TED Conversations

regina zhou

This conversation is closed. Start a new conversation
or join one »

Is it fair to review a problem just by what it is? Is it easy to see things separate?

In recent episodes of “pretty little liars”, a teacher was accused of showing favoritism to some student by altering her grade.
The teacher is a mother of the student’s good friend, knowing that this girl has been through a lot. And if she fail on this test, this girl is gonna go through the 11th grade all over again. Since the teacher has been through a lot lately, her protective instincts overdrove. So she completed the test for the girl, and helped her out.
Is this a stupid, short-sighted thing or a bold but human thing? And it is fair to see things by what it is?

Topics: education society
+1
Share:
progress indicator
  • thumb
    Jul 4 2012: Completing the test for the girl is an unconventional and I would say problematic way of solving the problem at hand, which I am assuming is that the teacher knows the young girl's mental state will not legitimately allow her to demonstrate that she has adequate command of the 11th grade material to advance to 12th grade.

    Teachers encounter this situation more frequently than you might think. The accomodation for special circumstances should not be to complete the test for the student. Rescheduling the test, giving her a second opportunity, giving the student extra time to take the test as a means of taking some pressure off, or using a secondary form of assessment are all options that address the problem of making apparent what the student actually understands and can do.

    The purpose of testing of this kind should not be to test whether the student can set aside everything else to show what she knows. Being able to set aside, for example, trauma in the home, is not a suitable criterion for moving forward to 12th grade. The school uses the test as a vehicle for gathering information as to whether the student is academically prepared, and if the vehicle cannot work for this purpose for a particular student in the judgment of the professionals in the school building, the course with the most integrity is alternative assessment. Not doing the test for the student.
  • Jul 6 2012: It's all about the context to me. We cannot see things just the way they are, because often things are different from how they appear.

    I wouldn't describe the teacher's deed as stupid (even if I would have thought that her deed is unwise). She knew that the student is going through a lot and decided to help her. Considering the fact that if the student would fail, she would stay in the same grade, I think that the teacher had to help her. However, assuming that the situation is real, I believe that such a teacher (if truly cares about the student) should clarify that the real responsibility is the student's.
  • thumb
    Jul 4 2012: How do Regina.
    My thoughts are its an example of our soceity today with many thinking they are intitled. If they don't o the work or don't want to no problem someone will do it for them and they will still reap the rewards.
    • Jul 5 2012: hi,
      Excuse for my lack of reading compresion, I don't quite understand what u mean.would you care to explain again?
      • thumb
        Jul 5 2012: No need regina it might be my spelling that's the problem. I will give it shot. After reading your senerio I understood that the mother / teacher compleated a test for the child. If that's right than a child will be able to advance not because she is capable of doing the work because someone see she was haveing difficulty and instead of helping the child she done the work. Therefor the child will receive the reward of advanceing a grade yet she did not do the work. So as many in our society she got something for nothing. This leads them to believe if the don't do it no biggie someone will do it they can take the credit. Its an all around bad idea
        • Jul 7 2012: Thank you for your patience and clarification. You may have to work on your spelling a little bit.
          At this point, I suppose it would herhaps be easier for us to work this out if we leave the scenario aside
          yeah, I get your point. What the teacher has done might have sent a wrong signal to the girl, which is not advocated in education. I think the first question for us to sort out is whether the teacher is giving a grade according to what she thought the girl potentially knew, or just to save her from repeating a year.
      • thumb
        Jul 7 2012: Your welcome not a problem I got lots of time. Yes mam I do but I don't know how much better its going to get damn near 50 and this is good as it been. Well we could leave the scenario or modify it. If she gave the girl a grade assumeing she knew the material then I belive the young should thank her lucky stars. Then the girl is also placed in the debt of the teacher. That of course puts the teacher vunerable to the student again there is a possible bad situation for both.
        Now I would hope the teacher would explain to the youngin that she has been given an oppertunity here to adavance and should take fulll advantage of the gift she was give. As for me personely could not have done what that teacher did would have let the girl repeat the grade and road her ass the next year. This would also givein me chance to maybe find the button that will get her motivated to succeed in life after high school which we know is where life gets tougher.
        Well Regina that's the best answer I have so far thanks for listening.
        • Jul 7 2012: yeah, life gets tougher. Thank you for the reply again.
    • thumb
      Jul 6 2012: hi, i thought your understanding should be in line with the honest system. Even if they will still recap the record, no one has the right to do for them instead
      • Jul 7 2012: I think honesty is an subjective concept. Maybe for the teacher, letting such a great girl repeat the whole year is another dishonesty in some way - placing her in an inappropriate position.
        • thumb
          Jul 7 2012: yes, the outcome can be varied due to various angles and perspective. However, a compromise should be made for the sake of mutual-benefits
      • Jul 7 2012: For your question, which one's welfare should be prioritized in order to make a fair decision?
  • thumb
    Jul 4 2012: Hi Regina,
    I am about to expres my humble opinion in that concern, but the first thing that I want to say is that I dont know what is "pretty little liar", I am assuming that is a tv-show, and from the situation you are presenting it seems to be a very interesting show.

    Well I perceive the situation in two different vectors or perspectives, on the one hand is the situation where the teacher gives a negative connotation to the act of repeating a school year, from my point of view there is nothing wrong with it ... in fact it is a great opportunity to acquire or strengthen skills that could not be achieved in the last year (assuming the school is a good place to go and learn things).

    Then there is the fact that a person can not be viewed as an isolated human being. It is always important to consider all the situations that surround the person to evaluate it in different areas in which he/she operates, ie, to provide similar conditions to evaluate someone academically. But if what you were trying to evaluate her ability to adapt to new or unexpected situations, she may not go so well.

    In summary, I think that because the teacher thinks that is wrong to repeat a school year, she acted properly since the girl is developing in the same context, it is very probably that this failure represent a setback to the little girl.
    • Jul 5 2012: hi.
      pretty little liars is a hot tv series, which, if I may add, is my fav.
      In this series, this girl is an honor student who has always been performing very well at school. I suppose every qualified teacher is clear about the level of his or her student. And maybe she figured that the opportunity cost of her repeating the whole year is too much, especially under the circumstance that she was aware of all the required knowledge. Perhaps from her teacher’s point of view, going through the whole year with all the previous information stored in her head is pointless and time-wasting for the girl was just emotionally disfunctional rather than academically unprepared. So that the teacher cut her some slack.
      I agree with the opinion that human is not isolated. But when it comes to practicality, the controlling of a number of variables and objective factors will certainly be taken into account. How can we be sure that method is fairer than the simplest and straightest rule with no one being exempted from?