payments. As profits go down the costs will always go up.

        I also have friends who are in a same sex relationship .... they are good people. My lady friends wife just passed of cancer. I have been to their home often and love them both. The fight they had was never about the couple .... but rather rights and benefits.

        We are on the same side ... just that I say the real war is about money.

        Thanks .....
        • thumb
          Sep 4 2013: Robert,
          What is your point? I do not perceive a "war" Robert, and I totally agree with Scott...
          "other peoples' relationships are none of my business. love is good. more of it is good. live and let live"

          Robert, The question is..."What is your opinion on same sex marriage?"

Showing single comment thread. View the full conversation.